sss brakes problem

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

jm3

sss brakes problem

Postby jm3 » January 15th, 2010, 8:03 am

hi guys this morning driving to work my brakes appear to have worn completely out on the front,
how this has happened so fast i dont know im only at 8k km,
also i had been getting the brake warning light occassionally under acceleration. so my first question is who can get pads for the sss and how much. im gonna call LM today to see what the hell is going on with the car ive never had a car go through pads that fast.

Re: sss brakes problem

Postby Ignorant Ignis » January 15th, 2010, 8:29 am

jm3 wrote:hi guys this morning driving to work my brakes appear to have worn completely out on the front,
also i had been getting the brake warning light occassionally under acceleration. so my first question is who can get pads for the sss and how much. im gonna call LM today to see what the hell is going on with the car ive never had a car go through pads that fast.

no clue how that happened .... but the front pads are 900.00+

time for a upgrade :twisted:

jm3

Postby jm3 » January 15th, 2010, 8:33 am

LM just quoted $805 anyone know of any body stocking 3rd party pads upgrade or the same

Postby Ignorant Ignis » January 15th, 2010, 8:43 am

oem is rated as one of the best pads for the SSS.

lots of other top name brands available out of japan and the UK.

i am using EBC pads with EBC rotors and that works well for me.

will cost you around 2k for both

jm3

Postby jm3 » January 15th, 2010, 8:50 am

guess ill just get stock pads lol they do work well but if 8k is there life thats crazyness i need to do a service on the car aswell this thing is getting expensive always something atm i h8 january

Postby Ignorant Ignis » January 15th, 2010, 8:53 am

oem pads should last a hell of a lot longer than that

some where around the 50k+ mark :|

Mazdout

Postby Mazdout » January 15th, 2010, 9:10 am

The pads are too hard for the disc due to the new EU regulations about the use of asbestos. Asbestos fibers are long, thin and extremely small. Exposed fibers easily shred into thin needle like strands that can drift in the air and be inhaled. The size of the fibers are such that they are not easily filtered out by the mucus linings in the nose and lungs. Hence, the fibers lodge deep in the lungs where their sharp needle like presence becomes a source of constant irritation. To make matters worse, the human body cannot rid itself of these fibers because they are impervious to biochemical assault. So over time, exposure to asbestos dust may result in lung disease or cancer. Did you hear any squeaking or grinding? After-mart parts works better than stock in this case for the Swift. Suzuki's stock brake pads do tend to live a short life span than normal. The price we pay to have a greener earth. That's the Suzuki - Way of life!
Last edited by Mazdout on January 15th, 2010, 9:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

jm3

Postby jm3 » January 15th, 2010, 9:35 am

they were squeaking from monday to weds then went away thursday and now this morning in my normal daily diego martin traffic run they started grinding i just cant believe they done in 8k

Mazdout

Postby Mazdout » January 15th, 2010, 9:43 am

Yup! there gone alright....... If u had just a bit more warning u may have ordered an upgrade version... well perhaps next 8-15k, last thing you wanna do is damage your spankin new rotors 8-)

jm3

Postby jm3 » January 15th, 2010, 9:55 am

guess ill try and get em this weekend :?

Swifted

Postby Swifted » January 15th, 2010, 10:34 am

Swift GTi front pads last time i checked LM are $1100... count yourselves lucky, lol!

I totally agree about the best performance pads for most cars are the OEM replacement.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » January 15th, 2010, 11:46 am

Thats insane man jm3, i really don't understand that. My friend has a black swift sport and his pads needed changing after like 20k kms. My ignis sport has been on the pads its came on foreign used for the past 2 years and 15000kms, and those are not even OEM pads. The OEM pads are supposed to be the best, you should really get it checked out, because i also remember you telling me about the brake light coming on. Perhaps there was a fault in the braking system and the brakes may have been binding?? Then that would explain it wearing so quickly.

vtmiller11

Postby vtmiller11 » January 15th, 2010, 12:50 pm

That is not normal I just hit 22000km and I'm changing my pads for the first time next week..... take it back to LSM.

silva7

Postby silva7 » January 15th, 2010, 2:14 pm

You all are using to much brakes, I'm at 33000 and haven't changed 1 set of pads yet.
:?

NLVA200

Re: sss brakes problem

Postby NLVA200 » January 15th, 2010, 4:02 pm

jm3 wrote:hi guys this morning driving to work my brakes appear to have worn completely out on the front,

that's insane. i've reached 13K. no noticeable sign of brake wear. something's certainly wrong!

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » January 15th, 2010, 6:17 pm

Depends on your driving style.

I'm sure it gets a hell of a lot of spirited drives. :evil:

I think i'm due to change soon and i'm doing less mileage than you.

Mitsu power

Postby Mitsu power » January 15th, 2010, 6:41 pm

guys trinidad brakes and clutch have the brakes for 200 bucks it think!!! .. Oh that happens to my ss its your rear brakes not grabing much so the front work harder .. shocked me too how fast they wear .. just get your back brakes adjusted.. or do it yourself tear up the center consol and tighten the bolt by the hand brake (e-brake) not to tight or the back brake will be on ,it should give you tension by about 2-4 clicks .. I like mine at 2 clicks :twisted:

Postby Ignorant Ignis » January 15th, 2010, 11:24 pm

BLUE_CP9A wrote:Depends on your driving style.

