mercedes c class vs 3 series

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

Slow Poke

mercedes c class vs 3 series

Postby Slow Poke » January 5th, 2010, 1:10 pm

which is the better buy between the new models

Mazdout

Postby Mazdout » January 6th, 2010, 1:37 pm

Seems like you need a crystal ball for a vague question like that...lol

Do you intend to use as a daily commute?
Weekend / special drives mostly?
Just to elevate your stature in the neighborhood or at the office?
Make the neighbors adore what's in your garage?
Comfort? Performance? or both?
or you just luv euro's?

Postby eliteauto » January 6th, 2010, 4:24 pm

Personal opinion I'd take the Merc

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » January 6th, 2010, 6:28 pm

its a future business purchase, so just wants to find out from owners/tuners which handles better, a friend has the new c class but personally she prefers the bmw's handling and performance as she had one as well, so that was basically the only opinion/view i got so i was hoping to have it cleared up here.

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 7th, 2010, 11:22 am

I was thinking of getting a C300, V6, any ideas of what the cost would be like?

BRT

Postby BRT » January 7th, 2010, 2:56 pm

i say go with the Mercedes,
1.) the C-Class avantage handle and performs very well, total differnt to the older model,

2.) If its a Business purachse, then again you go with the Merc, Benz is Benz when ppl see a benz at your office they know you only deal with the best.

3.) the Merc has better resale value over the BMW, every tom, dick, and harry have a BMW

4.) the C-Class is a newer model, BMW is currently developing a newer model, so u dont want to buy a car and then a few months down the road a new one is out.

I have a friend that could hook you up with a brand new one he works at the firm, i will send you his info in your PM, and he will also send you a quote

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 7th, 2010, 3:35 pm

BRT wrote:i say go with the Mercedes,
1.) the C-Class avantage handle and performs very well, total differnt to the older model,

2.) If its a Business purachse, then again you go with the Merc, Benz is Benz when ppl see a benz at your office they know you only deal with the best.

3.) the Merc has better resale value over the BMW, every tom, dick, and harry have a BMW

4.) the C-Class is a newer model, BMW is currently developing a newer model, so u dont want to buy a car and then a few months down the road a new one is out.

I have a friend that could hook you up with a brand new one he works at the firm, i will send you his info in your PM, and he will also send you a quote

PM me to.....

I'm looking at the C300 V6 with the following:

Parktronic
Ipod and Bluetooth Integration
keyless go
and AMG Kit and drilled rotors....

Thanks

thanks
Last edited by src1983 on January 7th, 2010, 3:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » January 7th, 2010, 3:35 pm

Either purchase is totally up to your opinion. You best bet is to test drive both and don't be afraid to go up some hills and really drive it. They both have good resale value and both are getting quite alot of buys recently.
Which ever you buy it's not going to always be the newest model so it really doesn't matter even though it might pain you in your head and think "if I had wait a three months" lol.
Last but not least, do a consumer report search online, preferably for the european models and not the US as that's the model we have down here give or take a couple things.

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 25th, 2010, 8:30 am

hey can anyone give me a review on the C250 CGI avantgard, with regards to

Power,
Fuel,
features,

Thanks

Fatboyslimpower

Postby Fatboyslimpower » January 25th, 2010, 11:05 pm

Slow Poke wrote:its a future business purchase, so just wants to find out from owners/tuners which handles better, a friend has the new c class but personally she prefers the bmw's handling and performance as she had one as well, so that was basically the only opinion/view i got so i was hoping to have it cleared up here.

Honestly,

If its a business purchase. You should not get either. Cars are a depreciation assest. Therefore for bussiness, not good.

Also, The C300, is a great car. The C-class is built in 2 country currently, Brenan, Germany, and Johanesburg, South Africa. Look on the VIN number, and the R means South Affrica.

The C300 can use regular and up to 80% ethanol, its a very flexible engine.

Anything other than the C63 or M3, it dont matter about performance nor handling, because you are not taking it to the track and race it properly.
Also, the 3000 cc engine from the C3000 is $96 per cc just for the MVT, so unless you buying the C300, C350 or C63. Its all about prefernce of how it looks, and the Roads in TT are sheit, so, low profile tires are so going to hamper your ride, and buss in pot holes.

I know. Hope this helps.

Sully

Postby Sully » February 5th, 2010, 12:55 pm

What's the difference between the 180CGI and the 250CGI. (They are both 1.8L Turbo Engines)

Fatboyslimpower

Benz

Postby Fatboyslimpower » February 6th, 2010, 12:42 am

Sully wrote:What's the difference between the 180CGI and the 250CGI. (They are both 1.8L Turbo Engines)

The 180CGI has less power and torque, 156hp and 184 lb/ft, and the 250CGI has 204hp, and 228 lb/ft.

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 9th, 2010, 8:41 pm

A little thread hijack but I need my vin number on an e240. Can anyone help?

Sully

Re: Benz

Postby Sully » February 23rd, 2010, 2:22 pm

Fatboyslimpower wrote:
Sully wrote:What's the difference between the 180CGI and the 250CGI. (They are both 1.8L Turbo Engines)

The 180CGI has less power and torque, 156hp and 184 lb/ft, and the 250CGI has 204hp, and 228 lb/ft.

