2010 SX4 Sport Sedan

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

Re: 2010 SX4 Sport Sedan

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 17th, 2010, 7:48 pm

damieG82 wrote:
Knight1, those 'impressions' you speak of should be lied to rest 6 feet under. Korean cars are on par with Japanese, if not superior, becuz you get more car for your money. The new Cerato would be my choice over many of its rivals... so much so that the SX4 is way down on the list. My top 3 local 1.6 cars are the Cerato, Focus and Octavia.... M3, Bravo and Civic trailing closely behind

Damien, but I mean all those 3 cars on your list has no value after 3 year bro......

cerato sells dog cheap after a year

focus is real headache.......

and a used Skoda sells cheaper than an accent.......

I cant understand your point when it comes to those undesirable cars with extreme low resale value....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 17th, 2010, 7:49 pm

chris1388 wrote:all the licks men givin suzuki here....i still wudnt trade my ignis sport for any oda car.....it does take licks and never breaks down or complains....i have nothing to complain about

X2!!!!

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 17th, 2010, 7:49 pm

chris1388 wrote:all the licks men givin suzuki here....i still wudnt trade my ignis sport for any oda car.....it does take licks and never breaks down or complains....i have nothing to complain about

Oh please, get a clue. :roll: You sound as if it's being directed personally.....brand loyalty FTL.

No one is bashing the Suzuki brand...don't mistake the lack of "OMGSUZUKIBETHEBESTBRANDEVAR" comments for bashing the brand. If anything, we've praised how far they've come. I'm a former "Suzuki" owner also...so I should know. Their vehicles are solid offerings, and I have no qualms about buying another.

Aside from the somewhat lack-lustre interior fit and finish of some Suzukis (again, like the base model SX4), what what we are talking about (I refer to acesinghit, damieG82 etc...these guys KNOW their stuff) is questionable marketing on the part of the dealer w.r.t. pricing and "category" allocation of the SX4......

Not the Swift Sport

Not the Swift

Not the Ignis

Not the GV.

The SX4.

Did LM honestly need to call the sedan a "Sport" SX4? Using the same badge as on the Swift Sport? And that version isn't found anywhere else. I still maintain that the SX4 is overpriced...the SEDAN mainly....given it's lack lustre offerings. They should have trimmed stuff off to reduce the price.

Nigson wrote:Damien, but I mean all those 3 cars on your list has no value after 3 year bro......

cerato sells dog cheap after a year

focus is real headache.......

and a used Skoda sells cheaper than an accent.......

I cant understand your point when it comes to those undesirable cars with extreme low resale value....

I wholeheatedly agree.

The Kia Koup is a solid car IMO...and I won't mind buying one, but given the fact that I love to switch cars so often, I know that the kia will NOT hold a tough re-sale value in trinidad....at least not yet. e.

I dare say that some Suzuki's will hold better re-sale value (well my Swift Sport certainly did).....and that can very well increase slightly as time passes.

damieG82 wrote:Take the US SX4 has a 2 litre engine.... which isnt even an option here.

Ah but it is! Optional 2.0 AWD in the hatch if memory serves.....
Last edited by Alpha_2nr on May 17th, 2010, 8:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 17th, 2010, 8:02 pm

Knight 1 --- what do you think about the Liana Hatch?

A pal of mines has one with the rear clearlights I really like that car--interior is nice and more spacious than the sx4 hatch....

He would like some reviews....cause he might wanna sell......

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 17th, 2010, 8:06 pm

Nice engine...that's about it. Nothing impressive about the interior....cheap materials and feel IMO.

It deserved more credit, but given pricing when it came out, and the fact that the car wasn't "perceived" as highly then, led to it's poor sales IMO. Public perception of that car will kill it's resale value, even if it's a solid car.

The Swift has had MUCH better response, and rightly so. The car is a well built machine....and has an ok fit and finish inside even in the base model....so fundamentally that car should hold value a better, given more "public" acceptance. The GV on the other hand......well that's a winner with trinis on the whole.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » May 17th, 2010, 8:52 pm

lol....get a clue d man say yes....i en gonna give u back no talk cuz lol....point taken doh

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 17th, 2010, 10:00 pm

yep knight is correct when he says brand loyalty FTL...

No one is bashing Suzuki as a brand because I have personal experiences with the SX4, GV and Swift Sport and I can vouch for them being basic reliable Japanese transportation.

