SHOW OFF UR EURO

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

kg494EJ-1

Re: SHOW OFF UR EURO

Postby kg494EJ-1 » September 17th, 2013, 9:15 am

Pointman-IA wrote:
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:been a while...

My detailer/Car wash guy just got these 19 inch rims off a VW CC
compliments it lovely...

Wow..looks nice..

It does not look bad at all, but the grill and the wheels together somehow to me has the car looking a little busy or it could just be me.

Postby Monk BANzai » September 17th, 2013, 12:21 pm

^^ nah i agree... the amount of polished bits on the front takes away from the clean-ness of it.... if he'd kept the fog light and the grill strips under the numberplate black it wud change the look....

Chrome is meant as a complimentary accessory...not a primary focus...

here's it next to a chupid audi and a "M powered" 5iver.. (got pulled into a improtmtu photo shoot for a brochure yes...lol)

Postby Ted_v2 » September 17th, 2013, 12:44 pm

BANzai Rastafarai lemme have a word with you.
the audi you got, what you think about it vs your previous cars? the leggy/vr4/whatever else you had.(i know parts are more expensive but is it worth it?) The whole euro vs jap scene.
I saw the t28 turbo i think it was on a few pages back so i know its modded.

Postby Monk BANzai » September 17th, 2013, 2:50 pm

i think there are some misconceptions (even by today's standards) about car maintainence costs..

for example....oil change:
VR4 - oil change would run me $550
Legacy - (car takes alot of oil. near 5 quarts) plus filter - $330 plus $85 for OEM filter.
Audi - $380 (using Pentesol oil) - $300 for oil + $80 for OEM filter.

I use OEM as much as I can..of the three..the audi's most expensive - $100 for four liters.

Spark plugs....for the VR4 i would have to buy two sets of four plugs to get the 6 plugs i needed...(though after 3 purchases i wud essentially have a forth plug change free)... Changing teh plugs was easy peasy....well no...i had to remove the intake to get to the rear bank of the V6....so yeah...Anil wud charge me a $200 to do that if i didnt have the time...

Legacy: price per plug remains the same (iridium)...but! to change them would cost me $300 in labour as they are extremely difficult to change on your own.

Havent changed plugs on the audi as yet.

Since i've owned the audi, my most expensive spend to date was really the turbo upgrade....which required a custom exhaust manifold, and fab work by Jimmy to make over the test/down pipe. But aside from that. ( i have to change the front bearings month end. $950 for the pr...YES! BOTH!) i have no issues thus far.

Performance-wise... the audi aint the fastest of the lot.. but the ride'comfort factor is the best of the three. The Subbie was the most fun for a tiptronic for me... VR4 was the quickest...but i spent too much money to get it that quick..if i had to do it again i'd honestly just get a evo engine, mod it and drop it in.

but of all teh three...the Subaru has been the most expensive to maintain. Hands down.

Thats my experience thus far...mind you..the previous owner took excellent care of the car, so i dont know what costs he racked up to get it to that level....but im tryign to maintain that quality as much as I can while replacing some aginf stuff....like the light knob on the dash, the power window controls on the doors (both are under $100US on Amazon)....that kinda thing.

If you going used audi...B7 or the B6's are the best models to look for...

just my 3 farts

Postby Ted_v2 » September 17th, 2013, 3:54 pm

I always thought that audi and those types of cars is big money cars. Like a couple k well to replace minor parts. Wheel bearings I was expecting to hear prices like 5k for the pair. I never really got involved into the cost of the maintance so I'm glad for your response. Really opened a new book for maybe a future purchase

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » September 18th, 2013, 7:27 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:i think there are some misconceptions (even by today's standards) about car maintainence costs..

for example....oil change:
VR4 - oil change would run me $550
Legacy - (car takes alot of oil. near 5 quarts) plus filter - $330 plus $85 for OEM filter.
Audi - $380 (using Pentesol oil) - $300 for oil + $80 for OEM filter.

I use OEM as much as I can..of the three..the audi's most expensive - $100 for four liters.

Spark plugs....for the VR4 i would have to buy two sets of four plugs to get the 6 plugs i needed...(though after 3 purchases i wud essentially have a forth plug change free)... Changing teh plugs was easy peasy....well no...i had to remove the intake to get to the rear bank of the V6....so yeah...Anil wud charge me a $200 to do that if i didnt have the time...

Legacy: price per plug remains the same (iridium)...but! to change them would cost me $300 in labour as they are extremely difficult to change on your own.

