jm3

Postby jm3 » March 22nd, 2010, 9:10 am

wow theres frankensteins vauxhall corsas on here oops i mean chevy corsa pmsl

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 26th, 2010, 8:00 pm

saw this car in person, the looks are better with the kit and the 17" rims. Handling should be better but it continues to be a lackluster vehicle in a very competitive compact-car market. At $159k its $10k too expensive for this weird design. Kia Cerato FTW. WRT power, it has the updated M16A but without the high compression ratio of the Swift Sport. So the SX4 Sport generates more torque but less HP.

Val

Postby Val » April 26th, 2010, 9:07 pm

I don't understand the SX4. It's marketed as a crossover, and has AWD but the ride clearance height is probably around the same as a 04 corolla.

What is it supposed to be?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » April 26th, 2010, 10:26 pm

acesinghit wrote:saw this car in person, the looks are better with the kit and the 17" rims. Handling should be better but it continues to be a lackluster vehicle in a very competitive compact-car market. At $159k its $10k too expensive for this weird design. Kia Cerato FTW. WRT power, it has the updated M16A but without the high compression ratio of the Swift Sport. So the SX4 Sport generates more torque but less HP.

Well said sir!

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 27th, 2010, 12:10 am

Knight1, thanks

Val, the crossover marketing AFAIK is reserved for the AWD equipped hatchback SX4. Due to its design (compact footprint together with its ground clearance, seating position and being a hatchback) Suzuki decided to market it as a crossover with unit body construction. Its drivetrain is still FWD based. These days some manufacturers naming their unibody FWD based AWD vehicles as crossovers.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » April 27th, 2010, 8:28 am

^^No..seriously dude.....you should be doing some reviews of new cars in the "new car prices thread" or something 8-)

Since you were talking about the Cerato....my fave new car to date has gotta be the Kia Koup :D :D

As for the SX4 "Sport", I think this "Sport" denomination only detracts from the Swift Sport, in that the SX4 Sport is just an SX4 with extra trim - the Swift Sport is technically a different car (engine, suspension, even chassis code) from the base Swift.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 27th, 2010, 10:52 am

^^I get enough pong on this site for that bro :lol: but thanks, I'm actually considering it.

check the links on the other thread I posted for you.

the SX4 Sport is just an SX4 with extra trim - the Swift Sport is technically a different car (engine, suspension, even chassis code) from the base Swift.

x2 but one thing I failed to note, how much airbags does the SX4 Sport have because I know whether manual or auto, the Swift Sport has 6!

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » April 27th, 2010, 11:26 am

^^thought was 8!! lol

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » April 27th, 2010, 11:41 am

chris1388 wrote:^^thought was 8!! lol

yup it's 8.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 27th, 2010, 11:45 am

8 air bags ---??!

Well if the crash doesnt damage you surely the airbags will :D

just kidding lol

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » April 27th, 2010, 12:18 pm

^^you went and drive one yet ??

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » April 27th, 2010, 12:22 pm

^ enuff time pass.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » April 27th, 2010, 7:13 pm

Nigson wrote:8 air bags ---??!

Well if the crash doesnt damage you surely the airbags will :D

just kidding lol

^^you went and drive one yet ??

Wonder if he'll drive the manual? Makes so much difference :lol:

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 27th, 2010, 10:07 pm

the head liner (curtain) airbags is actually a giant sized airbag that covers front and rear passengers so its counted as 1. So thats two front and side plus pair of curtains which is 6. It appears as 8 due to 8 airbag deployment spots.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » April 27th, 2010, 10:59 pm

^^this man rel know he stuff boy lol....

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » April 28th, 2010, 12:01 pm

acesinghit wrote:the head liner (curtain) airbags is actually a giant sized airbag that covers front and rear passengers so its counted as 1. So thats two front and side plus pair of curtains which is 6. It appears as 8 due to 8 airbag deployment spots.

well yuh know these marketing gimmicks. next thing yuh tell me they advertise 4 wheels but it only runnin on 3 :D

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » April 28th, 2010, 1:22 pm

^^Photoshop yuh say :?

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 28th, 2010, 7:48 pm

lol that car would be so freaky driving next to the sea on the foreshore itd be like a land boat lol men vomiting like the ferry to tobago

mimi007

Re: 2010 SX4 Sport Sedan

Postby mimi007 » May 15th, 2010, 10:52 pm

this car is getting popular now, I see them around a lot...but its a nice car though

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » May 15th, 2010, 11:24 pm

at that price I would prefer the 2010 KIA Cerrato.....much better equipped...better looking....more powerful engine and better interior too.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 16th, 2010, 6:36 am

ek4ever wrote:at that price I would prefer the 2010 KIA Cerrato.....much better equipped...better looking....more powerful engine and better interior too.

The 1.6 Cerato isn't more powerful....or at least by much.

The 2.0 on the other hand :D

I still say LM FTL (again) by trying to make the SX4 Sedan something it's not ("Sport"), and de-valuing the unique car that is the Swift Sport in the process of doing so.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 16th, 2010, 11:08 pm

The Sx4 really seems to be a bit overpriced now....