We have to understand our local market is a mere drop in the bucket wrt sales and therefore a few shipments that make it across to T&T whether they come or not makes hardly a difference based on the international scale. If we look at the brochures carefully, the websites, owner's manuals and R&D they basically design vehicles specifically for developed markets in North America, Europe, some Middle Eastern countries and some Asian Tigers.

The SX4 in particular was designed to compete against the likes of the Corolla, Civic, Lancer, Elantra, 3, Cerato, Focus, Jetta, Octavia to name a few. Imagine this same SX4 is outclassed by all of the above. For this tiny market of ours it is our right to look at local resale value and Suzuki isn't exceptional neither but if you were studying the rate at which the 2 major South Korean brands have been improving in resale (go to kbb.com) then we won't be finding "fault" in the likes of any Hyundai or Kia.

I believe the company who deserves my hard-earned money is the one who has been re-writing the chapter in vehicle design and development together with quality, equipment and price. The in-roads Hyundai and Kia have been making surely tells you that they are not just sitting down on their lofty chairs and getting comfortable too fast. The kaizen concept lures them to this day. Like any new car, its value depreciates the fastest within its first few years of ownership. In light of such, I would rather close my eyes and purchase a Kia Cerato/Hyundai Elantra over the over-priced SX4 and a Tucson over the Grand Vitara anyday.

The Grand Vitara is the last of a dying breed since the world is moving away slowly from the ladder frame concept and rear differential lock/low gearing transfer case type SUV in favour of more sophisticated AWD systems mounted to unibody platforms. I mean the Subaru Forester won Motor Trend SUV of the Year 2009 and the Subaru Outback won the same award in 2010. The Mazda CX-9 won the same award but in 2008. These 3 winners are also no strangers to the same award awarded by Car and Driver. If AWD was such a failure then the hard-core offroaders wouldn't have chosen these 3 for such prestigious awards. This is essential for weight saving, improved aerodynamics and better crash safety to name a few. Unless Suzuki wants to keep a niche and with that name and current marketing its going to crash that company in the western world, I would not be surprised if the next Grand Vitara would be based on the common crossover platform. Bragging rights? Only those who are weak in justifcation use that for the basis of an argument. Case in point, the new Kia Sorento is now based on the Hyundai Santa Fe and feature AWD.

Lastly, I am sure I am not the only one who have given faith on the South Koreans as it shows for as of today, both Hyundai and Kia are enjoying robust sales around the world and locally. Suzuki had more than 100 years to get it right and here it is the "johnny come lately" brands are doing better. No wonder the humble South Korean automaker is the most profitable car-maker in the world and they are the world's 4th largest. They operate the most sophisticated plant and their painting technology rivals that and surpasses that currently used to paint the flag-ship Mercedes Benz CLS-Class. From the Genesis V8 sedan to the V6 RWD coupe I think Interbrand was right by putting Hyundai ahead of most other car-makers.

Long live Suzuki and then some.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 17th, 2010, 10:23 pm

time to buy a Kia pride then!!!!

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 18th, 2010, 6:02 am

acesinghit wrote:yep knight is correct when he says brand loyalty FTL...

No one is bashing Suzuki as a brand because I have personal experiences with the SX4, GV and Swift Sport and I can vouch for them being basic reliable Japanese transportation.

We have to understand our local market is a mere drop in the bucket wrt sales and therefore a few shipments that make it across to T&T whether they come or not makes hardly a difference based on the international scale. If we look at the brochures carefully, the websites, owner's manuals and R&D they basically design vehicles specifically for developed markets in North America, Europe, some Middle Eastern countries and some Asian Tigers.

The SX4 in particular was designed to compete against the likes of the Corolla, Civic, Lancer, Elantra, 3, Cerato, Focus, Jetta, Octavia to name a few. Imagine this same SX4 is outclassed by all of the above. For this tiny market of ours it is our right to look at local resale value and Suzuki isn't exceptional neither but if you were studying the rate at which the 2 major South Korean brands have been improving in resale (go to kbb.com) then we won't be finding "fault" in the likes of any Hyundai or Kia.

I believe the company who deserves my hard-earned money is the one who has been re-writing the chapter in vehicle design and development together with quality, equipment and price. The in-roads Hyundai and Kia have been making surely tells you that they are not just sitting down on their lofty chairs and getting comfortable too fast. The kaizen concept lures them to this day. Like any new car, its value depreciates the fastest within its first few years of ownership. In light of such, I would rather close my eyes and purchase a Kia Cerato/Hyundai Elantra over the over-priced SX4 and a Tucson over the Grand Vitara anyday.

