Page 1 of 2
Swift Sport
Posted: May 4th, 2009, 11:19 am
by avr101
hey guys
i am thinking about getting a swift sport, and i have a couple questions:
1. do you think the new package with the 2 years service, is worth the extra money?
2. anyone had any problems with theirs so far?
3. does it make sense to get the automatic over manual... bear in mind i work in POS and live south
4. how do you rate lifestyle's service? do thay do a good job on ur car?
thanks
Posted: May 4th, 2009, 1:08 pm
by Dave
1. given your communte, yes it would make sense for you
2. from the little i have heard there are no major issues
3. all depends on what you want
4. lifestyle service is good, not the best but maybe the best of the worse
Posted: May 4th, 2009, 2:51 pm
by avr101
thanks for the feedback
Posted: May 4th, 2009, 4:31 pm
by Mini
i've been servicing my SGV there since new (Sept 2007) and would rate their service as damn good.
Never had any problems with scheduling, solving any complaints, and even sourcing and replacing parts in an emergency (my van was broken into and I needed a rear door glass replaced). In terms of changing any parts that aren't included in a regular service, they always call first advise you and give you the price, and then wait for your instruction (I've heard of people coming back for their vehicles by other firms and meeting "well so and and so needed changing... so yuh bill is xyz"
go with the manual... with the interchange now... traffic is a thing of the past

Posted: May 4th, 2009, 6:11 pm
by damieG82
2 friends have Swift 1.5s and they swear by the performance of the car and dealer... one is a manual btw. I've also test driven a Swift Sport manual and the gear change is one of the slickest I've ever felt. Don't agree with Mini's comments about traffic and the interchange, but despite the distance, if u hardly meet up bumper to bumper because of the times u on the road, then the manual would be fine.
Btw, the auto Sport is no faster than a manual 1.5 Swift... the economy focused gear ratios really sap the extra power, and its lack of a tiptronic feature really doesn't make them a worthwhile purchase IMO. If you going auto, save some money and get a 1.5... if manual, Sport model all d way
Posted: May 4th, 2009, 7:39 pm
by MaelstroM
^^^ I would humbly disagree with that.. i own a SS auto and i am pretty sure that the gears for the auto are well suited to the SS' powerband. If you drive the SS, I am sure you will realise that it has a lot of low end torque over comparable engines. Which makes sense why the SS has no top end power(cams??). So I can't see why having a closer ratio manual box is advantageous over the auto's ratios. That is particularly important for engines that make their peak power in a narrow band high up, ie b16,4age,etc but not really for this engine.
I would imagine that the reason for the SS manual being faster is simply due to the lower drivetrain loss of the box as opposed to the tranny. I would also be surprised that the 1.5 manual is as fast as the SS auto, but having never driven or raced one..I guess I can't say.
The moral I guess is dont overlook the SS auto. Good luck with the buy.
Posted: May 4th, 2009, 8:26 pm
by chris1388
Hey
avr101, i just want to chip in here since i noticed you will be doing a fair bit of driving. The sss is not soo good on gas i have friends with a manual and an automatic and complain about it drinking gas but trust me its worth the fun if u willing to filll the little pocket rocket up. About the transmission dilemma, just take what you want, if u able wid changing gears and the traffic an looking for a lil more performance go manual you wont be disappointed. About the auto SS vs the manual m15a swift i think the SS mite just have enough to see off a manual 1.5 not sure though, i raced a manual 1.5 swift with my ignis sport which is 1.5 as well but a whole different kettle of fish i mite add, and he couldn't keep up at all from a dead stop. I would tell you get an ignis sport

