Swift sport

Posted: August 16th, 2010, 10:10 am
by EarthQuake
this is my problem. Its a problem that i have only now start experiencing

While driving under cold breeze and driving the car hard or at high RPM's, i get a funny smell coming from the air condition. Like a pumm smell, lol. i only get it when i run the car hard while the air condition is one. With the recent flooding that occurred earlier this month i pass through some flood waters, but not high enough to get in the car. Dont know if that is what caused it to give that smell.

Any ideas on what that could be.

Re: Swift sport

Posted: August 16th, 2010, 11:36 am
by Ignorant Ignis
pull out the a/c filter and take a look for starters

Posted: August 16th, 2010, 1:35 pm
by vtmiller11
EarthQuake wrote:this is my problem. Its a problem that i have only now start experiencing

While driving under cold breeze and driving the car hard or at high RPM's, i get a funny smell coming from the air condition. Like a pumm smell, lol. i only get it when i run the car hard while the air condition is one. With the recent flooding that occurred earlier this month i pass through some flood waters, but not high enough to get in the car. Dont know if that is what caused it to give that smell.

FINALY .... someboy else is experiencing the same thing. for a while I thought I was riding the clutch :oops: so I changed my shifting style. Actually tried 'mashing de clutch with meh toe nail and all' LOL

Then I spoke with a friend at LSM and he said it's nothing to worry about. Once you're running hard, you'll get the smell and just about all the demo cars have the same smell. (something about the coating on the exhaust)

It's kind of embarrsing though when someone else gets into the car after a 'spirited drive' because somebody could really think that yuh let one rip in de car lol.

Posted: August 16th, 2010, 8:09 pm
by Alpha_2nr
^^x2 I got the same thing. It's an underbody coating near the exhaust.

Another theory is that it comes from the cat converters getting heated up at higher EGT's on the start of a spirited drive.

someboy else is experiencing the same thing. for a while I thought I was riding the clutch

It's probably near impossible to "ride" the clutch with a clutch pedal that is as high/trucklike/fail like the stock clutch pedal.

You should really invest in the suzukisport short travel clutch pedal...seeing that you do have those Miller-driving-genes and all ;)

Posted: August 18th, 2010, 8:51 pm
by rado
EarthQuake wrote:this is my problem. Its a problem that i have only now start experiencing

....... Like a pumm smell, lol.

I love the discription!!!!

Anyway, you're smelling the front mounted catalytic converter. Under high RPM the SSS gets quite rich and the CAT has a bit more work to do. This is inevetable. LOL

Mine stopped when I changed out the original manifold for my headders, and the fact that V still get the smell, means that it doh go away after a while. Truth be told, I feel most folks just get accustomed to it, or just turn off the AC when u mashin GYASS!

Posted: August 19th, 2010, 1:56 am
by NLVA200
Could someone please explain this to my girlfriend? :lol:

Febreeze FTW 8-)

Posted: August 19th, 2010, 4:31 am
by Alpha_2nr
I love the discription!!!!

Anyway, you're smelling the front mounted catalytic converter. Under high RPM the SSS gets quite rich and the CAT has a bit more work to do. This is inevetable. LOL

Coming to think of it....you're right.

I noticed the same thing when I mounted back the stock downpipe(dual cats) on the WRX......for the first few seconds of heavy throttle application, you'd get that smell like I used to in the SSS.

Posted: August 19th, 2010, 8:22 am
by vtmiller11
I really need to get my son to read this thread. He used to look at me with abject scorn because 'mummy cyar handle de clutch' LOL