The Grand Vitara is the last of a dying breed since the world is moving away slowly from the ladder frame concept and rear differential lock/low gearing transfer case type SUV in favour of more sophisticated AWD systems mounted to unibody platforms. I mean the Subaru Forester won Motor Trend SUV of the Year 2009 and the Subaru Outback won the same award in 2010. The Mazda CX-9 won the same award but in 2008. These 3 winners are also no strangers to the same award awarded by Car and Driver. If AWD was such a failure then the hard-core offroaders wouldn't have chosen these 3 for such prestigious awards. This is essential for weight saving, improved aerodynamics and better crash safety to name a few. Unless Suzuki wants to keep a niche and with that name and current marketing its going to crash that company in the western world, I would not be surprised if the next Grand Vitara would be based on the common crossover platform. Bragging rights? Only those who are weak in justifcation use that for the basis of an argument. Case in point, the new Kia Sorento is now based on the Hyundai Santa Fe and feature AWD.

Lastly, I am sure I am not the only one who have given faith on the South Koreans as it shows for as of today, both Hyundai and Kia are enjoying robust sales around the world and locally. Suzuki had more than 100 years to get it right and here it is the "johnny come lately" brands are doing better. No wonder the humble South Korean automaker is the most profitable car-maker in the world and they are the world's 4th largest. They operate the most sophisticated plant and their painting technology rivals that and surpasses that currently used to paint the flag-ship Mercedes Benz CLS-Class. From the Genesis V8 sedan to the V6 RWD coupe I think Interbrand was right by putting Hyundai ahead of most other car-makers.

Long live Suzuki and then some.

Palos...yuh PREACH DEY

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 18th, 2010, 6:54 pm

Knight1 wrote:

Nice engine...that's about it. Nothing impressive about the interior....cheap materials and feel IMO.

It deserved more credit, but given pricing when it came out, and the fact that the car wasn't "perceived" as highly then, led to it's poor sales IMO. Public perception of that car will kill it's resale value, even if it's a solid car.

The Swift has had MUCH better response, and rightly so. The car is a well built machine....and has an ok fit and finish inside even in the base model....so fundamentally that car should hold value a better, given more "public" acceptance..

Nah Bro you lose me dey......The interior is nicer than the swifts interior by far......and this car did not have poor sales...in fact ppl still seek out the liana hatch.......The swift is way to small than the liana.....

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 18th, 2010, 7:34 pm

Nigson, Suzuki realised that the interior of the Liana was so weird and ugly it makes the current Civic dash look like something from Lexus. So what Suzuki had to do was refresh the Liana because heck that dash with the slit for a digital speedo looked like something Atari would have made. The refreshed Liana at least looked better than the Yaris of yore as well as the Accent of yore. Those cars are history and quite rare so much so that if you come across one, they are not usually well kept and they are very negotiable in price. I rented a Hertz one about 3 years ago and at least I could say the seats are very upright and have excellent head and back support because at that time I had a major back problem and it was the only car that took care of my back.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 18th, 2010, 7:37 pm

Nigson wrote:
Knight1 wrote:

The Swift has had MUCH better response, and rightly so. The car is a well built machine....and has an ok fit and finish inside even in the base model....so fundamentally that car should hold value a better, given more "public" acceptance..

Nah Bro you lose me dey......The interior is nicer than the swifts interior by far......and this car did not have poor sales...in fact

ppl still seek out the liana hatch.......The swift is way to small than the liana.....

IMO the interior wasn't all that in the Liana....again, my opinion. Regardless, the liana's have not held resale value either......further corroboration of my POV.

acesinghit wrote:So what Suzuki had to do was refresh the Liana because heck that dash with the slit for a digital speedo looked like something Atari would have made.

HIt the nail on the head as usual sir.....that interior design left something to be desired IMHO. Any thoughts on the Liana/Aerio lineup fared in the US market during it's brief tenure there?

chris1388 wrote:i en gonna give u back no talk cuz lol

Ok.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 18th, 2010, 8:14 pm

yeah fellas partner's Liana is the one with the redone dash ...the analog speedometer.......

that dash looks great and the room inside the car with the high seats is really comfortable....

