Page 1 of 2

New model Jimny manual to Auto conversion

Posted: December 27th, 2009, 12:57 pm
by AllTrac
Fellas, the new model Jimny, like the 2005 ones with the M13A engine, im getting a manual one for a good price, i want to grab it up but I would rather it auto since i spend most of my day in traffic, what does this conversion involve? is the 4wd transfercase separate like the older model jimny? would i need a auto ecu? advise please

Posted: December 27th, 2009, 1:45 pm
by Ignorant Ignis
there are 2 "new" models...it depends on which one u speaking about ...

one is push button 4wd ...the other has the shifter....

if its the shifter u can do the conversion with ease .....

the other i have no clue about

Posted: December 27th, 2009, 5:01 pm
by 3stagevtec
sweet ride you're getting there!

Posted: December 28th, 2009, 1:02 am
by aidan
keep it manual nah! buh i think most from 05-now is the ghey push button 4wd,

My buddy has one, and is push button, and the T-case inline, not separate.But that's a f. used 07.

Posted: December 29th, 2009, 7:22 am
by droppa
u cud check annand in chase village, he has alot of parts and is very helpful, i buy all my parts there......he mite even be able to do a swap for u... :roll:

Posted: December 29th, 2009, 9:51 am
by AllTrac
thanks fellas, droppa, more info on anand? directions? contact? is he a mech or a dealer?

Posted: December 29th, 2009, 1:03 pm
by droppa
his number is 785-6793, he is located in chase village by the Y, just b4 St. Marys jct heading south.

u must see the jimny old and new parts signs..theres a service bay, roti shop, tyre shop and straightening garage on the same compound.

he is a dealer for sure, mech i not too sure, buh a jimny is real simple to work on, lots of room space...

call him he will advise u and i said the guy and his workers real cool and helpful..

Posted: December 29th, 2009, 1:49 pm
by 3stagevtec
droppa wrote:his number is 785-6793, he is located in chase village by the Y, just b4 St. Marys jct heading south.

u must see the jimny old and new parts signs..theres a service bay, roti shop, tyre shop and straightening garage on the same compound.

he is a dealer for sure, mech i not too sure, buh a jimny is real simple to work on, lots of room space...

call him he will advise u and i said the guy and his workers real cool and helpful..

SWEET!!! the guy has some rare Vitara parts i've been looking for a LONG while now :D :D :D

thanks for the info! and yes, he is pretty helpful..

Posted: December 30th, 2009, 6:56 am
by droppa
trac last time i was by him, he had a few engines lying around, he had a jimny with the 1.3 auto, but i think he was selling that van whole....i would of look to jump in on that eh, but 2010 i on a different route...... :twisted:

Posted: December 30th, 2009, 10:52 am
by AllTrac
droppa, excellent, thanks

Posted: December 30th, 2009, 1:48 pm
by aidan
droppa wrote:his number is 785-6793, he is located in chase village by the Y, just b4 St. Marys jct heading south.

oh yea. he is carspot on the forums. got some hard to find parts for a samurai there!good prices too.

Posted: December 30th, 2009, 1:53 pm
by jm3
anand is meant to be pretty good i was given his info a few years ago on another project so if you go on refferals alone he seems like the guy to get lol

Posted: January 23rd, 2010, 10:18 pm
by Jon_One
i have a manual 2001 jimny .. want to convert to auto.. it has the gear type 4wd anyone has any idea on cost?

Posted: January 24th, 2010, 2:38 am
by aidan
^^not offhand. but it will be cheaper to do than the push button ones, cuz the T-case setup is different, and the transmission less complicated. PM carspot on the forum and see if he has parts that u need, a good mechanic should be able to have u up and running in no time!

Posted: January 25th, 2010, 12:51 am
by gt4tified
aidan wrote:keep it manual nah! buh i think most from 05-now is the ghey push button 4wd,

My buddy has one, and is push button, and the T-case inline, not separate.But that's a f. used 07.

What so ghey about it? I find its very practical for a woman to drive. Why blame Suzuki for keeping up with the times and understanding the buyers market?

You all quick to knock something but don't think b4 your fingers hit the keyboard man. :?

Posted: January 25th, 2010, 1:28 am
by aidan
gt4tified wrote:
aidan wrote:keep it manual nah! buh i think most from 05-now is the ghey push button 4wd,

What so ghey about it? I find its very practical for a woman to drive. Why blame Suzuki for keeping up with the times and understanding the buyers market?