Havent changed plugs on the audi as yet.

Since i've owned the audi, my most expensive spend to date was really the turbo upgrade....which required a custom exhaust manifold, and fab work by Jimmy to make over the test/down pipe. But aside from that. ( i have to change the front bearings month end. $950 for the pr...YES! BOTH!) i have no issues thus far.

Performance-wise... the audi aint the fastest of the lot.. but the ride'comfort factor is the best of the three. The Subbie was the most fun for a tiptronic for me... VR4 was the quickest...but i spent too much money to get it that quick..if i had to do it again i'd honestly just get a evo engine, mod it and drop it in.

but of all teh three...the Subaru has been the most expensive to maintain. Hands down.

Thats my experience thus far...mind you..the previous owner took excellent care of the car, so i dont know what costs he racked up to get it to that level....but im tryign to maintain that quality as much as I can while replacing some aginf stuff....like the light knob on the dash, the power window controls on the doors (both are under $100US on Amazon)....that kinda thing.

If you going used audi...B7 or the B6's are the best models to look for...

just my 3 farts

Out of your 3 farts, which one would you put in a bubble wrap if push come to shove?

Postby MG Man » September 18th, 2013, 9:24 am

sound boy 64 wrote:I always thought that audi and those types of cars is big money cars. Like a couple k well to replace minor parts. Wheel bearings I was expecting to hear prices like 5k for the pair. I never really got involved into the cost of the maintance so I'm glad for your response. Really opened a new book for maybe a future purchase

problem is you listening to the public perceptions of B14 drivers
MINI:
Oil change once a year
Brake pads: twice in 10 years (covering 100k, and a few solodexes) Front pads cost around 600
Bought a set of front rotors out of principle: 1.5k
Pair of polyurethane camber-adjustable shock moutns to replace the factory ones, around 2k
K&N drop in - wash when I not feeling lazy
Changed all subframe bushes and ball joints etc - parts and labour about 2k

A4
one coil pack, around 1k (memory fading here)
one power window regulator 800

206: push off a cliff for free

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » September 18th, 2013, 9:28 am

sound boy 64 wrote:I always thought that audi and those types of cars is big money cars. Like a couple k well to replace minor parts. Wheel bearings I was expecting to hear prices like 5k for the pair. I never really got involved into the cost of the maintance so I'm glad for your response. Really opened a new book for maybe a future purchase

problem is you listening to the public perceptions of B14 drivers
MINI:
Oil change once a year
Brake pads: twice in 10 years (covering 100k, and a few solodexes) Front pads cost around 600
Bought a set of front rotors out of principle: 1.5k
Pair of polyurethane camber-adjustable shock moutns to replace the factory ones, around 2k
K&N drop in - wash when I not feeling lazy
Changed all subframe bushes and ball joints etc - parts and labour about 2k

A4
one coil pack, around 1k (memory fading here)
one power window regulator 800

206: push off a cliff for free

Try pushing it off the Lady Young Rd lookout nah..lol

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » September 18th, 2013, 9:32 am

My OEM shocks on the Clio lasted 9 years. I changed them in June when they began leaking.
I also upgraded the springs to Eibach Sportlines and mounts.

When you hear B14 and Almera fellas talk about they can get "brand new used parts", I does laugh.

Postby MG Man » September 18th, 2013, 11:20 am

never changed shocks on le Mini............ride still as tight as when new

Postby Monk BANzai » September 18th, 2013, 12:31 pm

same..even with the Rover....oh.... Coilpacks for the audi b6/b7 are now $400 per unit.....front brakes $750, rear $450 (ERM/Continental prices) with the Sensors.

compare to japanese of same year..and see...

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » September 18th, 2013, 1:43 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:same..even with the Rover....oh.... Coilpacks for the audi b6/b7 are now $400 per unit.....front brakes $750, rear $450 (ERM/Continental prices) with the Sensors.

compare to japanese of same year..and see...

The prices of maintaining these cars are as far as I am concerned cheap for the usage I get. I still own my toyota marino and ej civic and those cars cost me more to service as they tend require different bits that have begun to fail over time in some cases they service twice as often as the audi which is my daily driver and I to was in shock as to how cheap the maintenance has become.

I have people that look at me and screw their face even comment young boy driving daddy car, if they only knew the amount of money I save by driving that car they would be shocked (except fuel thanks to the government).