I'm sure it gets a hell of a lot of spirited drives. :evil:

I think i'm due to change soon and i'm doing less mileage than you.

nope ..... something is wrong ... i have solodexed my car less than 2 days out of the showroom and only changed pads 4 times after 106,000km

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 16th, 2010, 5:41 am

hi guys this morning driving to work my brakes appear to have worn completely out on the front,

Something doesn't sound right.

First off....what's the "warning" light that you're getting? The handbrake light? The "ESP" light? Which one?

Also, if your pads are down for the count on the SSS, you should hear a mild squeak on firm brake pedal application, as the wear indicator would com into play.

:?

Why not just pull off one wheel, and take a look at the pads for yourself, and see whether they're done or not (which I simply find hard to believe BTW)......

they were squeaking from monday to weds then went away thursday and now this morning in my normal daily diego martin traffic run they started grinding i just cant believe they done in 8k

Why not just verify whether your wear indicator hasn't been misaligned/moved in some way....such that it causes that squeaking sound during driving etc, ALTHOUGH the pads aren't done? I've had that happen to me in another car already :idea:

uestion is who can get pads for the sss and how much. im gonna call LM today to see what the hell is going on with the car ive never had a car go through pads that fast.

Will LM void your "warranty" for using nothing but OEM brake pads? Besides, the OE pads give the best combination of stopping power while minimizing dust generation. My brake pads went strong right through to 27000 km.....and from curosry inspection, they had at least 1/3 life remaining.

Psychomatrix

Postby Psychomatrix » January 18th, 2010, 4:04 pm

i can attest to what knight is saying in his last paragraph i am chris1388 friend with the black swift and the only reason i had to change so fast is because the damn dog was peeing on my wheels this take an enormous tool on brakes and rims.
but other than that i would have still been going strong on my original pads.
i had a lillte more than 1/3 life on the front pads that were good that was not eaten away from the urine.

my only complaint with the brakes is that the rear does not hold as strong as i would like and i have to keep re adjusting my hand brakes very regularly as i have cause to use them frequently. my gf lives on a hill so i chuck the wheels but i still pull them up.
they look about half life now and i'm at 34000 km

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » January 18th, 2010, 6:40 pm

hmmm JM3 i don't know what to say but I'm thinking I'm in the same boat as you.

Probably our cars sat there too long, I did confirm my car was manufactured March 2008, yours is probably the same

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 18th, 2010, 7:46 pm

my only complaint with the brakes is that the rear does not hold as strong as i would like and i have to keep re adjusting my hand brakes very regularly as i have cause to use them frequently. my gf lives on a hill so i chuck the wheels but i still pull them up

ENT!!!! THose handbrakes hardly ever held on any sort of gradient. I could be wrong, but I think that's due to the fact that the SSS 's handbrake cable actuates the disc pads to function as the e-brake, rather than having a separate "handbrake shoe" assembly (some 4-wheel disc cars have a mini "shoe/drum" assembly just like avg-joe drum brakes, that fits under/behind the rear rotors). I don't recall seeing that setup on the SSS.......

Wheel chuck and leaving car in gear FTW yes :lol:

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » January 18th, 2010, 8:30 pm

^^thats strange....never encountered that problem in the ignis sport

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » January 18th, 2010, 8:40 pm

Knight1 wrote:
my only complaint with the brakes is that the rear does not hold as strong as i would like and i have to keep re adjusting my hand brakes very regularly as i have cause to use them frequently. my gf lives on a hill so i chuck the wheels but i still pull them up

ENT!!!! THose handbrakes hardly ever held on any sort of gradient. I could be wrong, but I think that's due to the fact that the SSS 's handbrake cable actuates the disc pads to function as the e-brake, rather than having a separate "handbrake shoe" assembly (some 4-wheel disc cars have a mini "shoe/drum" assembly just like avg-joe drum brakes, that fits under/behind the rear rotors). I don't recall seeing that setup on the SSS.......

Wheel chuck and leaving car in gear FTW yes :lol:

You're correct, handbrake actuates the disc pads, no drum setup behind the discs

Postby pete » January 18th, 2010, 8:42 pm

The ignis sport is a lot lighter. My swift gti never had much problems on hills actually worked better than the SS handbrakes (drums). Depends what you classify a "hill" as though. My hill is a bit extreme..

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 18th, 2010, 8:49 pm

chris1388 wrote:^^thats strange....never encountered that problem in the ignis sport

Well it's a different car for starters.............. :lol: :lol:

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » January 18th, 2010, 9:09 pm

^^^well sorry na

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » January 18th, 2010, 9:17 pm

jm3

Postby jm3 » January 23rd, 2010, 8:50 pm

well i had my pads and rotors changed by lm today hopefully these will last longer. ty lm ppl :)

jm3

Postby jm3 » January 23rd, 2010, 8:52 pm

btw how long does it take to bed in new pads? as dex is days away

Return to “SUZUKI”