lol but they don't have anymore unless you want a fused one
Posted: May 4th, 2009, 8:43 pm
by avr101
the problem is Lifestyle not bring 1.5 manual swifts anymore... if u want a manual u have to get the sport
and yes i got a regular 8-4 job so i am in bumper to bumper all day
Posted: May 4th, 2009, 9:34 pm
by chris1388
avr101, i think i mite have something for you to think of:
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=245936
That link takes you to the classifieds someone is selling their 2007 manual swift, the ones you cant get anymore at LSM. Not sure if is a 1.5 or 1.3 though you will have to call and find out. Price not too bad at all.
Posted: May 5th, 2009, 6:22 am
by Alpha_2nr
hey guys
i am thinking about getting a swift sport, and i have a couple questions:
1. do you think the new package with the 2 years service, is worth the extra money?
2. anyone had any problems with theirs so far?
3. does it make sense to get the automatic over manual... bear in mind i work in POS and live south
4. how do you rate lifestyle's service? do thay do a good job on ur car?
thanks
1) Not really.....if you have a good mechanic.
2) Nope.
3) Auto is for kids. But I guess auto might be better for you if you work in town with lots of traffic. Me personally, I hate auto....so......
4) They're ok.....better than other dealers out there.
Btw, the auto Sport is no faster than a manual 1.5 Swift... the economy focused gear ratios really sap the extra power, and its lack of a tiptronic feature really doesn't make them a worthwhile purchase IMO.
I wouldn't say the sport auto isn't faster than a 1.5 manual.........it still would be, as for onw thing, the sport would still be lighter, and have more power.
I just can't picture driving my Sport in anything but manual.....as you have be to rev happy to make it move. The auto from what I've seen doesn't allow you to tap in to that power band opn a dime like the manual can.
If you want automatic, go with the regular swift.
If you drive the SS, I am sure you will realise that it has a lot of low end torque over comparable engines.
Uh......no? You make it sound as if the low end torque is so much greater.....it is...but not by much. It's a combination of the added power of the engine and the gearing (short final drive) which gives the SS that good low end feel on normal driving.
Posted: May 5th, 2009, 8:04 am
by avr101
thanks 4 d info
Posted: May 5th, 2009, 8:32 am
by damieG82
jus to clarify my statements on how fast a SS auto is compared to a manual 1.5, I based my comments on info straight from a Swift brochure I obtained:
1.5 GLX manual, 0-100 is 10.0 sec
1.6 Sport automatic, 0-100 is 11.7 sec
Its a similar story with the top end... SS auto tops out at 112mph, while the 1.5 manual reaches 115mph
Posted: May 5th, 2009, 8:56 am
by Alpha_2nr
^^Are you sure? The auto can't be that slow!!!! If' it's a brochure you got from Lifestyle....forget it.......they can't do anything right....and they certainly can't even market their own car properly.
Also your speeds....is that 0-100 mph or kph?
Well I can't speak for the automatic.....but........
In comparison to what you posted, the Swift SPort
5MT does a
0-60mph (just under 100 kph) in
8.5 seconds reported. Fifth gear (Tiff Needell) claimed
8.9 in his show review for a
0-62 mph. "Car" magazine also used a similar figure when comparing it against the Renaultsport Twingo.
I found this page which should clarify some of the specs.
http://www.autozine.org/html/Suzuki/Swift.html
The figures are from "Autocar" magazine....and it's as I expected:
0-60 mph for the 1.5 5MT Swift = 10.1 seconds
0-60 mph for the Swift SPort MT = 8.5 seconds
Top speed for the 1.5 Swift = 110 mph
Top speed for the Swift Sport = 125 mph.
Jeremy Clarkson supposedly also did a review, and claimed sub 9 second 0-62 times, with similar
top speed figue at 124 mph, just as I've posted:
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/drivin ... 664487.ece
A staggering difference if the figures for the auto are what you say it is.......if you ask me. (Thank goodness I have the manual

)
Posted: May 5th, 2009, 1:31 pm
by avr101
how is the gas consumption?
Posted: May 5th, 2009, 2:54 pm
by damieG82
Knight1, the brochure is for the euro market and covers all Swift models incl the 1.3 and 1.3 diesel.... and the 0-100 are in kms. 11.7secs isn't exactly that slow since most other 1.6 cars take in the region of 14 secs to hit 100... remember compared to the 90's, cars today are heavier (for more rigidity and safety), and power is slightly down for the sake of economy and emissions.
The brochure has the SS manual 0-100kms time of 8.9 secs, and top speed at 124mph (equal to 200km/h)
NB, there will be slight differences in acceleration time depending on the testing method used... 0-100kms (which is the euro standard) equals 0-62mph, versus the american standard of 0-60mph... so the 8.5/8.9 times seems about right for the different methods.
avr101, fuel consumption on a combined cycle are quoted as follows:
SS manual - 39.8 mpg
SS auto - 37.7 mpg
1.5 manual - 45.6 mpg
1.5 auto - 41.5 mpg
Posted: May 5th, 2009, 7:22 pm
by Alpha_2nr
Knight1, the brochure is for the euro market and covers all Swift models incl the 1.3 and 1.3 diesel.... and the 0-100 are in kms. 11.7secs isn't exactly that slow since most other 1.6 cars take in the region of 14 secs to hit 100... remember compared to the 90's, cars today are heavier (for more rigidity and safety), and power is slightly down for the sake of economy and emissions.
The brochure has the SS manual 0-100kms time of 8.9 secs, and top speed at 124mph (equal to 200km/h)
Still... 11.7 for the auto and 8.9 for the manual? That's crazy!!!! The difference between auto and manual is staggering
how is the gas consumption?
A little on the high side for a 1.6. The manual (at least) keeps the car in high revs most of the time, so lets say at 120 km/h on fifth gear, you're doing about 4K revs. It's not teh best for the economy, but great for response and passing.
The regular swift (1.5) should be a bit better on gas in this respect.
So far I've averaged 26 mpg combined highway and traffic driving (based on the combined average reading over a month from the on board meter).
Posted: May 5th, 2009, 10:07 pm
by pete
120 @ 4k.. thats around the same final ratio as the GTi swift.
in my 1.5 GLX I do 110 @ 3k
driving conservatively 80-100 the instantaneous fuel economy gauge reads around 20km/l
All in all the 1.5 manual is a lot of fun to drive. Suspension is a bit on the soft side but I really can't complain about the car. I love it