You all quick to knock something but don't think b4 your fingers hit the keyboard man. :?

gt4tified, i'm sorry but that's just my opinion.

but those electrical engaged systems not as tough as the manually engaged ones, especially if the vehicle is made for bad terrains. And coming from suzuki i think they messed up by doing that,since they have a name for building real 4wds,and the Jimny was the last set of real small 4x4's (body bolted onto ladder frame chassis & solid axles) still being made in its class.

Alot of newer 4x4's that are 'in the times' that are 4x4's still have a lever activated transfer case, such as the Land Rover Defender 90 &110, 2010 Toyota 4runner, Nissan patrol, Suzuki Maruti Gypsy (2009-present still made new in India) Toyota Land Cruiser(70) & FJ cruiser just to name a few.

Posted: January 25th, 2010, 8:49 am
by droppa
the electronic 4wd systems are cool and keeping with the times, and alot easier to operate...real ppl does ketch hell with manual 4wd systems, one of my padnas recently pulling me with my jeep, so i tell him take off the 4wd, the man built a sweat trying to disengage the drive.....

once i engage a 4wd in a samurai in bago,and it get stuck in 4L, i drive for few hrs on 4L till i call i zuki bredren in trini and he explain how to unstick the gear.,...

so the E-4wd systems are very decent.......

IMHO the new jimnys, like JB23 onwards, start getting soft and feminine....

Posted: January 25th, 2010, 7:06 pm
by aidan
^^ditto the newer the jimnys, the more less tough they getting.i still like them though lol. Suzuki FTW.

nothing wrong with the E-4WD just, not as rugged as the manual. Suppose you in the wilderness and drive through some water or a river, and a fuse blow, or a relay or the transfer shift actuator motor dies.....

Posted: January 26th, 2010, 1:02 am
by gt4tified
aidan, I hear ya but you are not getting my point.

The Jimny was never designed in stock form for serious off-roading, unlike the other vehicles you mentioned in your previous post...you can't comparing a stock Jimny to Land Rovers, Land Cruisers etc is like comparing my Celica to a WRC Celica...they may look similar in terms of capability etc but designed for two entirely different purposes.

Its just that ppl here (as with everything else when we humans get bored) started modifying the Jimny's (older models) to take on off-road terrain and they started getting support after a while from the aftermarket sector.

As far as the statement of "getting soft and feminine" etc. where is your data to back that statement? Do either of you own a new model e-4wd one and have you owned the older model mechanical 4wd one and done any comparison tests?

I have owned two Jimnys both mechanical 4wd; one auto and one manual, the latter with the lock-up differential etc. and God spare life and willing, I will soon have the new one from Lifestyle....I have already spoken to Narend from Zorce about us doing some testing and a review for the next issue.

Until then, kindly hold all 3rd party comments please. :|

Posted: January 26th, 2010, 12:45 pm
by droppa
let me ask u a question boi ralph,

if and when u buy your new jimny, or newer jimny, will you be doing and off roading, i eh talkin bout the cane road and thing eh, ah talking bout serious off-roading, like with TTORC or Trailblazers... :?:

i currently own a old model jimny, and i bout it for 1 reason

ah wanted something that could take jamming, on any road surface, and so far she has not failed me, from being on 2 wheels in a canal, to driving to pos and back daily....

ask any serious off-roader, or even off road enthu first thing they tell u is dont but jimny with coil spring and auto lock hubs if yuh wanna go in the mud and play dirty, if yuh want comfort and smooth ride, they get coils...

Posted: January 26th, 2010, 3:32 pm
by aidan
gt4tified, fyi i owned 3 suzuki 4wds before. built one jimny myself with my dad, also a 96 escudo sport, and drive an e-4wd jimny very often.i know the difference.

new e-4wd jimny softer than the older "new model mechanical" (1998-05), which is still as good as the old ones.

I agree with you by
The Jimny was never designed in stock form for serious off-roading,

never said it was. nor the others.

Posted: January 26th, 2010, 5:18 pm
by gt4tified
aidan wrote:gt4tified, fyi i owned 3 suzuki 4wds before. built one jimny myself with my dad, also a 96 escudo sport, and drive an e-4wd jimny very often.i know the difference.

new e-4wd jimny softer than the older "new model mechanical" (1998-05), which is still as good as the old ones.

