Re: help overheating 2000 jimny

Postby SweeP » May 3rd, 2013, 11:40 pm

so way the original engine fuh dat or yuh get in ah accident with ah 120y :lol:

devsingh

Postby devsingh » May 4th, 2013, 7:01 pm

the original transmission mash up and they (previous owners) put in that engine and transmission, but some problem with their mechanic and the engine disappear. so i bought it as is

Hyper V Racing

Postby Hyper V Racing » May 7th, 2013, 5:35 pm

Anything yet my friend??
I've been re-observing the current setup my 120. The fan hardly comes on...even at idling because of the aluminum radiator i've installed. It's still in my head that it's either the water pump or the radiator. I guess you checked long ago that the water pump pulley is the original one and not some oversized one....might sound stupid...

devsingh

Postby devsingh » May 9th, 2013, 8:49 am

water pump was changed and small pulley; faster turning, what i did do was install a clutch fan from an SR20 red top, fit beautifully. the overheating whilst driving is solved.

New problem

overheating idling with ac on over 15 mins
it takes very long to overheat and a very short time to cool once i start moving

devsingh

Postby devsingh » May 9th, 2013, 8:57 am

i cut a blue plastic barrel and made a shroud as it was difficult to find and very difficult to install seeing that the fan is bigger than the radiator

Postby gt4tified » May 9th, 2013, 6:46 pm

Love the home made shroud man! Re new problem...ur a/c fan or fan wiring may need an upgrade.

devsingh

Postby devsingh » May 9th, 2013, 9:52 pm

will try to source a larger ac fan and hope that solves my new problem

Hyper V Racing

Postby Hyper V Racing » May 11th, 2013, 3:06 pm

Would a 16" pusher fan for a/c help?
Note: Chinese and taiwan fans are crap....Flexalite, spal etc...are better
Mishimoto i do not favour....they spin too slow

devsingh

Postby devsingh » May 11th, 2013, 3:54 pm

ti fit that i'll have to remove the existing condenser fan, if you think it'll be better than two smaller fans, then i'll try to source one

King Kool

Postby King Kool » May 13th, 2013, 7:01 pm

Spal fans in stock..they are #1

King Kool
674-3653

devsingh

Postby devsingh » May 13th, 2013, 10:19 pm

i join trinituner with an overheating problem and i see pressure from "riding on 13's" to "ricer" to "street tuner" by the time this whole thing over i might be an administrator.

timos976

Postby timos976 » May 14th, 2013, 7:41 am

hahhahahahha welcome to the tuners lol

devsingh

Postby devsingh » May 14th, 2013, 11:25 pm

timos, dd you every get that thermal imaging camera we spoke about ?

devsingh

Postby devsingh » May 19th, 2013, 8:49 am

okay guys, one last mod done and the overheat whilst idling stopped. after doing more research, i closed the gap between the ac condenser and the radiator. that's it !
no additional condenser fan , no replacing existing condenser fan, just bring the condenser directly on the radiator.
i think hot air was probably re-circling instead of cooler air from outside even though i have a shroud, but the engine compartment is cramped.

so once again problem solved

tow_tray

Postby tow_tray » May 25th, 2013, 6:59 pm

Sorry to hijack but im looking for a vacuum port for a 120y intake manifold, not single but double.
See pic
Sent from my GT-P5100 using TriniTuner mobile app
1369522738401.jpg
1369522738401.jpg (9.91 KiB) Viewed 3657 times

devsingh

Postby devsingh » May 25th, 2013, 7:06 pm

try chunas in filicity

tow_tray

Postby tow_tray » May 25th, 2013, 7:14 pm

Thanks ......... anywhere in the East west corridor .... l eh even know where felicity is :smile:

Sent from my GT-P5100 using TriniTuner mobile app

littleshotter

Postby littleshotter » June 11th, 2013, 11:16 am

Ok after reading all the comments I just wanna ask a question how is the adjustment on your caby? cuz if its too lean u will experience over heating and yur a/c should not cause over heating except yur fan not working as it should, with a/c on your idle goes up thus extra heat but with fan in good order any extra heat should be quickly dissipated, u might also wanna check and change the hoses that come from the radiator because they might be soft and compressing when the engine at high revs thus causing restriction in water flow and your over heating problem....idk....just saying u might wanna take a look see...

devsingh

Postby devsingh » June 11th, 2013, 8:14 pm

thanks dude, solved the problem though, it was the engine was too inefficient to cool with an electric fan, clutch fan solved the problem

Return to “SUZUKI”