Prob with M.Rampersad Wildtrak

From Escorts to Rangers - First On Race Day

uniho46

Postby uniho46 » June 7th, 2010, 6:46 am

I bought a Wildtrak less than three months now and since purchase it can't pass 150km downhill or on flat road and they (Two mechanics and Service Manager) have the gall to tell me that's the van's limit. I sent it in four (4) times since the first service and all they doing is changing filter and calling Massy you heard me Neal & Massy for advice. Can anyone help...

Re: Prob with M.Rampersad Wildtrak

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 7th, 2010, 11:14 am

ask ford to take a look at it.
You have nothing to lose by asking them.

uniho46

Postby uniho46 » June 8th, 2010, 7:32 am

Well i went yesterday for service no5 and they cleaned some micro filter inside the fuel pump which had no impact on performance so back to square one...

uniho46

Postby uniho46 » June 9th, 2010, 9:16 am

I emailed Ford (bcuadra@ford.com) and got this response:

That information is correct .
In most cases, all vehicles from the US come with "governors" installed.
This system restricts the top speed of the vehicle for safety concerns.
These are not sports/racing cars and at speeds above 150km the vehicle
dynamics are not suitable for those speeds. This is a US regulation for
all manufacturers, not just Ford. I am sorry that this is not to your
satisfaction.

The dealership you purchased the vehicle from is not a Ford authorized dealership. It is a used car facility.
You may want to take the vehicle to an authorized facility to have them inspect your concerns and the overall vehicle.

So now i'm at a lost and confused

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 9th, 2010, 9:57 am

Ditto on my above post.
And by "Ford" , i mean Mc Earneny.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 11th, 2010, 8:56 pm

^^Maybe this dude's approach was better, in terms of going to Ford DIRECTLY. Looks like they might have addressed his concern as well - the van probably has a speed limiter on it, as Ford stated.

Besides, what do you need to be going at 150 in that anyway? They feel unstable IMHO, and heck...and bothering about top speed is for kids.

In most cases, all vehicles from the US come with "governors" installed.
This system restricts the top speed of the vehicle for safety concerns.
These are not sports/racing cars and at speeds above 150km the vehicle
dynamics are not suitable for those speeds

To me, it sounds like a non-issue. The Wildtrak variant IMHO is a fantastic looking van, and should be enjoyed for what its GOOD at - all terrain prowess and go-on-any-road-anywhere capability. Not for "aye ah does reach 210 kph an' ting yunno, dah van fassup".

Just my 2c.

silva7

Postby silva7 » June 13th, 2010, 10:42 am

I agree with Knight1, if you want to go over 150kmh buy a car!!!!

uniho46

Postby uniho46 » June 14th, 2010, 8:18 am

You know thats right thanks guys i was approaching the whole thing from the angle that i bought a defective van but now that is not so, its a non issue

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » June 26th, 2010, 7:33 pm

i dont let my ranger cross 110km

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 3rd, 2011, 6:51 pm

i did a 180KPH on my 3.0 thunder and i wont try it again. Just curious as to i could make it. The van does feel uneasy at that speed thou. Most of the time average driving is at 80-100kph.
The speed shoot up pretty quickly, I was going to buy the wildtrak but one deciding factor that stopped me was this - Warranty!

The firm gives you 5 years warranty , M rampersad gives you a condition 3 year warranty.

ford ranger freak

Postby ford ranger freak » August 30th, 2011, 1:50 pm

uniho46 wrote:I bought a Wildtrak less than three months now and since purchase it can't pass 150km downhill or on flat road and they (Two mechanics and Service Manager) have the gall to tell me that's the van's limit. I sent it in four (4) times since the first service and all they doing is changing filter and calling Massy you heard me Neal & Massy for advice. Can anyone help...

yep that is the limit for the wildtrak just 150 :? :?

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » August 30th, 2011, 2:51 pm

^^And? Something wrong with that?

FORD wrote:These are not sports/racing cars and at speeds above 150km the vehicledynamics are not suitable for those speeds.

