My 6-hour GTI transformation

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

slow91

My 6-hour GTI transformation

Postby slow91 » February 15th, 2008, 1:00 pm

I got bored last weekend ........let me know what you think.....

I picked the '08 GTI Black Magic Pearl paint....looks CRAZY in the sunlight....has a slight blue hue..... 8-)

If you look closely, we followed the factory red stripe from the front end onto the hood and then applied threecoats of PPG clear over it.....:bandit:

Not too shabby for painting it in a buddy's warehouse...... :D

plex

Postby plex » February 15th, 2008, 5:12 pm

Very nice...How she runs?

slow91

Postby slow91 » February 15th, 2008, 8:49 pm

plex wrote:Very nice...How she runs?

Thanks for the compliment.

Haven't had "her" to the track yet, but she pulls really strong through all of the gears. The 2.0 turbo is really smooth. The only performance mod is the APR flash that I did at 800 miles.......other than that, just the Vogtland 1.9" drop springs.

I have 14,000 miles on the car and managed to see a best of 36-mpg so far...which is why I bought it. My Jeep only gets 12 or 13 mpg.... :shock:

Postby Monk BANzai » February 16th, 2008, 4:15 pm

nice nice....gonna go back VW one of these days.....

GOLF GTI MK5

Postby GOLF GTI MK5 » February 17th, 2008, 1:01 am

Nice job, wish you could of get it closer to the stock black on the bumper.......the consistency of the red line is a nice idea....would of been super if it ran continuously to the grill lines.
This car has tonnes of access. It' available over here now, manual and DSG auto. with leather and sunroof.

plex

Postby plex » February 17th, 2008, 8:14 am

I want one.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » February 17th, 2008, 11:45 am

I haven't seen a white in this down here as yet. Mostly seeing black with chrome trimming.
Ride looks sweet man.

slow91

Postby slow91 » February 18th, 2008, 1:45 am

GOLF GTI MK5 wrote:Nice job, wish you could of get it closer to the stock black on the bumper.......the consistency of the red line is a nice idea....would of been super if it ran continuously to the grill lines.
This car has tonnes of access. It' available over here now, manual and DSG auto. with leather and sunroof.

It "was" black on the bumper from the factory. What you are seeing now is Black Magic Pearl (blue pearl) on the front bumper, hood and top of the car. Looks slightly different from all angles.

GOLF GTI MK5

Postby GOLF GTI MK5 » April 6th, 2008, 8:08 pm

good stuff - luv the cold intake for these new GV

E36LUVA

Postby E36LUVA » April 17th, 2008, 1:01 pm

So when yuh puttin on de rest ah de APR shite. Cold air intake and Turbo back exhaust, you already have the software. Those mods together would really make that thing fly dread. I was a tech at a VW dealership for a while and used to work on them all the time like that and they freakin haul ass. Nice paint job BTW.

zorced

Postby zorced » April 17th, 2008, 1:24 pm

oh i thought it was a 6 hour engine transformation lol

but,,, very sweet job

Return to “EURO”