Any more details on what's the differences under the hood that causes the performance increase, or is it purely due to tuning?

vs6969

Postby vs6969 » February 23rd, 2010, 10:33 pm

yo bro go mercedes benz hoss... nothing like a benz.. safety is 1st class trust me

nes123

Postby nes123 » February 27th, 2010, 10:10 am

^^ BMW have the same 5star rating as mercedes.. :|

also IMO I find the BMW responds with a better and more precise steering input and makes the driver more in tuned with the road ahead....for a 3 series base model and all..its more of a drivers car and is sport and luxury in one package....the merc is good but is moreso for luxury

Postby MG Man » February 27th, 2010, 8:02 pm

MB looks better

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » February 27th, 2010, 8:24 pm

i prefer the ferrari...oh wait wrong thread.... :lol:

Postby MG Man » February 27th, 2010, 9:33 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

sk1111

Postby sk1111 » March 1st, 2010, 4:31 pm

If you want a sporty great handling car, get the BMW. You will enjoy driving the bmw, precise handling, responsive engine, excellent braking etc. Benz makes numb cars compared to BMW. This is true through the entire line up. The black series cars are the only mb's worth owning.

Also, In my experience I've noticed BMW's quality is much higher than any comparable benz. BMW's are no doubt better built. Check the independent ratings, Benz has made garbage for the past 13 years or so. Tons of electrical problems.

There's a reason why BMW is the leading Luxury car manufacturer in the world.

Rapido

Postby Rapido » March 3rd, 2010, 7:13 pm

BRT wrote:
i say go with the Mercedes,

^^^^^ HA HA HA

Slow Poke...First Question to ask yourself before posting here...how many oh these ppl commenting on the question knows anything about either car....more less ever had the chance of owning one...

1.) the C-Class avantage handle and performs very well, total differnt to the older model,>>>>you must be joking
>>>>....the 3 series ,when it comes to control and driving will out do the Mercedes any day...come on...you're comparing a car on a scalectrix (sp)set to a car that drives like a train on tracks...

>>>>> although certain model mercs do sell for higher prices away ...they craftsman ship is marginally better if any better than bmws...the two cars designed their interiors and exteriors for different tastes and ergonomics....and besides the point...almost any bmw compared to a merc model to model....is higher in price ....thats just cus of the dealers locally ...the bmws sell higher than the mercs ,which we can use to defend number 3...another thing...everyone that has a merc and audi knows that they didn't buy the more expensive bmw...sorry...
i always said imo....bmw for the one who wants luxury mixed with the thrill and confidence of driving...merc for luxury(and the old man look) and audi...well for the first time owner who wants a half descent mix and doesn't want to play with his pocket money too much at first...although these days audi is surprising me more and more...besides the point...

>>>>>bmws have inflated prices down here...more than the mercs....from an accounting perspective...their resell is gonna be better just because it was sold for more than the merc(depreciation breaks it down in a format that is dictated by initial price paid and time,in most cases)...market wise....diff models sell differently...X5 or M class? 3 coupe or C coupe? its all about the model,specs,rarity,who wants it blah blah blah...won't expand on that...

>>>finally you are ...almost correct...although the c class is a new model...the bmw 3 series is due to change next year if i'm correct...they change model every 6 years,with a 3yr face lift in between,so if Slow Poke does go to get a new "luxury" unit next year or in the future as he says...maybe,just maybe he could wait to see what bmw brings as their next 3 series....by the way...isn't the bmw and still is the number unit in its class for the past 10 years or whatever? i can be wrong...

do your comparisons,online/real time checks maybe internationally and a little homework with test drives will be enough for you to make up your mind...compared to coming on this for info,Slow Poke

Sully

Postby Sully » March 4th, 2010, 7:38 am

There is to be a facelift model of the C class next year, so both the BMW and the C class will look different come next year. To what extent, I don't know.

Another major factor to consider is price. I found the BMW to be more expensive for comparable features than the C Class, but this depends on the options that you want.

A major drawback for me is that the BMW only uses run flat tires and the suspension is tuned for that. This would mean that tire options are fewer and more costly.

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » March 24th, 2010, 7:16 pm

ok so i have been driving my friend's C class for a month now and i must say it really is a comfortable ride, my only issue is the transmission it changes gears suddenly especially going uphill or pulling up from a dead stop,( any other C class drivers experience this)
It is a little on the low side, memory seats are comfortable and the interior is much more nicely appointed compared to the 3, my other issue is the lack of cupholders which can get quite annoying, all in all still cant purchase yet due to other priorities.

Sully

Postby Sully » March 29th, 2010, 6:37 am

There are two cup holders up front, but you have to open the compartment in the center console to gain access to them.

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » March 29th, 2010, 10:27 am

yea only two they could have at least have ia pair in the front doors, but hey its still a sweet deal, i like the full keyless touch system, what does service schedule b entail?

Return to “EURO”