SUZUKI OWNERS BEWARE TICKETS FOR FOG LIGHTS!
Posted: October 12th, 2011, 8:16 pm
by spanglish1
My friend had an unfortunate run in with a licensing officer who issued her a ticket $750.00 for using her factory installed fog lights. To avoid having to deal with the dramas contact your lifestyle dealership so that a letter can be issued to you which covers the owner from being charged for the use of them.They are the ones that licensed the vehicles with them yet you getting charged for using it!
Re: SUZUKI OWNERS BEWARE TICKETS FOR FOG LIGHTS!
Posted: October 12th, 2011, 11:19 pm
by NLVA200
This was always in he back of my mind....
Have u requested the letter from LM already?
Posted: October 13th, 2011, 6:31 pm
by spanglish1
got it already!
Posted: October 14th, 2011, 9:44 pm
by ng357
when they dunce, they super dunce yes. they could clearly see that those fogs are factory installed and not blinding to others.
Posted: October 14th, 2011, 10:44 pm
by BLUE_CP9A
I don't even use my fogs
Posted: October 15th, 2011, 12:48 am
by aidan
wtf. those guys are really dotish yes. trini backward laws again. i have a friend who was fined for factory installed drls as well in an audi.
Posted: October 19th, 2011, 4:49 pm
by *$kїđž!™
now this is crap...OP what sorta car was it? Swift?
All cars have fog lamps....especially those FU cars....How can they all of a sudden charge ppl for using fog lamps...this is utter madness........
Posted: October 19th, 2011, 4:54 pm
by *$kїđž!™
spanglish.....what time was she using it? U think she was prob charged for having her lights on outside of the stipulated hours?.....rather than simply because he felt the lamps were added on as aftermarket
clarify if u can thks...
Posted: October 19th, 2011, 11:03 pm
by aidan
they should charge for putting ridiculous HIDs in foglamps.
Posted: October 21st, 2011, 12:43 am
by gt4tified
*$kїđž!™ wrote:spanglish.....what time was she using it? U think she was prob charged for having her lights on outside of the stipulated hours?.....rather than simply because he felt the lamps were added on as aftermarket
clarify if u can thks...
Has nothing to do with when they were being used. The MVRT regs are clear...any front lights apart from headlights and park (side) lights, you must have the permission of Licensing to have affixed to your vehicle.
The stupid thing is that Lifestyle Motors DO in fact have permission to do so, and the jack@sses at licensing know this. I wish they would charge me.....I wanna see a licensing officer get belittled by a magistrate for wasting the Court's time....worse yet if the accused files a counter-claim for loss of income or something so.
Posted: October 21st, 2011, 7:02 am
by NLVA200
spanglish1 wrote:got it already!
Could u show us what a copy of this letter looks like?
Posted: October 21st, 2011, 4:56 pm
by *$kїđž!™
i know we talking bout suzuki cars and guess I gonna have to request one of those letters too....but waht about all those RORO cars withe fogs...what their position.....???
Posted: October 25th, 2011, 9:08 am
by chris1388
^^like me

...guess i'm screwed no more fogs...
Posted: October 25th, 2011, 10:34 am
by vtmiller11
LSM gives you a letter with another letter attached from the Ministry of Transport. It is not specific to LSM cars. As soon as I find mine, I'll copy it and Chris I'll give you a few copies at Solodex.
Posted: October 25th, 2011, 6:51 pm
by *$kїđž!™
vtmiller11 wrote:LSM gives you a letter with another letter attached from the Ministry of Transport. It is not specific to LSM cars. As soon as I find mine, I'll copy it and Chris I'll give you a few copies at Solodex.
so i guess they dont put your specific car number on the letter then.....
so it can be used for any car..?
Posted: October 25th, 2011, 7:25 pm
by chris1388
Hmmmmm....that not sounding too right...u sure them licensing officers hearing that lol?? But thank youuuu very much venus i appreciate it

Posted: October 28th, 2011, 6:38 pm
by Pointman-IA
The licensing officers did me the same for my Renault Clio. The fog lights were off and they were insisting that the lights on the front bumper are illegal. I told the officer to hold on, open the glove compartment and showed him a document that was signed by the Authority.
This letter have attached to it, the dealerships whose vehicles were authorised to sell vehicles with lights.
Posted: October 29th, 2011, 12:07 pm
by spanglish1
please contact them.i'll scan mine and post it.
Posted: November 15th, 2011, 8:06 am
by rolandk
The letter from LSM is vehicle specific.
I requested for my two SGVs and they gave me two vehicle specific letters.
Posted: November 16th, 2011, 10:11 am
by jm3
lol you are meant to get a ticket for driving with fog lights on when not needed its the same in the uk, u can have them installed on your car but don't drive with them on if its not foggy.
this new fashion trend thats passing through trinidad of driving with fogs is just stupid.
Its like complaining of getting a speeding ticket because you like to drive at your cars max speed because it came from the factory capable of doing it.
Posted: November 16th, 2011, 6:20 pm
by Pantos
Regulations say, if I remember correctly, that fog lamps, when not in use are to be covered. How does this fit into the scheme of things?
Posted: November 18th, 2011, 10:54 pm
by spanglish1
well if licensing registered the cars during the day it should have been covered then right.guess what none of them aint.driving during the day with fogs especially if no heavy rain falling then uh deserve a ticket.at night thats a different situation there.
Posted: November 18th, 2011, 11:07 pm
by *$kїđž!™
WELL i requested my letter today...I remember when we licensed my dad's car wayyy back in 2001, we actually removed the foglamps to avoid any issues with the licence office at that time...
Posted: November 20th, 2011, 6:26 pm
by Stephon.
gt4tified wrote:*$kїđž!™ wrote:spanglish.....what time was she using it? U think she was prob charged for having her lights on outside of the stipulated hours?.....rather than simply because he felt the lamps were added on as aftermarket
clarify if u can thks...
Has nothing to do with when they were being used. The MVRT regs are clear...any front lights apart from headlights and park (side) lights, you must have the permission of Licensing to have affixed to your vehicle.
The stupid thing is that Lifestyle Motors DO in fact have permission to do so, and the jack@sses at licensing know this. I wish they would charge me.....I wanna see a licensing officer get belittled by a magistrate for wasting the Court's time....worse yet if the accused files a counter-claim for loss of income or something so.
Yeah but I myself would like to know when she was using the lights, I've been through so many road blocks during the SoE and not a single time they stopped me for my fog lights. She was most likely using them incorrectly.
Posted: November 24th, 2011, 7:23 am
by spanglish1
it was being used around 7pm so it was dark already!the officer was just being an ahole