I like that car since its more spacious that the sx4 hatch but not too long like the usual wagon type cars........

just my POV also.....

mimi007

Postby mimi007 » July 18th, 2010, 11:08 pm

test drove the sx4 saturday....my God that car drives nice!!! lol but for the price, its not a bad car at all...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 18th, 2010, 11:47 pm

i dont think its that bad either mimi.....tuners are hard to please as we all know

mimi007

Postby mimi007 » July 18th, 2010, 11:58 pm

Nigson wrote:i dont think its that bad either mimi.....tuners are hard to please as we all know

lol...true :roll:

what I found about it was that it takes off pretty quickly, all i had to do was lightly tap the accelerator...but i ended up taking a swift instead though.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 19th, 2010, 12:05 am

I like the swift also but its just a too small 4 me....space wise......trunk space......
SX4 hatch is really nice,,,,,.........

In my POV thats the better buy the sx4,........based on practicality,.....But then again you can now link up with those swift guys when they meet......

spanglish1

Postby spanglish1 » September 23rd, 2010, 9:01 pm

let the man test drive the manual sport and tell the salesman uh wanna open throttle to see what all the hype about!do some lane changing between cars and feel the handling!wasnt too keen but after test driving it i bought one!

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 25th, 2010, 9:25 am

^^^ :lol: you should drive my 10 yr old Civic, I love when some proud SSS owners trying hard even while I short shift they just can't keep up. They run out of steam too quick but I guess compared to the current market offerings its fast.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » September 25th, 2010, 12:42 pm

^^more than likely that ten year old civic is not stock as is any "fass" civic lol and i'm sure thats a straight line you speaking about.......let a manual swift sport with a capable driver catch you round some twisties na.....i'm positive the story will change :lol:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 25th, 2010, 1:04 pm

^^Dude. I had a manual SSS....and true, the manual is far different to the auto! And except for rado, I'd like to think my SSS was one of the only other ones to have mad-tyte JDM parts imported for it :lol: :lol:

But seriously now........

I wouldn't have gone near a properly working SiR....STOCK (esp a hatch!)....and that includes even on a mildly twisty road (as you call it) with a capable driver in the SiR. That however, doesn't detract from the fantastic car that the SSS is........for what it is.

You really should get off your "OMGSUZUKIBTHEBESTEVAR" fanboi train.

Nobody else seems to be on it.....and that includes other IS/SSS owners.

(waits for comments about me not being able to drive/handle an SSS properly/I shudda come 'dex to learn the car etc
).

Last edited by Alpha_2nr on September 25th, 2010, 1:21 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby A172 » September 25th, 2010, 1:10 pm

right on point there Alpha

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » September 25th, 2010, 3:19 pm

here comes mr know it all......look at time you waste out of your life to come and say all dat and edit it twice lol.....and ok i stand corrected since mr know it all says differently.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 25th, 2010, 4:18 pm

^^Wow, real mature response there kiddo. Further proof of my point ;)

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 25th, 2010, 4:29 pm

You guys should have a race and put this issue to rest...

civic vs swift.........

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » September 25th, 2010, 5:58 pm

lol no need for all that nigson, post was on the sx4 sorry for straying off topic let the discussion on that car continue.....as for you alpha2nr....take win i have no more time to waste on you lol

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 25th, 2010, 10:45 pm

chris you are being too modest man.....that swift could take on that civic hatch anytime.....lol.....

well in terms ah looks that civic loss long time.....

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 28th, 2010, 7:12 pm

chris1388 wrote:^^more than likely that ten year old civic is not stock as is any "fass" civic lol and i'm sure thats a straight line you speaking about.......let a manual swift sport with a capable driver catch you round some twisties na.....i'm positive the story will change :lol:

yep its pretty much stock and it eats anything Suzuki for breakfast :wink:

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 28th, 2010, 10:30 pm

Why allyuh Honda men jumping in on the suzuki forum so......wham like Honda cars so boring allyuh eh have nuthin to talk bout in the honda forum?......

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 29th, 2010, 11:06 am

don't get offended Nigson this is not a brand bashing thread. Let's stick to the FACTS and keep the constructive criticism going. Valuable info is passing here let's not have it go to waste. As a side note, I'm not a fan boy....I'm a fan of all brands (check my posting history, in fact, I'm not even a regular on the Honda forum). Anyway, there are instances on this thread where a Suzuki fan did go over-board and you know the result. We easily see who still driving daddy car or a friend or a padna etc...lastly there are only a handful of tuners on this forum who give unbiased and valuable info and alpha2nr knows his stuff. Bless.

Return to “SUZUKI”