Habit7 wrote:Its nearly 50% more to fuel most of our euro spec engines.
Super runs the risk of damaging our finely tune engine, so its not true alternative.
Habit7 wrote:Its nearly 50% more to fuel most of our euro spec engines.
Super runs the risk of damaging our finely tune engine, so its not true alternative.
Still hope to sell your car this year and make a decent profit?
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I bought my vehicle with the intention of keeping it for at least 5 years. Resale value isn't high on my priorities.
neexis wrote:Silly question as this may be, (and main topic of the thread [fuel cost] considered), why do European vehicles lose value so much faster than their Japanese counterparts?
Yes I know maintenance and parts are a bit more costly, but as kantoine rightly pointed out, most of them have features that are light years ahead of the japanese.
I'd pick more expensive but less frequent maintenance over cheap monthly maintenance anyday
TriniVdub wrote:the prize of OEM parts for most VW and Audi vehicles are on par and sometimes cheaper than Japanese OEM parts.
nes123 wrote:another factor in some cases is...market value and resale value are two completely different things...eg. an A4 B7 can have a resale value of 170k but market dictates 130-160k save for the overall condition or how soon would an owner want to sell IMO.
I did a small survey on overall resale values as the local insurance companies sees it and found that a Jetta after 5yrs holds at 50% showroom cost at 110k,similarly an octavia II holds at 85k at 50% after 6yrs etc.....as for pricing of fuel affecting these cars,I guess we shall see again how the impact would be on insurance values :/
nemesis wrote:TriniVdub wrote:the prize of OEM parts for most VW and Audi vehicles are on par and sometimes cheaper than Japanese OEM parts.
Especially if you have a model that's sold in the US. My car parts are cheaper than the gf's Mazda 3's parts. Actually, her brother has an A6 which is also from Southern sales and many of his parts are cheaper than the mazda's.nes123 wrote:another factor in some cases is...market value and resale value are two completely different things...eg. an A4 B7 can have a resale value of 170k but market dictates 130-160k save for the overall condition or how soon would an owner want to sell IMO.
I did a small survey on overall resale values as the local insurance companies sees it and found that a Jetta after 5yrs holds at 50% showroom cost at 110k,similarly an octavia II holds at 85k at 50% after 6yrs etc.....as for pricing of fuel affecting these cars,I guess we shall see again how the impact would be on insurance values :/
Insurance varies too widely by many factors on the vehicle. Of course if your purchase price is lower for a used vehicle it will often have cheaper insurance. Actually, in some cases euros have a huge advantage. For example it's easier to insure a turboed or 2 door euro car than a JDM turbo or 2 door.
5onDfloor wrote:i think gone are the days when people in general sell a car to just get it sell...everyone seems to want to make a profit, for me i call a price i think would get my car sold.
nes123 wrote:as for pricing of fuel affecting these cars,I guess we shall see again how the impact would be on insurance values :/
kantoine wrote:Resale values for a lot of european marques are low for several reasons:
In the case of french cars, low because they just not very good and poorly built.
in the case of german cars , VAG cars in particular, you have to understand, that a lot of cars being sold less than 7 years old for small money are cars bought for managers. They probably going to get a newer , audi, vw or skoda, and so, they just selling them off, which is why i say, those are good cars to buy: usually driven by one person, highway mileage and serviced by southern sales (i dont know if thats a consolation)
Pointman-IA wrote:kantoine wrote:Resale values for a lot of european marques are low for several reasons:
In the case of french cars, low because they just not very good and poorly built.
in the case of german cars , VAG cars in particular, you have to understand, that a lot of cars being sold less than 7 years old for small money are cars bought for managers. They probably going to get a newer , audi, vw or skoda, and so, they just selling them off, which is why i say, those are good cars to buy: usually driven by one person, highway mileage and serviced by southern sales (i dont know if thats a consolation)
Way boi, yuh ponging yuh european cousin so hard?![]()
What is amazing is that people misunderstood the european engineering behind the Renaults. A perfect example is this: The owners manual specifically said that coolant is to be put in the bottle. I have seen people fill up the bottle with water and run the car with this. When disaster strikes, who is to blame? The manufacturer or the owner?
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Pointman-IA wrote:kantoine wrote:Resale values for a lot of european marques are low for several reasons:
What is amazing is that people misunderstood the european engineering behind the Renaults. A perfect example is this: The owners manual specifically said that coolant is to be put in the bottle. I have seen people fill up the bottle with water and run the car with this. When disaster strikes, who is to blame? The manufacturer or the owner?
Daiz renault fault![]()
They should have been more specific. "No water here. Only G12 coolant"
Technically water can be considered coolant.
neexis wrote:aye.. NP ULTRA is blended to international standards! .....said the billboard
Pointman-IA wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Pointman-IA wrote:kantoine wrote:Resale values for a lot of european marques are low for several reasons:
Daiz renault fault![]()
They should have been more specific. "No water here. Only G12 coolant"
Technically water can be considered coolant.
It is stated...
Will you introduce NP Engine Oil to your VW or stick with Castrol?