telfer wrote:I have a new model for sale 1 year old 17000km if u really seriously can sell for $220k
neexis wrote:Is this model (2010 Passat B6) good?
The model is pretty solid. The B7 pretty much a facelift of the B6. What's the transmission on this one though? DSG or regular auto? DSG should have been available around PCN registrations and later. That may be one of the major concerns.
3. Reliability?
My B7 is 1 year old. I can only comment on this short period.... no issues so far.
4. Average cost of parts? I know VW parts are pricey.
Parts are generally pricey once purchased through any local dealer. There are however may other ways of getting parts from online retailers etc. There are some good resources posted in these EURO threads to help with that though.
5. Average maintenance cost? e.g. regular service
Through the dealer, average cost of a regular 5000 mile service is about $1200
6. Mileage?
7. I know it uses Premium fuel. Cost of fulling the tank.
The tank is 70L. Filling up when the needle is on 0 can cost around $360-375 depending on how empty. Due to credit card restrictions on some pumps I only ever fill about 300 at a time, which comfortably gets me about 700km before I refill. Of course this depends on your driving style.telfer wrote:I have a new model for sale 1 year old 17000km if u really seriously can sell for $220k
Already??? Any specific problems with the car itself?
purple_heart77 wrote:B6 Passat....yes
I own a late 2008 B6 3C2 1.8TSI, 6 speed transmission (non-DSG), currently 100K km.
The vehicle just made over 5 years and I have had no major issues.
Everything Neexis posted is true and will hold for the B6 model.
I will add issues experienced in order of occurrence;
Brake switch was renewed (press button park brake), dealership resolved.
Issue with door power lock unlocking during travel, dealership resolved.
Hood-liner drops, all Euros suffer from that.
Both front shocks replaced.
End of issues.
The main thing I will tell to do is change that Transmission oil as soon as you buy that car. Confirm with the seller if it was done and if you have any doubt that it is notdone, get it done. This should be done if the car is doing 60K km. Also it must be OEM quality oil from the firm only, nothing else.
My car drove the first 4 years on the highway and I realize that this was absolutely good for the engine, did a leak down test and found no leakageThe car burns no oil and after the 4th year (no more dealership maintenance), I changed the oil from Castrol to Pentosin. As usual the regular hard drive (> 140km/h) is recommended. Enjoy the ride.
StefanH2 wrote:Thank you very very much for this response. You've put my mind to ease. I'm going for it. I also followed up on some advice I got from Allergic in another forum and called BA for info to confirm. The B6 came with 1.8TSi and 2.0T engines. Earlier models had a 6speed/7speed wet clutch auto tranny. Different from the 7speed DSG that have been plaguing newer models. All in all that was the only thing I was worried about.. But now, I feel ah lil more confident with my choice. Again thanks a lot bro. Appreciate it.
purple_heart77 wrote:B6 Passat....yes
I own a late 2008 B6 3C2 1.8TSI, 6 speed transmission (non-DSG), currently 100K km.
End of issues.
The main thing I will tell to do is change that Transmission oil as soon as you buy that car. Confirm with the seller if it was done and if you have any doubt that it is notdone, get it done. This should be done if the car is doing 60K km. Also it must be OEM quality oil from the firm only, nothing else.
My car drove the first 4 years on the highway and I realize that this was absolutely good for the engine, did a leak down test and found no leakageThe car burns no oil and after the 4th year (no more dealership maintenance), I changed the oil from Castrol to Pentosin. As usual the regular hard drive (> 140km/h) is recommended. Enjoy the ride.
neexis wrote:StefanH2 wrote:Thank you very very much for this response. You've put my mind to ease. I'm going for it. I also followed up on some advice I got from Allergic in another forum and called BA for info to confirm. The B6 came with 1.8TSi and 2.0T engines. Earlier models had a 6speed/7speed wet clutch auto tranny. Different from the 7speed DSG that have been plaguing newer models. All in all that was the only thing I was worried about.. But now, I feel ah lil more confident with my choice. Again thanks a lot bro. Appreciate it.
No problem. The models right before the B7 was released did come with the same DSG7 though. DSG7 is pretty amazing, but it's the one component in the car that I'm skeptical about. From what I've seen though, I think that problem affected mostly the older generation of it. So we'll see.
