Lifestyle Service Dept

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

Limerboy

Lifestyle Service Dept

Postby Limerboy » July 3rd, 2009, 3:56 pm

Sup all just thought id get some opinions from you guys from the service dept today. I went for the 15k service and bought 6qts of oil (Mobil 1) when i got back to my car it had only a half quart of oil remaining, meaning they used 5.5 qts for an oil change in my car. Does anyone else find this weird? Or did i have a right to in form the service managaer and eventually get a qt of oil for my next service... Mind you the guy that did the service said he use 3/4 of a qt to flush de system (which i find totally ridiculous)

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » July 3rd, 2009, 8:41 pm

First off you should have never bought and carried so much oil, the car only needs 4 and a little bit again. That flush ting they did is not required and dont make a difference really, basically they just wasted your expensive mobil.

Next time, do your research and know how much oil the car needs, and just take that. The gearbox might need 2 quarts and a little bit

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » July 3rd, 2009, 10:03 pm

Mind you the guy that did the service said he use 3/4 of a qt to flush de system (which i find totally ridiculous)

So wait....lemme get this right....they used 3/4 qt to "flush" ( :lol: ) the engine...which normally takes about 4 times as much to fill...... (at only 15K mileage to boot...using 30W oil too I'm sure eh..... :lol: ).

Even more hilarious.

First off you should have never bought and carried so much oil, the car only needs 4 and a little bit again

WHY??! Shouldn't they be responsible enough to give him back the unused oil? Says alot...doesn't it?

Next time, do your research and know how much oil the car needs, and just take that. The gearbox might need 2 quarts and a little bit

A touch over 2 qts. I hope for his sake they don't use a GL5 oil in there :shock:
Last edited by Alpha_2nr on July 3rd, 2009, 10:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » July 3rd, 2009, 10:29 pm

Yea its GL4 spec you have to use in the gearbox, and u ask why he should not have done that knight1???

Well the reason he made this post is the answer to that question. I doh even go by lifestyle and i coulda tell you they would have done some crap like that even before he went by them.

Recall knight1 it is trinidad we living in :!: that alone will answer your question to if they will be responsible enough to give him back the unused oil :lol:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » July 3rd, 2009, 11:03 pm

^^:lol: My post went right over your head.....didn't it? :lol:

Re read my post.......

......and you'll see that we're both saying the same thing ;) (Just I didn't spell it out like you did)

DUH :roll:

Recall knight1 it is trinidad we living in

THIS, on the other hand, I don't agree with. There ARE honest and responsible mechanics in Trinidad, some that I can personally attest to (with other cars I've owned)....a few (1 or 2) are on this forum actually.

A hint to the wise perhaps....... (or should I spell out what I'm trying to say here too, chris1388?)

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » July 4th, 2009, 10:29 am

^^ OK Kool

Limerboy

Postby Limerboy » July 4th, 2009, 4:30 pm

i know how much oil my car uses as i carried 5 qts the first time i went in, i had the box with 6 in the car and expected them to be honest, i guess that's too much to ask in trinidad. The guy ask me"what i go do with a qt of oil?". They feel everybody dotish or what?

RuMS

Postby RuMS » July 8th, 2009, 8:18 am

can u point me to a good mechanic............
i hv a 02' GV needs a tune up..........
:arrow:

Psychomatrix

Postby Psychomatrix » July 28th, 2009, 11:37 am

i have had a similar experience with them and carrying my own oil.

i carried like limerboy 5 quarts knowing they need 4 and a little more to fill.
i got back my car with all 5 empty so i checked my dip stick and found the oil way overfilled

i complained and they took it back inside to drain off the excess needless to say i was pissed at them wasting my oil.

i was so angry i left once i got the car back. went to work but my mind was still nagging me to check my oil. so after about an hour or two when the engine cooled off a bit and the oil settled i check it and it was now half way filled.

since then i do my own service which i could have done from the start but i was trying to do the right thing and carry my car for service.

by the way the only thing i cant do is check my computer anyone know anywhere i can carry it to do that?

Swifted

Postby Swifted » July 29th, 2009, 7:22 pm

What's wrong with the computer? or are you just looking for a scan?

Psychomatrix

Postby Psychomatrix » July 30th, 2009, 2:28 pm

nothing wrong just looking for a scan

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 31st, 2009, 9:35 pm

So limerboy - how much did that service cost you?

I have to take in a car soon to service there for the 15k as well

I am bracing myself for a huge bill although I know that the car is new and does not need much servicing at all..........

I had a print out about what they do for each service but misplaced it......

Gimme an idea about the cost so I will start saving from now - the car is on 13K

Thanks

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » August 7th, 2009, 6:34 am

^^so did you ever do the 15K service?

Limerboy

Postby Limerboy » September 28th, 2009, 4:04 pm

15k service cost about 1200

Postby Kenjo » September 28th, 2009, 5:35 pm

Did it take like a one month notice for the appointment for each service you have had by them so far?

Swifted

Postby Swifted » September 28th, 2009, 8:05 pm

Limerboy wrote:15k service cost about 1200

labor alone? or parts included??

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 28th, 2009, 9:38 pm

Kenjo wrote:Did it take like a one month notice for the appointment for each service you have had by them so far?

Nope, you don't have the issue of waiting long for an appointment as is experienced by Toyota, N&M customers, etc. :D

I can call today for Saturday, no problem.

bgh

Postby bgh » September 29th, 2009, 11:22 am

lucky you... i called at the end of Aug and got wed 23 sep...

i almost miss that date, the next date would have been 26 Oct. :x

Limerboy

Postby Limerboy » September 29th, 2009, 11:53 am

had no problems with service dates thus far (i go to south branch though) that price was with my oil. They say the next service will cost about 2100 i think (thatst he upper price or whatever)

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 29th, 2009, 12:51 pm

bgh wrote:lucky you... i called at the end of Aug and got wed 23 sep...

Nah, dat strange. PM me your info for your next service and I'll fix that for you.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 29th, 2009, 12:54 pm

Limerboy wrote:had no problems with service dates thus far (i go to south branch though) that price was with my oil. They say the next service will cost about 2100 i think (thatst he upper price or whatever)

You pay the higher end of the price range for the Class 3 service only if you change disc pads.

Make sure and ask for a service chart that shows your service intervals, Classes and service descriptions.

bgh

Postby bgh » September 29th, 2009, 3:34 pm

norstar2k wrote:
bgh wrote:lucky you... i called at the end of Aug and got wed 23 sep...

Nah, dat strange. PM me your info for your next service and I'll fix that for you.

thanks star, i may hit de 15K in Jan, so any time then...

Postby Kenjo » September 29th, 2009, 3:54 pm

Well i called 2 weeks before it would have been 4 mnths since my 1km service and they gave me and appointment for the 23rd of October. How exactly do they choose those dates or was the last guy lucky someone had probably just cancelled an appointment?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 6th, 2009, 8:01 pm

got through with my 15k cost around $1400

Return to “SUZUKI”