7 Speed DSG Clutch Slipping!!!

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

neexis

Re: 7 Speed DSG Clutch Slipping!!!

Postby neexis » March 14th, 2016, 7:39 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:
svramoutar wrote:
supercharged turbo wrote:Time to buy ah Toyota

What Toyota though, Corolla?
For ah car yes the Corolla,for a van Hilux.

Ah yes.. the sounds of a man who has absolutely given up and wants something that should (hopefully) just work.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 14th, 2016, 7:47 pm

New Corolla not bad if you can live with less power.

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » March 14th, 2016, 8:27 pm

Ok, well let's hope this all goes smoothly tomorrow. You know, we the customers, have strengths on numbers eh. If enough of us have issues we can make a case against them, just saying. I remember when my brother and I went to Renault years ago, if you see bad publicity they were getting that day, the media was there too. I really don't want to publicize the nonsense that's going on at BA, but if they leave me no choice, hmm.

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » March 14th, 2016, 8:41 pm

I doh know if I could do that boy, it really hadda be bad.

TREX

Postby TREX » March 14th, 2016, 9:16 pm

After reading all these posts I remember my one attempt at VW ownership
A Golf GTI 1.8T
Great car when it was working
But
shitty experience with BA
I used to go and tell them what was wrong with the thing
Anyway long story short. After the engine mounts broke and the engine fell into the engine bay I figured that was it
These cars are a terrible waste of money. And are extremely unreliable.
I'm sorry for you bro because in the end you will have to fork out the cash for the repairs.
Jap cars may not be as glamorous but they are bulletproof. And that's what I value the most
Good luck

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 14th, 2016, 10:47 pm

Calling quits in my vw ownership as well..to much of a waste..car sitting down...already brought a new one..never me and them again

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 14th, 2016, 11:00 pm

What you ended up getting jb?

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » March 15th, 2016, 1:07 am

svramoutar wrote:
EcoTune Trinidad wrote:A dsg remap would cure 99% of those clutch shudder issues...even presented a case to BA...but we know how that goes...management/warranty issues

Sent from my SM-G900M using Tapatalk

Nathan, I could live with the shuddering, but this is a whole other issue I'm having. I'm sure my clutch pack is defective, but of course they won't admit that, they under pressure in there. Best Auto gonna run down VW just like how Peugeot and Renault disappear from the market.

The past dealers for the RENAULT brand offered poor after sales service.
There were certain recalls in the Meganes, Lagunas and Clios that weren't pursued down here.

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » March 15th, 2016, 5:49 am

Yup, unfortunately I have to agree, the Japs don't really give that much trouble and I'm talking from experience as well, and even if they did, it wasn't very costly to repair anyway.

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » March 16th, 2016, 9:22 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
svramoutar wrote:
EcoTune Trinidad wrote:A dsg remap would cure 99% of those clutch shudder issues...even presented a case to BA...but we know how that goes...management/warranty issues

Nathan, I could live with the shuddering, but this is a whole other issue I'm having. I'm sure my clutch pack is defective, but of course they won't admit that, they under pressure in there. Best Auto gonna run down VW just like how Peugeot and Renault disappear from the market.

Part numbers have been updated for the clutches. Shuddering should stop so when you get yours changed you should be ok.

Do you have the part number by any chance?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 17th, 2016, 11:45 pm

svramoutar wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
svramoutar wrote:

Part numbers have been updated for the clutches. Shuddering should stop so when you get yours changed you should be ok.

Do you have the part number by any chance?

Latest repair kit for your dsg is 0AM198140F (clutch part number 0AM141017BR) and is available from VW since 2013. I have seen 0AM198140N (clutch part number 0AM141017CF) which supposedly supersedes 0AM198140F but can't confirm whether it will work for your DSG. These repair kits contain the clutches, shims, washers etc. I gather you can find out which kit is the best one for your Jetta by going to the counter at Massy parts and asking them to check both repair kit part numbers.

Alternatively LUK makes the DSG for your vehicle and they have a repair kit.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/LUK-602-0001-00 ... B0068O4L52 contains all the parts needed for DSG clutch repair including new clutches, shims etc. This is OEM quality as they are the ones who designed the 7 speed DSG for VW.

This document may have useful info for you too: http://webcat.schaeffler-aftermarket.co ... erb_en.pdf

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » March 19th, 2016, 6:39 am

Ok, thank you very much Bunny. 0AM-198-140N is the part number I got from Best Auto.

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » March 19th, 2016, 7:11 am

Neexis how long did it take for you to get a response from customer support? I used the link this week, but still awaiting a response.

neexis

Postby neexis » March 19th, 2016, 8:09 am

Yea I actually never expected a response, but they sent something back almost 3 weeks after

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » March 19th, 2016, 10:16 am

Oh ho, 3 weeks, ok, well I'll see how it goes. Thank you so much for all the info and help.

Sanjay

neexis

Postby neexis » March 20th, 2016, 1:47 am

They may be more busy now with the emissions scandal

Good luck!

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » March 20th, 2016, 7:35 am

Lord, didn't think about that, true, geez. The car driving yes, normal normal, only problem is when I kick down, in one of the gears there is a slight slip, so I don't do that and it works perfect. Will change soon, but I'll have to fork out the money, say what. After I spend that amount of money I not selling right away though. I'll keep for a year or two after, hopefully nothing else goes, fingers crossed.

Sanjay.

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » March 22nd, 2016, 7:25 am

Hi Neexis,

I got a response from VW, saying the same thing, that they can't respond to all issues worldwide, and as such they have forwarded my claim their importer, Best Auto, lol. This doesn't make any sense because we already know where Best Auto stands on this. Oh well.

