need brake pads

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

Psychomatrix

need brake pads

Postby Psychomatrix » September 22nd, 2009, 9:05 pm

ok so here is the million dollar question does anyone know where i can get front brake pads for the 2007 swift sport?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 22nd, 2009, 10:03 pm

Guessing the OE pads are pretty expensive? (Well....I remember a co-worker telling me the GTi pads used to be major $$$ back in the day :? :? )

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 22nd, 2009, 10:43 pm

PM Ignorant Ignis, he mentioned the EBC brand ex UK in a previous thread.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » September 22nd, 2009, 11:14 pm

Your pads done already CV?? :lol: you rel wuk dem brakes boy....check amir the EBC ones are cheaper but i dunno by the time you pay to bring them in you mite as well just buy the OEM ones, unless you know someone going england then you all set.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 23rd, 2009, 12:32 am

They're available in the US too:

http://www.ebcbrakes.com/

Postby Ignorant Ignis » September 23rd, 2009, 8:12 am

norstar2k wrote:They're available in the US too:

http://www.ebcbrakes.com/

eh?

green stuff pads work out around the same price as oem

ebc oem replacement pads i have been told aren't as good as the oem but much cheaper.

much less brake dust from the EBC though

Postby Ignorant Ignis » September 23rd, 2009, 8:27 am

works out to around 900.00 landed from ebc direct ......

so you better of with the OEM from lifestyle at that price unless you know someone coming from the UK

Postby Dave » September 23rd, 2009, 1:46 pm

gimme your frame number and i can get some good ceramic pads for you for much less than that 900 price

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Re: need brake pads

Postby Big Z » September 26th, 2011, 11:30 am

So what are our other options for brake pads?

I called around and Bosch and Wagner are available. ~$150 for the front
Anything else?

spanglish1

Postby spanglish1 » September 29th, 2011, 8:58 pm

its $585 in the firm last time checked. that's a fair price to pay.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » September 30th, 2011, 12:52 pm

hmmm weird...the ignis sport pads wer 700$ last time i bought at LSM. I would suggest staying with the OEM pads...they are pretty good. Larry....the guy with the next ignis sport ran his car at the san fernando grand prix and the stock rotors and pads didn't even start to fade.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » September 30th, 2011, 3:03 pm

10 hot laps back in the wallerfield days and mine never faded ....

but the 'blue' ignis pads are much better than oem swift sport pads

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » September 30th, 2011, 5:28 pm

they not coming blue again u knw amir...the last set i bought was normal black...same part # tho

DEVI

Postby DEVI » September 30th, 2011, 6:42 pm

a set of OEM SSS pads at lifestyle is about $500...i bought a month ago and yes the SSS works on the 1.5 and are cheaper than the OEm 1.5 pads :)

Big Z

Postby Big Z » September 30th, 2011, 8:02 pm

Lifestyle Sando quoted me 585 +VAT for the Swift and 1400 +VAT for the Sport...
Think I should call Barataria..
Thanks guys.

Big Z

Postby Big Z » October 1st, 2011, 7:08 pm

So I decided to try the OHK pads(~$120).
Compared to the stock SSS pad, they have a much higher cold coefficient of friction.
In other words, when the OHK pads are cold, they hold better than the OEM SSS pads.
Havent tested the hot braking, but will update when I do.

And for those wondering, I will go to OEM pads if these OHK dont cut it for the hot braking.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » October 1st, 2011, 7:49 pm

^^ i think you might want to compare the performance when they hot tho lol...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 9th, 2011, 10:29 am

OEM for liana is like over $700!!!

swift guys coming out good at $585...

spanglish1

Postby spanglish1 » October 9th, 2011, 8:07 pm

went ls thursday in south and its $563.00.Z dont think them OHK gonna hold up on hot braking!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 9th, 2011, 8:25 pm

wonder if them fellas givin me a wrong price in north??

Big Z

Postby Big Z » October 14th, 2011, 1:58 pm

Big Z wrote:So I decided to try the OHK pads(~$120).
Compared to the stock SSS pad, they have a much higher cold coefficient of friction.
In other words, when the OHK pads are cold, they hold better than the OEM SSS pads.

And for those wondering, I will go to OEM pads if these OHK dont cut it for the hot braking.

Update:

Quite happy with the performance of these pads thus far, in both aggressive and non-aggressive driving.

They will be staying!
If only my tyres were this good :(

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 14th, 2011, 2:13 pm

so u saved alot of cash with the OHK plus u claim they worked well....hmmm....have me wondering there bro....

so what bout the tyres bro.....gimme the location of those kumhos nah.....

Big Z

Postby Big Z » October 14th, 2011, 2:15 pm

Try Laughlin or Mileage Mack for Kumho tyres.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 14th, 2011, 2:20 pm

yeah tried already...they outta stock...

Big Z

Postby Big Z » October 22nd, 2012, 9:15 pm

Big Z wrote:

Update:

Quite happy with the performance of these pads thus far, in both aggressive and non-aggressive driving.

They will be staying!

Well, here's the final update on the OHK pads. (Stock pad = original SSS pad)

1. They squeak!! If you wash your car regularly, this wont be an issue.
2. Cold coefficient of friction is higher than the stock pad. It really grabs.
3. After some spirited driving, as the pad warms up, performance is about equivalent to the stock pad.
4. After super aggressive driving, pads fade lots... definitely not there with the stock pad. Brake fade in Maracas = not cool.
Lifetime was one year exact. About 23k km. Stock pad did 47k km, twice the OHK lifetime.

Verdict:

Good replacement pad for most situations. Not recommended for track use.

Stay tuned for the next review.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » October 25th, 2012, 8:30 am

Big Z wrote:

Update:

They will be staying!

Well, here's the final update on the OHK pads. (Stock pad = original SSS pad)

1. They squeak!! If you wash your car regularly, this wont be an issue.
2. Cold coefficient of friction is higher than the stock pad. It really grabs.
3. After some spirited driving, as the pad warms up, performance is about equivalent to the stock pad.
4. After super aggressive driving, pads fade lots... definitely not there with the stock pad. Brake fade in Maracas = not cool.
Lifetime was one year exact. About 23k km. Stock pad did 47k km, twice the OHK lifetime.

Verdict:

Good replacement pad for most situations. Not recommended for track use.

Stay tuned for the next review.

this is what i expected...good review

Big Z

Postby Big Z » October 25th, 2012, 9:49 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:this is what i expected...good review

Thanks!

Return to “SUZUKI”