SSS bumpy ride

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

avr101

SSS bumpy ride

Postby avr101 » June 14th, 2010, 8:43 am

Guys I just collected my SSS last week, and i notice that the ride is a little too bumpy, I was expecting a firm ride because of the stiffer supension but it is much more firmer than expected. It could be beacuse of the stiffer sidewalls on the runflats, or the tyre preassure. How is the ride on your guys SSS?

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Re: SSS bumpy ride

Postby Big Z » June 14th, 2010, 10:41 am

Its a stiff suspension and the wheelbase is short. You are totally screwed on the ride quality department.
And those Dunlop Maxx tires are not run flat. I pretty sure the tire pressure u have is under 30 PSI.

jm3

Postby jm3 » June 14th, 2010, 11:22 am

the 1.5 swift is for people that wanted a more comfortable ride the sss is geared more towards enthusiastic drivers.

avr101

Postby avr101 » June 14th, 2010, 11:30 am

it is spirted and great on the corners!!

Big Z

Postby Big Z » June 14th, 2010, 11:36 am

The car is tuned for lift off oversteer, so expect it when youre cornering.
The back of the car will pass you if you arent careful.

http://autozine.org/Archive/Suzuki/new/Swift.html#Sport

Postby pete » June 14th, 2010, 12:29 pm

*sniff* I want SSS springs and shocks on my 1.5 :(

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » June 14th, 2010, 12:40 pm

you should consider yourself lucky....if u feel how my car rides on tein springs.....horrendous

Big Z

Postby Big Z » June 14th, 2010, 12:47 pm

Pete, Get the brakes one time. lol.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » June 14th, 2010, 4:49 pm

so i en see ur yest big Z....i reach from foreign

Big Z

Postby Big Z » June 14th, 2010, 5:54 pm

Lols.. i pull in when Rado pull out. (That ent sound right!)
Called him and chat for a few... Figured it didnt make sense sticking around.
Went back home. lol.

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » June 14th, 2010, 8:19 pm

I was there 8-)

Thanks again Chris for letting me ride in the ignis and schooling me in what to do and expect when maneuvering the course.

Ah take a chook on meh own in d end and it was a thrill. Lookin forward to learning more!

WRT the SSS stiff/bumpy ride, it's something you'll get used to and you will quickly learn to appreciate what an advantage it is and also a thrill to drive. It's what makes maracas runs much more fun without falling off the precipice :D You can play around with the tyre pressure and see what you're most comfortable with. In my experience, 27-28 psi is the best trade off, for my driving style and comfort.

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » June 14th, 2010, 8:27 pm

Get used to it!

Handles well and loves being pushed to the limit.

Take your time and get used to the car.

Have fun

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » June 14th, 2010, 9:57 pm

no problem anthony....what you think of the ignis sport??

avr101

Postby avr101 » June 15th, 2010, 8:09 am

Thanks for the info and feedback!!!!!

rado

Postby rado » June 15th, 2010, 5:25 pm

Big Z wrote:Lols.. i pull in when Rado pull out. (That ent sound right!)

:shock: :shock:

LOL!

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 15th, 2010, 8:10 pm

Guys I just collected my SSS last week, and i notice that the ride is a little too bumpy, I was expecting a firm ride because of the stiffer supension but it is much more firmer than expected. It could be beacuse of the stiffer sidewalls on the runflats, or the tyre preassure. How is the ride on your guys SSS?

Fact of life.

It's a sporty suspension geared for handling, while it sacrifices some ride comfort. The car is about performance! I actually think it rides a bit harder than even the RX8. As other folks said, if you wanted comfort, there's the 1.5 Swift available @ Lifestyle :lol: :lol:

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » June 16th, 2010, 7:04 am

chris1388 wrote:no problem anthony....what you think of the ignis sport??

I was very impressed by it man. One feels real confident, whatever command you give it. As I mentioned, the brakes seem to hold very firmly and reliably whenever you apply. You say the swift sport's own are even better, but I haven't pushed my car to that dex height yet :mrgreen:

Thanks again for the experience bro

Postby gt4tified » June 20th, 2010, 8:05 pm

Take the car for a toco run and start to break in the suspension. It will take a couple of weeks of daily driving to properly break it in. After that, the ride quality won't get much better until you beat the shite out of the shocks, which still, unless you are rallying, isn't going to happen so easily.

Return to “SUZUKI”