Aero Styles

Postby Aero Styles » March 25th, 2013, 3:27 pm

Strange I don't have a wild track just a hi rider and I have done over 150 already van is 4 years old now so don't really push it too much over 150kms. An yes never understood why every one runs to M Rampersad when the prices are relatively the same plus some extra for accessories

Postby *KRONIK* » March 25th, 2013, 3:57 pm

Allyuh fellas great yes...
150km/h it dat bouncy unstable ting....
I use my dad's 3.0 auto wildtrak at least 2 times a week...
And i wont go over 120km/h...
That ting duz feel like a boat...in atlantic ocean...
But the accelleration and the torque is really sweet...

rs_ranger

Postby rs_ranger » May 7th, 2013, 6:17 pm

What fuel filter did they use on ur van? I have a 2010 ranger and got d problem when ansa (yes d firm) use a mitsubishi fuel filter in my van. I changed it to a ford filter and everything was back to normal.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using TriniTuner mobile app

kenrickr

Postby kenrickr » July 2nd, 2013, 1:40 pm

Aero Styles wrote: An yes never understood why every one runs to M Rampersad when the prices are relatively the same plus some extra for accessories

The Wildtrak is the top of the range for the Ford Ranger globally, yet Ford Trinidad only imports the XLT and Limited models.

M Rampersad seems like the only logical choice for the Wildtrak once you can look past the warranty issue.

The Wildtrak is 20k less than the limited, when it's supposed to be the top spec model. Mostly cosmetic differences between the both though.

FullBoost

Postby FullBoost » June 8th, 2014, 4:54 pm

why does a right-hand drive vehicle come with "governors" installed.
are these vehicles manufactured in the US ?
or are they manufactured for the US and if so how come are the right hand drive?

Stixer7

Postby Stixer7 » June 10th, 2014, 5:00 pm

rhd but intended for 1st world countries
they come with extra features like rear ac cameras, wheels etc

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » June 24th, 2014, 9:12 am

uniho46 wrote:The dealership you purchased the vehicle from is not a Ford authorized dealership. It is a used car facility.
You may want to take the vehicle to an authorized facility to have them inspect your concerns and the overall vehicle.

:shock: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Marcel Burkett

Postby Marcel Burkett » September 15th, 2015, 2:27 pm

At the risk of sounding rude !!!.....most every response to your problem is just BS! I own a 3.2 ranger and I do 160km+ new and now I do more than 180 ! I can help you , send me a pm if interested.

supernedd

Postby supernedd » October 19th, 2018, 11:26 am

uniho46 wrote:I bought a Wildtrak less than three months now and since purchase it can't pass 150km downhill or on flat road and they (Two mechanics and Service Manager) have the gall to tell me that's the van's limit. I sent it in four (4) times since the first service and all they doing is changing filter and calling Massy you heard me Neal & Massy for advice. Can anyone help...
nah man . my old mazda bt50 used to reach 160 km .. once i made it to 170km

ShiftPerformance

Postby ShiftPerformance » February 10th, 2019, 11:21 pm

supernedd wrote:

Yes it is the speed limiter they set on their vehicles. However we have been removing them and allowing customers to see the true potential of their van.
Visit http://shiftperformancett.com to know how to have yours removed

supernedd

Postby supernedd » February 11th, 2019, 5:02 am

ShiftPerformance wrote:
supernedd wrote:

Yes it is the speed limiter they set on their vehicles. However we have been removing them and allowing customers to see the true potential of their van.
Can u do that to the old mazda bt50 also? With the wl engine

ShiftPerformance

Postby ShiftPerformance » February 11th, 2019, 9:34 am

supernedd wrote:
ShiftPerformance wrote:
supernedd wrote:

Please send the specifics on the vehicle

supernedd

Postby supernedd » February 11th, 2019, 9:36 am

ShiftPerformance wrote:
supernedd wrote:
ShiftPerformance wrote:
supernedd wrote:

Lmao at them calling massy .. smh... some of them showroom mechanics are waste yes

supernedd

Postby supernedd » February 11th, 2019, 9:38 am

Yea shift performance.. i see some of your work on Instagram.. well done...but i got a old school Mazda bt50...
supernedd wrote:
ShiftPerformance wrote:
supernedd wrote:
ShiftPerformance wrote:
supernedd wrote:

Lmao at them calling massy .. smh... some of them showroom mechanics are waste yes

Return to “FORD”