Postby Ted_v2 » September 18th, 2013, 2:47 pm

Hmmm. As mg said apparently I does listen to too much b14 jivas. Things for these euros getting extremely reasonable.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » September 18th, 2013, 3:33 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:Hmmm. As mg said apparently I does listen to too much b14 jivas. Things for these euros getting extremely reasonable.

No wonder some Audis A4s starting to look like crims out B14s.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » September 18th, 2013, 5:55 pm

Its cheaper to maintain than most of the new vehicles,recently acquired a Tucson and Navara first service on the Navara wasn't bad but I asked about certain parts and was like WTF! these supposed to be cheaper vehicles.

But Insurance is a B!tcH even with 60% NCD my pocket feels violated annually.
Last edited by kg494EJ-1 on September 18th, 2013, 6:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 18th, 2013, 6:36 pm

Navara front bearings is 1500 per.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 18th, 2013, 8:59 pm

I always figured SUVs , CUVs and vans would be more expensive than cars no matter what the brand. Prices also would be higher depending on how much parts the manufacturer shares between vehicle platforms. I suspect the reason why audi, vw parts not as skyhigh as some other brands is cuz a lot of the parts are the same and can be ordered en masse by the manufacturer for cheaper.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » September 19th, 2013, 8:49 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I always figured SUVs , CUVs and vans would be more expensive than cars no matter what the brand. Prices also would be higher depending on how much parts the manufacturer shares between vehicle platforms. I suspect the reason why audi, vw parts not as skyhigh as some other brands is cuz a lot of the parts are the same and can be ordered en masse by the manufacturer for cheaper.

This is true, I remember when I got this car, back in 07 I was able to get a coilpack to get home from a friend with a VW that had a spare. What keeps people away is the initial cost and as I like to say ole talk, but once the VW group is around and our market has their vehicles available, they have my money (too expensive to by over 2.5 now :cry: ).

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » September 19th, 2013, 10:10 am

kg494EJ-1 wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I always figured SUVs , CUVs and vans would be more expensive than cars no matter what the brand. Prices also would be higher depending on how much parts the manufacturer shares between vehicle platforms. I suspect the reason why audi, vw parts not as skyhigh as some other brands is cuz a lot of the parts are the same and can be ordered en masse by the manufacturer for cheaper.

This is true, I remember when I got this car, back in 07 I was able to get a coilpack to get home from a friend with a VW that had a spare. What keeps people away is the initial cost and as I like to say ole talk, but once the VW group is around and our market has their vehicles available, they have my money (too expensive to by over 2.5 now :cry: ).

Since Lifestyle don't want to bring in the Renaults again, I think I may be going for a German passport in a while yes, along the VW citizenship.

Postby A172 » September 19th, 2013, 1:54 pm

saw that jetta above there this morning in mt. hope, pics not doing justice it looks great as is

Postby Monk BANzai » September 19th, 2013, 7:47 pm

quick correction...the front bearings of the audi are $950 per bearing...not the pair.

Postby equipped2ripp » September 21st, 2013, 3:52 am

^ installed the ECS rotors yet?

Postby Monk BANzai » September 22nd, 2013, 1:17 pm

nah... chk PM..

Postby MG Man » September 25th, 2013, 1:40 pm

used and abused
1175594_10150318560854981_847664821_n.jpg

devrat

Postby devrat » September 26th, 2013, 2:40 pm

MG Man wrote:used and abused

Was expecting a pic of you

Postby MG Man » September 26th, 2013, 2:54 pm

check yuh inbox

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » October 7th, 2013, 7:33 pm

The Eibach Springs and the Brembo Slotted Rotors has really transformed the Clio.
Handling has been vastly improved going in and coming out of some corners. It sits comfortably on the road.
Braking is superb. The bigger rotors look very nice behind the wheels.

Will post some pics over the weekend.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » October 7th, 2013, 8:40 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:Hmmm. As mg said apparently I does listen to too much b14 jivas. Things for these euros getting extremely reasonable.

They're totally right though. Parts for my bmw are cheaper than a Corolla.
Granted that it needs more, it still isn't too bad considering how much better a vehicle it is.

Postby Team Loco » October 8th, 2013, 1:39 pm

my e46 just had regulator problems and blew two coil packs. other than that nothing major

Postby Monk BANzai » October 14th, 2013, 6:27 pm

got them installed finally......major issue with them...they dont have the "central" lip that the OEM rotors have..so if you get a flat? is best you call a wrecker....getting that plastic postioner to hold/stay in place issa beyotch

gonna have to design a 3 prong "inserter to keep the wheel central.

havent tested them under medium to hard braking as yet.

Return to “EURO”