when i press the accelerator...

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

Swifterina

when i press the accelerator...

Postby Swifterina » December 10th, 2005, 8:37 am

...after being idle or in neutral or from a stopped position, the car does kinda stutter then move off. almost like it wants to shut down.

someone told me it's a flat spot?!

how do i get rid of this? cuz on the rare occasion, when i pull off, it will actually shut down.

it does not happen if i press the accelerator REAL slow, but that not practical in most cases. to get around it, i usually have to press it real quick and let go to pass the threshold spot where it feels like it will cut off, then press again and drive off.

anyone have any advice? suggestions?

thanks in advance.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » December 10th, 2005, 10:28 am

What engine is it? Fuel injected or Carb?

If it's carb, it may be the accelerator "Plunger" or piston, the part of the carb responsible for the first squirt of fuel on acceleration. This may be worn and may not be pushing as much fuel as it should as fuel is passing the seal on it.

The Carb rebuild kit for the car should have a replacement.

krossbreed

Postby krossbreed » December 10th, 2005, 11:03 am

give a lil more details ..........engine type would help

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » December 11th, 2005, 10:31 pm

swifterina i had this problem with a carbureted bluebird. that flat spot is very dangerous. imagine u filtering onto a main road or highway or going across and u cut off :shock:..steups......
changing the accelerator cable was the answer..that is the answer. :D :shock: :shock:

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 12th, 2005, 12:18 am

Depends on what you have. If it's Carburetted, it means that at idle it's flooding with fuel. Most likely the rubber seals in it had been compromised (this is especially true in the Lancers). A seal kit will do the trick. Outside of that it would mean the Carburettor needs a good servicing and adjust.

Efi Care a bit more to study....Dirty Injectors.....Ignition...etc.

Swifterina

Postby Swifterina » December 12th, 2005, 8:31 am

hi, sorry for the delay.

yes its a carburetor engine. my mechanic said he took out the spark plugs and cleaned them (or whatever it is u do with them :lol: ) but that didnt work.

and from the responses, i have to check:
1. accelerator plunger/piston
2. accelerator cable
3. seal kit for the rubber seals.

ok.
thanks ALOT you all. i hope this works. :|

Val

Postby Val » December 12th, 2005, 8:32 am

check your timing too.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 12th, 2005, 8:41 am

Yes but what-kind-of-car-is-it?

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » December 12th, 2005, 9:45 am

zodiaque wrote:
If it's carb, it may be the accelerator "Plunger" or piston, the part of the carb responsible for the first squirt of fuel on acceleration. This may be worn and may not be pushing as much fuel as it should as fuel is passing the seal on it.

ditto
for those who are fuel injected and experiencin the same problem.. clean injectors.. replace or clean spark plugs..
i dont believe in that crap injector cleaner you hook up to the rail...
take them down an get them cleaned the results will be much better :!:

Swifterina

Postby Swifterina » December 12th, 2005, 9:48 am

automatic suzuki swift. 1.3.

Swifterina

Postby Swifterina » December 13th, 2005, 7:48 am

the mechanic said he checked the plunger and the cable already and it was fine. :(

ugggggggggggggggggggggggghhhhhhhh :cry:

Val

Postby Val » December 13th, 2005, 7:59 am

check your timing girl. I had that same problem with a Lancer 4G15, and it was the timing.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » December 13th, 2005, 8:16 am

Or also, it could be distributor problems.

Had a similar problem with a carb Lancer as well

Val

Postby Val » December 13th, 2005, 8:21 am

yes true true. check your distributor contacts etc.

Postby Dave » December 13th, 2005, 2:18 pm

the butterfly shaft could be worn and thus the carb may be sucking air thus giving the flat spot

venum

Postby venum » December 13th, 2005, 5:14 pm

crash dummy wrote:i dont believe in that crap injector cleaner you hook up to the rail...
take them down an get them cleaned the results will be much better :!:

fuh real

I second that

take them down to clean

vfp16 wrote:check your timing girl. I had that same problem with a Lancer 4G15, and it was the timing.

Had a similar problem with my 4g15. timing needed a lil increase, just a lil

Postby Hook » December 14th, 2005, 12:08 pm

woi Rae!!! been a while since u on here eh...an ah tell yuh sell dat Swift yuh kno
but lewwe see wha it cud be

timing...not likely since u didn't indicate that it was hard starting or anything..but if it is, and it's a points distributor, check if the points are opening and closing and change if necessary (if points are scortched, then change the condenser as well) and make sure ignition timing is set properly
if it's electronic, make sure coil packs, igniter, plug wires, internal springs, vacuum diaphragm are all good and ensure ignition timing is set properly

a carb rebuild will ususlly solve the problem if it's the carb...ensure the jets are all cleaned and that all o-rings and gaskets are changed...the plunger might be a bit tricky to get as I believe there is a longer and a shorter plunger for the Swifts so u may hafta take it (the old plunger) to a parts place to find a replacement

and when installing the rebuilt carb, make sure it's re-lubricated with WD ot CRC or whatever as carb spray tends to strip the useful lube off the springs and levers and cause them to wear from friction

hope this helps 8)

Swifterina

Postby Swifterina » December 27th, 2005, 1:56 pm

*sigh*

well, i took it for a carb servicing at suzuki (they surprisingly didnt charge much) and they say i need a new throttle spring. they changed some hoses and some other stuff i think.

they said the flat spot was gone but like it was only gone for a few mins after i left cuz the flat spot was back and the car idling weird.

1. it idling higher than normal (they said that is due to the throttle spring which needs to be replaced), and
2. when it idling, the car feels like it gargling (lol). like it kinda dips and it feeling shaky.

alyuh think i'll be able to find a throttle spring for a suzuki in bamboo?

i not sure if they checked the butterfly shaft or the distributor contacts. i'll check again but i'm sure they did.

if all this doesnt work, will i have to get a new carburetor? how much they's cost so?? :(

(as for selling the car, who'd buy a car that not working properly? i'd have to get this fixed first...then too, i really cah afford to buy a car nah. i was lookin at roro's. that will put me in REAL debt for many years and i just not able.)

blazing

Postby blazing » December 27th, 2005, 4:46 pm

if all this doesnt work, will i have to get a new carburetor? how much they's cost so??

a new carburetor from suzuki is about $3000.

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » December 28th, 2005, 7:23 am

i hoestly belive your problems stem from what dave said butterfly shaft being worn
i know a old man who does build them back up , will try to get his # 4 you

Return to “SUZUKI”