Good luck with the car. Let us know how it works out..... and be sure to post some pics!
purpleheart... I dunno why I forgot that you had one... you were the best man to comment on this!
kantoine wrote:purple_heart77 wrote:B6 Passat....yes
End of issues.
HOSS, personally, I would stay away from them cars unless you have a real appreciation for European cars, your company buying it for you and/ or if used, it still within the warranty period.
I've had experience with a 3C Passat. lovely car. It does ride smooth. Still cant touch the Audi, but for the $$$ its really REALLY good value for money brand new. Thing is, them new Passats require Tender Loving Care. You make the mistake and chinks on maintenance just a little bit, and your ass can be dark, because engine and electrical parts for that car very pricey and used parts are EXTREMELY hard to come by.
As for Pentosin? Pentosin dont give you any more protection than Castrol. Once the oil is approved by VW/Audi for use, then it good 502/505 spec. Liqui moly, valvoline, total all of dem is the same khaki pants.
StefanH2 wrote:kantoine wrote:purple_heart77 wrote:B6 Passat....yes
End of issues.
HOSS, personally, I would stay away from them cars unless you have a real appreciation for European cars, your company buying it for you and/ or if used, it still within the warranty period.
I've had experience with a 3C Passat. lovely car. It does ride smooth. Still cant touch the Audi, but for the $$$ its really REALLY good value for money brand new. Thing is, them new Passats require Tender Loving Care. You make the mistake and chinks on maintenance just a little bit, and your ass can be dark, because engine and electrical parts for that car very pricey and used parts are EXTREMELY hard to come by.
As for Pentosin? Pentosin dont give you any more protection than Castrol. Once the oil is approved by VW/Audi for use, then it good 502/505 spec. Liqui moly, valvoline, total all of dem is the same khaki pants.
I do have an appreciation for European cars. And I am buying a used one (Passat 3C). I have been researching this car for a while now. As for parts, yes there are pricey, but I can source online. Additionally, although maintenance is more expensive than the asian vehicles, my research indicated that in the long run its worth the investment. These cars, require less down time between service intervals. The mechanicals seem to be of better quality. I agree that these cars need baby-in up. lol. There are alot more technical than the regular run of mill vehicles. thats why i luv dem yes. As for exterior build quality and looks, European cars just exudes a certain level of class bwoi..lol. i don't know how else to explain it an. But you right with what you said though.. appreaciate the advice bro.
kantoine wrote:StefanH2 wrote:kantoine wrote:purple_heart77 wrote:B6 Passat....yes
End of issues.
I do have an appreciation for European cars. And I am buying a used one (Passat 3C). I have been researching this car for a while now. As for parts, yes there are pricey, but I can source online. Additionally, although maintenance is more expensive than the asian vehicles, my research indicated that in the long run its worth the investment. These cars, require less down time between service intervals. The mechanicals seem to be of better quality. I agree that these cars need baby-in up. lol. There are alot more technical than the regular run of mill vehicles. thats why i luv dem yes. As for exterior build quality and looks, European cars just exudes a certain level of class bwoi..lol. i don't know how else to explain it an. But you right with what you said though.. appreaciate the advice bro.
have you ever had a european car before?
you know what to look for when you buying one?
To me you have already convinced yourself. But i can tell you, moving from japanese to euro is like getting married. You have no idea what your getting into until you in it. Good luck. I hope u does pray plenty and dont get discouraged easily.
kantoine wrote:They not worth it. Dont waste money. Stick to something reliable and easy to fix. Get a pickup truck. a Ranger or a Navara. you will be much happier in the long run i swear
purple_heart77 wrote:Pics when purchased, doh hold back
StefanH2 wrote:purple_heart77 wrote:Pics when purchased, doh hold back
Will do.. but I will say, since you seem to be the most vocal B6 owner on the forum, i may need some advice etc on the car.. hope thats not an issue though.
purple_heart77 wrote:https://sites.google.com/site/1810martin/passat-b6-service-information
partscentral wrote:scrapping a b6 passat if u ever need parts
Still advise against it. if you must have euro get a BMW or Merc instead. They are far more reliable carsStefanH2 wrote:purple_heart77 wrote:https://sites.google.com/site/1810martin/passat-b6-service-information
Thanks alot.. should have ride in the nest couple weeks...