I agree with you by
The Jimny was never designed in stock form for serious off-roading,

never said it was. nor the others.

Now this is the kind of educated response I like to hear. I'm very glad you have 1st hand experience and you beat me to the comparison :oops:

In any event (and to respond to droppa) the Jimny I'm purchasing is really for me as a daily driver and to take the family to maracas, buy lil groceries etc. so NO it will not be doing any SERIOUS off-roading (although I do intend on climbing some hills and driving on the beach) and I did not know by "soft and feminine" you were referring to off-roading under Trailblazers and dem conditions.

HOWEVER, lemme ask you this droppa, is your daily driven Jimny COMPLETELY STOCK or are there any modifications to make off-roading an easier, safer and more fun affair.

Answer me that ^^^ and I'll hope you understand where I'm coming from.

Posted: January 26th, 2010, 8:38 pm
by aidan
gt4tified,no probs man. i don't say sumtin unless i can back it up. And i not hitting the e-4wd system because i don't have it, even my Hilux Surf, which supposed to be big and tough have a ghey push button to engage the 4wd, but a lever to change range. IMO Toyota could have done better there, but I accept the fact, and use it how it's supposed to be used, and don't abuse.

But with the marketing, suzuki makes it look as though the Jimny could take on some tough conditions, which they were probably built to, that's probably why the Gypsy (LWB Samurai) still produced in India. But is marketing :lol:

But there are some parts of the world where their roads, are actually tracks and stuff cut into the earth, or where the Eskimos is live :lol: . IMO a stock 4x4 should be able to handle some bad conditions too, not jus tarmac.

Posted: January 27th, 2010, 12:11 am
by gt4tified
And are you saying that the new model e-4wd CANNOT handle dirt tracks and bad roads?

I understand when comparing them to the Jimny's that make off-road, drive-down-in-river-and-come-up, mud-hog terrain, but surely the new Jimnys can handle dirt tracks etc. :?:

Posted: January 27th, 2010, 12:53 am
by aidan
^Nah that statement i made was for 4WD's in general. That all 4WD's should be able to handle trails etc.

Yea, they (E4wd jimny) can definitely handle tough terrains,if not it won't be suzuk!!i. And they still built with a chassis and body bolt on. I took my cuz stock 5fwd E-4WD jimny up in a quarry recently and it performed nicely,handled everything that an everyday driver will not throw at it everyday lol. I didn't try climbing very steep muddy hills, cuz the t-case area not amoured and it's not my vehicle too, but it will take on stuff other small suv's will run away from. However, i did run on the road the trucks bring out the gravel on, and it worked well (i believe that it simulated poor road terrains in developing countries). The 4L is also pretty good, will get you out of some sticky situations. There is some drivetrain noise when the 4WD is on though, not much, but its there.

But i don't think you doing that everyday. But if you are in that case the manual 4WD>E4WD, in terms of durability, etc.

Posted: January 27th, 2010, 6:06 am
by gt4tified
Cool. :)

Posted: January 27th, 2010, 9:34 am
by droppa
hoss my van stock as i bought it, 185/70 A/T tires, KYB adjustable shocks, and factory LSD.......thas what it came with as the wild wind package......

dont get me wrong dan, sometime i wish my van had e-4wd and auto locking hubs, like when rain falling, or when i hit some mud and start skidding.....

the jimny i had set out to buy originally, was the turbo jimny from dream carz, but the vans condition was not so tops, and recently i was even contemplating buying one from annand, that was 1.3 efi a/t, i think was e-4wd too, now i loong for a surf, and thats e-4wd....

dont get no horrors dan, i like the new jimnys too....would of eventually gotten one of them, and built my wild wind as a mudslinger...

Posted: January 27th, 2010, 9:47 am
by droppa

i like this.....

Posted: January 27th, 2010, 2:33 pm
by gt4tified
cute. :oops:

Proper bush bar w/winch and ah snorkel will make it ftw! BTW, stay away from dem 3cylinder tobo engine ones.....ketch arse for engine parts esp. turbo.

Posted: January 28th, 2010, 12:00 am
by aidan
gt4tified,yuh dam right with that. I had bad exp with a 3cyl. dam tobobo.

droppa,i see one of those on the highway!it looked real nice, had brush bars and a winch though.but i think it was a 1300cc cuz it had no scoop. plates was PCC 19sumtin. Bess ride there. I think the submodel for that is Land Venture or sumtin so ent?