Suzuki Swift idle? and radiator issue

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

Swifterina

Suzuki Swift idle? and radiator issue

Postby Swifterina » June 29th, 2006, 4:07 pm

hi yall, long time no see.

so i have a suzuki swift (hence the name...but not the new model however) and it was idling real low when i was in Drive...like around 400-500...feeling like it want to cut off.

so i turn it up to idle around 900 in drive. but now it idling around 1300-1500 in neutral. is that ok? i feel that kinda high...the 1500 :? .

another thing is, the normal point on my radiator's gauge is midway. its always been midway...but i want to change it so its about a quarter way up from C cuz i find the car does smell like it burning :lol: . can I just take it radiator works and ask them for a new radiator? like a custom fit one? i doh know how much bigger the radiator could get...i find the space for it small.

and last but not least, anyone know where i can buy an antenna for the car? its the antenna that does fit on the roof at the corner just above the drivers seat (and the wire does slide down the side of the door frame next to the windscreen). i've checked all over bamboo and i cah find any that would fit in the holes in the roof....suzuki itself doh even sell them.

thanks in advance :D

Postby pete » June 29th, 2006, 5:29 pm

Sounds like you have a problem with your Idle Air Control Valve. It's supposed to regulate the RPM so when you put it in a gear the engine should idle up / down. Is it fuel injected or carb?

WRT the engine temperature. I don't think the burning smell is from the engine being too hot. More likely to be some oil being vented and smelling like that and doing something to reduce the temperature (e.g. fitting a lower temp thermostat) won't solve that problem.

conswaylos
Location: behaving.....don't wanna get ban for ah nex 2 weeks(on d otherhand 2lick lol)

Postby conswaylos » June 30th, 2006, 8:24 am

check and see if your radiator fan is working well. and if it is carb i eh know alot but i was getting d problem you getting and i jus went and buy carb cleaner and i jus spray it all over d place like ah made man and i working normal now. one more thing when you spraying after you will see d car smoking dont be alarm is jus d cleaner being burnt away. :mrgreen:

Postby SmokeyGTi » June 30th, 2006, 8:40 am

Check to see if your exhaust has a leak more to the front half of the half - it's possible that you are also smelling that.

Friend of mine says that it's possible your engine may be burning oil as well and you may be smelling it through the leak in the exhaust as well.

Swifterina

Postby Swifterina » June 30th, 2006, 8:55 am

thanks alot you'll. i'll check upon these things.

p.s., pete, it is carb not fuel-injected.

conswaylos
Location: behaving.....don't wanna get ban for ah nex 2 weeks(on d otherhand 2lick lol)

Postby conswaylos » June 30th, 2006, 7:04 pm

if oil is spilled onto the manifold you will smell something burning, it happen to me. aye doh worry with that idel thing it will return to normal , had my swift and since i got it has been doing that, you should not hurt your head.d gas gauge to when you drive hard d gas gauge does go down like about ah quarter tank and then when you return to normal driving conditions it will move back in place.

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » July 2nd, 2006, 6:02 pm

by the way Swifterina there is a Suzuki thread in this tech forum.About the antenna you could get a universal one at any auto parts shop (check any Motorist for e.g) and do a custom fit.

Return to “SUZUKI”