Sanjay

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 22nd, 2016, 9:27 am

svramoutar wrote:Hi Neexis,

I got a response from VW, saying the same thing, that they can't respond to all issues worldwide, and as such they have forwarded my claim their importer, Best Auto, lol. This doesn't make any sense because we already know where Best Auto stands on this. Oh well.

Sanjay

That's a standard reply. They will always point you in the direction of the importer. However the times they did this for me I got positive results afterwards from BA.

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » March 22nd, 2016, 9:54 am

Well I just responded to that email asking them how come they are referring me back to the dealer when they were the ones giving me the run around in the first place, and obviously there is a defect with the part. I've been calling other dealers throughout the USA and they are all baffled that I have to change that part. Some of them never even changed it, lol.

Sanjay

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 22nd, 2016, 11:11 am

Why call dealers in the US? They don't sell Jettas with that tranny in general. Only in the Jetta Hybrid so VERY limited numbers compared to the other models they sell and only very recently too. Our Jettas align with euro market or australia. Call those regions if you want relevant info.

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » March 22nd, 2016, 11:44 am

Oh, is that so? I thought the engine would be different, but tranny would be the same. Anyway, I gave them the part number and they pulled it up, but very expensive. So, I need to call U.K.then?

Sanjay

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » March 22nd, 2016, 11:45 am

What issues you had that BA solved after contacting customer support?

Sanjay

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 22nd, 2016, 11:59 am

svramoutar wrote:Oh, is that so? I thought the engine would be different, but tranny would be the same. Anyway, I gave them the part number and they pulled it up, but very expensive. So, I need to call U.K.then?

Sanjay

USA dealer s can pull it up for you because they have access to the part simply by having the Jetta Hybrid for sale in that market. All I was saying is that they won't have much experience in fixing because of limited Jetta Hybrid numbers and basically now the DQ200 doesn't give trouble like in previous model years. The Jetta hybrid basically comes with better clutches than in yours so it's not like dealers do alot of part replacement on the 7 speed DSG in the US.

Have you not asked BA to do a Goodwill request for you? The dealer has to put in the request to VW for your case.

My issue BA sorted out after the email to VW pertained to updates with respect to the status of my car order. BA was giving false updates till the email was sent to them.

neexis

Postby neexis » March 22nd, 2016, 12:12 pm

svramoutar wrote:Well I just responded to that email asking them how come they are referring me back to the dealer when they were the ones giving me the run around in the first place, and obviously there is a defect with the part. I've been calling other dealers throughout the USA and they are all baffled that I have to change that part. Some of them never even changed it, lol.

Sanjay

I think when they do that, they refer the case back to BA asking them what's going on.

Because shortly after they replied, BA called me for the service campaign. Other tuners I had asked hadn't been contacted about it.

Is the problem just with the clutches? Can you get them replaced? I remember early on (possibly in the Jetta thread) seeing something about after market clutches... assuming that BA/VW fail to pull through

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » March 22nd, 2016, 12:14 pm

No I didn't ask anything with respect to goodwill after Ryan told me it's a part like brakes that needs changing ever so often. He and Lisa sat down there while he told me with a straight face that they've had clutches changed at 20,000 miles already, and it's my driving patterns that is causing it, driving in traffic etc. 20,000 miles? That could never be right, something has to be wrong.

Sanjay

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 22nd, 2016, 12:48 pm

It could never be driving pattern. Trust me. You slipping in gears not even used in heavy traffic. 20,000 miles is nothing in an automatic. If it was a manual with you controlling the clutches I could understand but this is not the case.

Ask them to have them changed under goodwill. Talk to someone else if you have to. Mr. Charles Bernard if you can.

neexis

Postby neexis » March 22nd, 2016, 12:57 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:It could never be driving pattern. Trust me. You slipping in gears not even used in heavy traffic. 20,000 miles is nothing in an automatic. If it was a manual with you controlling the clutches I could understand but this is not the case.

Ask them to have them changed under goodwill. Talk to someone else if you have to. Mr. Charles Bernard if you can.

Won't make a difference.

Charles will go with whatever the Service tech says.

Charles, Lisa and Steven sat down with me and all agreed that the steering rack had to be replaced. It didn't. I asked about goodwill when they told me the price. They said that would be up to Germany and could only be submitted once I paid for the replacement.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 22nd, 2016, 3:16 pm

neexis wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:It could never be driving pattern. Trust me. You slipping in gears not even used in heavy traffic. 20,000 miles is nothing in an automatic. If it was a manual with you controlling the clutches I could understand but this is not the case.

Won't make a difference.

Charles will go with whatever the Service tech says.

Charles, Lisa and Steven sat down with me and all agreed that the steering rack had to be replaced. It didn't. I asked about goodwill when they told me the price. They said that would be up to Germany and could only be submitted once I paid for the replacement.

Not necessarily. Charles blocked me upfront in a similar fashion as what various people on here post about. I went back to him and presented my case without the technical people at his side and he changed his mind on the Goodwill. It's not a surety. Goodwill is just a request. Won't hurt to ask as if you present a strong case they will be inclined to listen and pass on the request to VW. My car was out of warranty by 10 months and they gave me goodwill on the mechatronic unit.

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » March 22nd, 2016, 10:20 pm

I think goodwill should always be applied to Mechatronic failure though, if not, then that is just wrong. Who is Charles Bernard by the way?

Sanjay

Return to “EURO”