Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

Re: Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

Postby MG Man » September 2nd, 2013, 4:44 pm

when in doubt, use a hammer

Postby Ted_v2 » September 2nd, 2013, 7:06 pm

Why you wanna take off the bumper?

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » September 2nd, 2013, 7:16 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Jeez. Sorry that happened to you kingskid.

Pointman wha goin on wid dem Peugeot men???!

I have dealer manuals detailing the removal of the front bumper but still lil skeptical. Sometimes yuh follow steps and a clip might be easy to break and whatnot or the removal might be trickier based on what options a car came with. Doh even start on things like intercooler removal.

I don't know nah..

With respect to your software, with the one for Renaults, once you input the specs for our brand, it allows you to interact with the technical notes for THAT variant.

cqk4

Postby cqk4 » September 2nd, 2013, 7:19 pm

kingskid wrote:To digress a bit, this happened Sunday morning
1378141343552.jpg

Das real pain man... but hey that's what insurance is for.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 2nd, 2013, 7:26 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:Why you wanna take off the bumper?

To get to something behind the bumper. Think of these things:

1. S
2. Air
3. Charge
4. Cooler
5. Tree

Not necessarily in that order.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » September 2nd, 2013, 8:13 pm

I feel you have one word too many there.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 2nd, 2013, 8:50 pm

Which word you woulda take out?

nemesis

Postby nemesis » September 2nd, 2013, 9:22 pm

Either air or charge.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 2nd, 2013, 9:57 pm

It's German so they over do it in every aspect. They say charge air cooler. Took me a while to realize it was an intercooler they were talking about.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » September 2nd, 2013, 10:25 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:It's German so they over do it in every aspect. They say charge air cooler. Took me a while to realize it was an intercooler they were talking about.

Allyeh Zermans..lol.

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » September 3rd, 2013, 8:34 am

They say charge air meaning pressurized from off the turbo charge side aka turbo outlet, which feeds into ya heat exchanger (aka intercooler/cooler). Zey has always call z dass.

Postby MG Man » September 3rd, 2013, 9:49 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:It's German so they over do it in every aspect. They say charge air cooler. Took me a while to realize it was an intercooler they were talking about.

Lotus started using the term 'chargecooler' in their early Esprit Turbo...I actually knew that term befire 'intercooler'...........ah does forget not all ah allyuh ole like de road :-p

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » September 3rd, 2013, 10:58 am

Lotus started using the term 'chargecooler' in their early Esprit Turbo...I actually knew that term befire 'intercooler'...........ah does forget not all ah allyuh ole like de road :-p

You ole like the SS Erin Road or wha? lol

nemesis

Postby nemesis » September 3rd, 2013, 12:39 pm

Well look how people use different terms.

Always thought chargecooler was a liquid cooled IC.

Postby MG Man » September 3rd, 2013, 1:12 pm

nope...........and pointman-IA, I was there when the amerindians cut the original track :-p

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » September 3rd, 2013, 1:19 pm

MG Man wrote:nope...........and pointman-IA, I was there when the amerindians cut the original track :-p

You sniffing on that chloroform ah little too much eh.lol

cqk4

Postby cqk4 » September 3rd, 2013, 5:41 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:Why you wanna take off the bumper?

To get to something behind the bumper. Think of these things:

1. S
2. Air
3. Charge
4. Cooler
5. Tree

Not necessarily in that order.

S3 Intercooler !

nemesis

Postby nemesis » September 3rd, 2013, 6:36 pm

Where on earth you seeing "inter" as one of the words there? :)

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » September 11th, 2013, 6:59 am

Folks,
Anybody done the 20k service yet? Trying to gauge the bill. They said on the phone that I may have to leave the car for 2 days

fastredcar

Postby fastredcar » September 11th, 2013, 11:11 am

Yes I did the service. Expect to pay anywhere around $3500-$4000. Depends on if you need new wiper blades..or anything else not covered in the warranty.
They initially told me $5000...

fastredcar

Postby fastredcar » September 11th, 2013, 11:12 am

And yes you will have to leave it overnight. I dropped mine in the morning and collected next day in the evening.

Mazdout

Postby Mazdout » September 11th, 2013, 2:25 pm

What's done in a 20k service???? apart from oil/filters and probably a diagnostic scan. (Pads depending on travels)...forgot wiper blade change:)

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 11th, 2013, 3:36 pm

Fuel filter (supposedly), pollen air filter, radiator coolant, brake fluid, air filter, LABOUR.

dalesmobileR

Postby dalesmobileR » September 13th, 2013, 9:51 am

In my Polo they changer the fuel filter, radiator coolant & brake fluid @ 20K Miles. AC Filter (pollen Filter) & Air Filter was not changed as yet. I'm gonna do a service next week @ 27k miles.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 13th, 2013, 11:36 am

^^^^ You had to leave it over night too? Remember how much it cost?

dalesmobileR

Postby dalesmobileR » September 13th, 2013, 11:48 am

Yes overnight. It cost me about $2,300 but i carried my own oil {I use mobil 1 esp formula 5w-30} & oil filter (add $480). Labour was the real killer tho. I think it was over $1,000 b4 VAT, but then I don't know the details of changing the fuel filter. I assume the other things are pretty much easy..iduno..

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 13th, 2013, 11:51 am

Oh ok. Did they tell you before hand what would be changed or was the bill a surprise?

dalesmobileR

Postby dalesmobileR » September 13th, 2013, 11:54 am

i have a good relationship with my sales-rep. i asked him and he told me about $3,000...so it was no surprise

nemesis

Postby nemesis » September 13th, 2013, 12:15 pm

Hah. That more expensive than BMW service. :)

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » September 13th, 2013, 1:05 pm

nemesis wrote:Hah. That more expensive than BMW service. :)

Which model BMW to be serviced are you referring to?

Return to “EURO”