Posted: May 6th, 2009, 7:00 am
by Alpha_2nr
driving conservatively 80-100 the instantaneous fuel economy gauge reads around 20km/l
The best idea would be to change the settings to read average fuel consumption over your trip. I always found the "instantaneous" mode to be pretty useless.
I'm curious to see what economy the 1.5 gives.
Posted: May 6th, 2009, 8:32 am
by pete
Having played up with it I haven't been able to get an average fuel consumption on it. I think in the user manual it said it just does instantaneous.
My average fuel consumption would be 420km from $95 super..
that's roughly 12km/l or 28mpg. I hardly drive "conservatively" tho. lol
best I've gotten so far is 520km from $95 super which is around 35mpg
The *economy* is a lot greater as the 1.5 doesn't need premium tho.
Posted: May 6th, 2009, 1:03 pm
by chris1388
weyyyyy 520km, my ignis sport may only do 400km with conservative driving, and note the swift sport is worse
Posted: May 6th, 2009, 7:35 pm
by Alpha_2nr
Having played up with it I haven't been able to get an average fuel consumption on it. I think in the user manual it said it just does instantaneous.
Well, assuming the Sport and the 1.5's have the same meter, then yeah it does average as well....unless it's a recent addition or something. THe manual has the unstructions on how to do it........it involves pressing the knob continously on the side of the meter with the ignition on only....and then cycling through to get the average reading on units of your choice. You can adjust the units and such as well (km/l, MPG)
weyyyyy 520km, my ignis sport may only do 400km with conservative driving, and note the swift sport is worse
.......define "worse"

Posted: May 18th, 2009, 2:14 pm
by avr101
can any guys with Auto SS give some feedback on their car's performance and fuel economy?
Posted: May 18th, 2009, 2:38 pm
by Alpha_2nr
best I've gotten so far is 520km from $95 super which is around 35mpg
The *economy* is a lot greater as the 1.5 doesn't need premium tho
W.r.t. fuel economy.....that's ^^^^ actually a good point.
The Swift Sport NEEDS Premium....and nothing but. It actually should use 98 RON, but according to the manual, a minimum 95 can be safely used (no time restriction mentioned).
So don't even think of using super in an SS. (11.1:1 compression ratio?). Premium only.....and autos will tend to suck down gas more than an MT.
The normal swift on the other hand.....1.5's can use super supposedly. So, that may play into the economy factor (if it's a big thing for you).
Posted: May 18th, 2009, 10:43 pm
by acesinghit
the 1.5 manual swift is lighter than the 1.6 auto swift, therefore performance should be similar. i did race an auto swift sport with a manual one and kept up just fine but perhaps that driver sucked at shifting.
thing is we just can't say that the manua 1.5 is better than the auto 1.6 after all the sport does have 4-wheel disc brakes, tighter suspension, 16" 5-lug rims, dual slit exhaust, high compression VVT 1.6 engine, 8 airbags, flair kit and rear spoiler whereas the 1.5 lacks such.
to truly enjoy a swift though there is nothing like getting the sport in manual trim. couple of lifestyle sales reps actually drive such, lets here it from them!!!!
Posted: May 19th, 2009, 8:32 pm
by Alpha_2nr
Actually, check back the owner's manual.....the weight isn't that far off
i did race an auto swift sport with a manual one and kept up just fine but perhaps that driver sucked at shifting.
You're the grey 1.5 swift I saw bumpering a white SS on the highway a few weeks aback? The white car was an auto AFAIK
Please.....the auto is WAAAAAYYY slower based on the stats posted on page 1. That trans just doesn't keep the car in the rev range like it should.
Also keep in mind that the SS doesn't run on full power on regular premium (which might actually be slightly less than 95 in some cases).
So think about it.....an SS running an auto, and pulling timing on local gas......it isn't too hard to picture a 1.5 manual keeping up.
I figure (or I'd like to think

) it would have been different with a manual SS....with a good driver....and more so with some good torco......
Well......not that I would know

Posted: May 19th, 2009, 8:42 pm
by chris1388
^^^ this is true the manual SS would have rest it on the 1.5 swift, but knight one i waitin to take on a manual SS for the longest while with the ignis sport, u think you could beat this 1.5??
I am 100% sure we will be equal to 170 or so, the swift has more top end though.
Posted: May 19th, 2009, 9:09 pm
by gt4tified
chris1388? you don't really need to look far u know...

that could be arranged! But only if is dex you talking 'bout eh!

Posted: May 20th, 2009, 12:45 am
by chris1388
haha, so u fraid straight line then ? Well yea all that, bring it dex sunday and come novice with me, i runnin
Posted: May 20th, 2009, 6:07 am
by Alpha_2nr
[quote]^^^ this is true the manual SS would have rest it on the 1.5 swift, but knight one i waitin to take on a manual SS for the longest while with the ignis sport, u think you could beat this 1.5?? Twisted Evil Twisted Evil
I am 100% sure we will be equal to 170 or so, the swift has more top end though./quote]
Nah jed..... I'll pass. I fraid dem yellow ting allyuh duz drive.

Posted: May 20th, 2009, 12:54 pm
by chris1388

Naa man both cars equal straight line speed wise, just the swift has more top end the ignis cant cross 190, that is it FLAT OUT in any case i don't think i want to b e in a 930Kg car going more than 190 so i think it was designed like this for a reason

. I respect the SS though its a great car