Turbo Swift sport

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

rado

Re: Turbo Swift sport

Postby rado » October 3rd, 2010, 11:24 am

spanglish1 wrote:rado i think everybody waiting for you to take the plunge!

:D Yea boy,, I feel so. After all de talking I doin :lol:

Not long to wait, all my "phase 2" parts will be here in October, and I will try to schedule the install for early November.
8-)

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » October 3rd, 2010, 12:11 pm

spanglish1 wrote:rado i think everybody waiting for you to take the plunge!i am tempted to do some bolt on mods but my warranty would be out the door!anyone installed the lightened crank pulley?is there any loss of power on the top end or steady gains throughout the range?

That pulley will not give you 8hp as you mentioned earlier eh.....just letting you know if thats why you want it. We have put one on a bone stock ignis sport and compared to a totally stock one...it barely produced 1whp more and 1ft-lb of torque more. You will mainly feel a slight difference low down....the car will get up ever so slightly quicker.....it all depends on if you think its worth $1500 and the time to change it.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » October 3rd, 2010, 6:28 pm

chris1388 wrote:
spanglish1 wrote:rado i think everybody waiting for you to take the plunge!i am tempted to do some bolt on mods but my warranty would be out the door!anyone installed the lightened crank pulley?is there any loss of power on the top end or steady gains throughout the range?

That pulley will not give you 8hp as you mentioned earlier eh.....just letting you know if thats why you want it. We have put one on a bone stock ignis sport and compared to a totally stock one...it barely produced 1whp more and 1ft-lb of torque more. You will mainly feel a slight difference low down....the car will get up ever so slightly quicker.....it all depends on if you think its worth $1500 and the time to change it.

the pulley isn't going to produce power on the dyno ...reducing rotational mass helps with acceleration. on the dyno you would have to compare the speed graph to see the real results.
chris try not giving advice when u have no idea what u talking about

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » October 3rd, 2010, 7:50 pm

on the dyno you would have to compare the speed graph to see the real results.

Co-sign.

Does it throw any CEL's though? I know in some other cars, using a lighter flywheel or pulley throws a CEL...something to do with the cam position sensor deceleration or something like that.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » October 3rd, 2010, 10:43 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:
chris1388 wrote:
spanglish1 wrote:chris try not giving advice when u have no idea what u talking about

alrite then....

jm3

Postby jm3 » October 3rd, 2010, 10:47 pm

rado did you email the price list to me? i havent checked my email for awhile actually ill check it now lol.

jm3

Postby jm3 » October 3rd, 2010, 10:54 pm

ye i did get it lol well i'll see if i get a nice bonus this year :)

gregroy

Postby gregroy » October 8th, 2010, 8:37 am

LOOKING FOR AH IGNIS GEARBOX

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » October 8th, 2010, 8:13 pm

gregroy wrote:LOOKING FOR AH IGNIS GEARBOX

yea gregory we hear yuh! :lol:

Swifted

Postby Swifted » October 8th, 2010, 8:42 pm

regarding lightened pulley's & flywheels ...there's some math that one can use to work out the effect of removing mass from rotating parts. I remember working it out with my old school Mini. ...after replacing the flywheel with a feather-weight item; it was like the car was driving itself in 1st gear! about 95KG's removed from the total weight of the car. Essentially, you don't see increased horsepower results from mods. like those. The car just feels ...lighter, and revs quicker. ...i'll try to find the formula.

jm3

Postby jm3 » October 10th, 2010, 5:16 pm

i have the equations for working it out but basically the length and weight of a rotating object effect how much force is needed to turn it and also how much inertia it has,
so when you lighten your flywheel which is effectively a spinning disk you reduce how much force is required to turn it so the car will rev quicker however its reduced mass also reduces its inertia and so it will decelerate quicker so the car may buck and stuck on lift off. i dont see a downside to lightening pulleys as thats less load on the engine from auxilarys as long as the pulley is the same size particularly on the alternator or it will change its output.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » October 10th, 2010, 6:00 pm

^^The only downside I can think of is that in SOME cars (not all) the crank pulley acts as a harmonic damper (has a rubber insert , and the weight adds to the damping effect).

Reducing the weight and/or having no damping insert can result in slightly increased vibrations on the crankshaft's rotating assembly....resulting in added wear over time.

I'm not sure if the ZC31 uses a harmonic damping insert in the pulley, or if the pulley's weight is used for "rotational balance".

<shrug>

jm3

Postby jm3 » October 10th, 2010, 6:36 pm

on a side note alpha its almost time for me to buy an rx8 what kind of things should i be looking for to make sure its not gonna break as soon as i give some "spirited driving" im going to start looking at them next month whats the insurance like compared to your wrx and swift?

Mitsu power

Postby Mitsu power » October 15th, 2010, 10:35 am

I dont want to burst your bubble but please read http://www.datsuns.com/Tech/flywheel.htm. I used a lighten crank pully wicked accel.. but to move off up hill labour .. to me its not wort it but lighten things like water pump pully and ac pully alernator will be much better ..

ng357

Postby ng357 » November 25th, 2010, 10:44 am

ok so u have a swift sport too and remember mine is auto soo i jus wanna noe if with all dese mods u tell me dere if u tink i will get nice speed out of it ??

Return to “SUZUKI”