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » May 17th, 2010, 8:13 am

Nigson wrote:The Sx4 really seems to be a bit overpriced now....

how much they robbing u for?

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » May 17th, 2010, 10:35 am

checked out the SX4 Sport a couple weeks ago.... and it is as others have said. Its powered by the same 1.6 that the regular SX4 has. Only differences are the bodykit, 17" alloys, and rear discs. Btw, it also only carries 2 airbags.

Dimensionally, the SX4 is direct competition for B segment cars, ie cars like the Yaris, Fit/City, Accent/Rio, altho in all markets, Suzuki seems to market it against larger C segment cars (Civic, Lancer, Corolla) . So price-wise, the SX4 is even less desirable compared to a C segment car like the Cerato. Suzukis are excellent cars, but Lifestyle still hasnt gotten the pricing right to reflect their true place in the market

mimi007

Postby mimi007 » May 17th, 2010, 11:11 am

damieG82 wrote:checked out the SX4 Sport a couple weeks ago.... and it is as others have said. Its powered by the same 1.6 that the regular SX4 has. Only differences are the bodykit, 17" alloys, and rear discs. Btw, it also only carries 2 airbags.

Dimensionally, the SX4 is direct competition for B segment cars, ie cars like the Yaris, Fit/City, Accent/Rio, altho in all markets, Suzuki seems to market it against larger C segment cars (Civic, Lancer, Corolla) . So price-wise, the SX4 is even less desirable compared to a C segment car like the Cerato. Suzukis are excellent cars, but Lifestyle still hasnt gotten the pricing right to reflect their true place in the market

only 2 air bags? You sure? the models in the US n such carry 6

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 17th, 2010, 11:53 am

damieG82 wrote:checked out the SX4 Sport a couple weeks ago.... and it is as others have said. Its powered by the same 1.6 that the regular SX4 has. Only differences are the bodykit, 17" alloys, and rear discs. Btw, it also only carries 2 airbags.

Correct...any take on the Cerato / Koup?

Both seem like far superior options, despite the "impressions" one gets from hearing the Kia name.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 17th, 2010, 2:47 pm

In the T&T market Suzuki has had moderate success. The brand has built a reputation for making reliable enough off-road vehicles namely the Vitara/Grand Vitara series and the Samurai/Jimny series. In addition the Carry was an inexpensive van that proved to be fuel efficient. The Swift and Baleno had little impact on the market and proved to be lackluster. With the introduction of the Liana, slowly the sub-compact arena became Suzuki's primary market in T&T and since the introduction of the new Swift and the SX4, LSM is now proudly on the map. Sadly my dear friends, the vehicles are still lackluster. Check every Suzuki vehicle in the international automotive press/magazine and the results are alarming. Check the North American sales charts and you would see the Grand Vitara and SX4 are flops. Only in this third world country such vehicles stand a chance. Comparing the latest mainstream cars from Kia, Mazda, Hyundai, Honda, Toyota, Nissan and Volkswagen would prove how much catching up Suzuki has to do to remain competitive.

The new SX4 proves that Suzuki came a long way but sadly the pace at which Kia was improving the new Cerato aka Forte remains a much better built vehicle as is the entire Kia line-up vs the Suzuki line-up. I don't know how long Suzuki's westernized product offerings would last but it seems their primary market remains to be Asian-biased.

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » May 17th, 2010, 3:59 pm

mimi007 you shouldnt ever really compare US specs to the local spec. Take the US SX4 has a 2 litre engine.... which isnt even an option here. Likewise our 1.6 is totally unknown in the US market. But safety-wise, local cars are still lagging behind. Most only come with 2 airbags. You'll have to move up to large cars like Accords, Teanas etc, or luxury brands (BMW, Audi etc) to get more than 2 airbags. The Swift Sport, full spec Yaris and Fiat Punto are the only local small cars to have 6 or more airbags AFAIK. Not even going to talk about traction or stability control systems... its beyond me why by and large local cars dont have these features, as standard OR optional

Knight1, those 'impressions' you speak of should be lied to rest 6 feet under. Korean cars are on par with Japanese, if not superior, becuz you get more car for your money. The new Cerato would be my choice over many of its rivals... so much so that the SX4 is way down on the list. My top 3 local 1.6 cars are the Cerato, Focus and Octavia.... M3, Bravo and Civic trailing closely behind

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 17th, 2010, 7:28 pm

wow fellas the sx 4 getting real lick here...lol...but I guess you all talking facts....

Seeing that Kia and Hyundai are korean cars--- are they that good in relation to suzuki in terms of quality?

Always thought korean cars like daewoo was crap .....so I still would not rush to buy a kia or a hyundai --no matter how good they looking....

The liana hatchback seems like a nice car...its more spacious than the SX4....they should have continued with that car.....

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » May 17th, 2010, 7:40 pm

all the licks men givin suzuki here....i still wudnt trade my ignis sport for any oda car.....it does take licks and never breaks down or complains....i have nothing to complain about

Return to “SUZUKI”