FORD RANGERS Rottening

From Escorts to Rangers - First On Race Day

Nissan Forever

FORD RANGERS Rottening

Postby Nissan Forever » August 18th, 2009, 11:21 am

People beware of FORD Rangers they are rottening under the front fenders,inside the bonnet area under door rubbers and in very inconspicuous areas.
I know dat because my dad has one TCH Ranger and he is getting the run around from Ford right now i also have a partner with the same complaints so people please check urs if u own a ford ranger

Postby 7143 » August 22nd, 2009, 4:17 pm

good info here....first it was easy to break in them old mod el rangers...now they rottening...anobody else have faults??

Postby 7143 » August 22nd, 2009, 4:19 pm

good info here....first it was easy to break in them old mod el rangers...now they rottening...anobody else have faults??

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 22nd, 2009, 6:00 pm

is the waranty still valid
if it is get a lawyer and dont wait to late

Postby 7143 » August 22nd, 2009, 6:08 pm

hong kong phooey,yea that would make plenty sense.....cause nobody aint buy no van from the company in hopes that it would rust away immediateli....

edelbrock

Postby edelbrock » August 23rd, 2009, 10:36 am

got some experience with this problem:

Take a flash light and look into the cowl panel (where the wiper arms are) at the inside of the firewall seam. you should see some rust there. what I noticed upon scrapping the front of the 3.5 yr old ranger 4x4 was that the rust appears to be restricted to the cab seams (where the sheetmetal overlaps). Removal of the seam sealant showed no coating underneath. It had the appearance of the cab being sprayed or dipped after the seam sealant was applied...which might still be acceptable if the sealant itself was engineered to be the corrosion solution for the joint. It apparently was not effective. Or might be a bad batch of sealant.

The end result is rust developing inbetween the seams of the cab and showing most prominently in the areas where water runs down from the windscreen into the cowl and inside the fenders. The body panels, doors, tray etc dont seem to have that problem....just the cab shell itself.

Cant tell you how upsetting this was to the owner and the reason I even bother to post anything on this is so that if we do find as consumers that there is a defect on these vehicles that there should be some solidarity for redress of the defective vehicles.
It is ridiculous that the consumer should be required to bust open cab seams on a practically new 200K vehicle and spend another 10k- 18K to effect repairs.

Postby 7143 » August 23rd, 2009, 11:24 am

edelbrock,well yuh have to pay to learn eh....now go sell it and buy a toyota.... :lol:

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » August 23rd, 2009, 11:54 am

7143 wrote:edelbrock,well yuh have to pay to learn eh....now go sell it and buy a toyota.... :lol:

Should have bought the toyota in the first place..lol

Postby 7143 » August 23rd, 2009, 3:21 pm

ssankar,yota ftw....

Mr. Go Slow

Re: FORD RANGERS Rottening

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 24th, 2009, 12:07 am

Nissan Forever wrote:People beware of FORD Rangers they are rottening under the front fenders,inside the bonnet area under door rubbers and in very inconspicuous areas.
I know dat because my dad has one TCH Ranger and he is getting the run around from Ford right now i also have a partner with the same complaints so people please check urs if u own a ford ranger

Thanks "Nissan Forever" ... Any chance of some photos instead of a wild rant? Thank you! :roll:

Postby 7143 » August 24th, 2009, 5:05 pm

^yea photos would be real good...give the owners an idea of where exactli to look....

Nissan Forever

Ford Ranger gone for repairs

Postby Nissan Forever » September 2nd, 2009, 5:49 pm

Well the firm took it in for repairs dont know if it might help but will inform my fellow tuners.

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » September 21st, 2009, 11:00 pm

any update on this?

Postby 7143 » September 22nd, 2009, 11:24 am

*waiting for pics*

Return to “FORD”