My little project

From Escorts to Rangers - First On Race Day

LDS FORD

My little project

Postby LDS FORD » November 20th, 2008, 10:26 pm

Hey guys I'm new to forum and want to introduce my self.....i'm an ole skool enthusiast, with a special love for fords & Mercedes....

i have a little ford ford restoration project i did, she is basically 98% original body & mechanical except for the engine bay color combinations(pics will speak for it's self):lol:......
i have every thing in her functional even down to the factory A/C works..
I don't have good pics but i put these up for now until i get a digicam......enjoy

future plans...a restoration of a classic Mercedes Benz...
both positive & negative welcomed

Conrad

Postby Conrad » November 21st, 2008, 7:46 pm

Props to you sir. You have a great eye for detail.

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » November 21st, 2008, 9:08 pm

WOW, we cud lime... that's one of the best Corties I've seen in a long time... and I also love ole Mercedes Benz's... my dream is to own a W126 500SEC.

I had a UK MK5 Ghia (there's a secret to tell UK built cars) up to Feb this year. It was about 99% original... meaning original body and mechanicals, paintwork, black vinyl roof, Chatsworth velour upholstery, and the list goes on.

The only additions/alterations were a Nissan B13 brake booster, mitsu alternator, and a Pioneer 4 speaker system (the speakers were installed to look like an oem setup). The only reason I sold it was due to lack of space in the garage, and I miss it dearly. Luckily the guy who bought it is also an enthusiast and completely restored it in original spec, so if ever you see a bess PAL registered Ghia in white with black roof, that was mine :cry: I posted pics below.

My mom also has a MK5 which she owned from brand new. It's a 1.6L auto which she optioned out when she bought it. It came with A/C, vinyl roof, outer door mouldings, bumper over-riders, and deep dish wheel embellishers. Over the years we've upgraded the dash to Ghia spec, added oem power steering (altho the pump is now dead), and did some other interior retrofits which I can't stand now. The car hasn't been used in about 5 years but I'm fighting mom to keep it as a project. I wanna restore it to original spec, but swap out the drivetrain for a 2.0 pinto with the Weber 32/36 auto-choke carb, and 5 speed gearbox, add oem chin and boot spoilers, fogs, and Escort XR3 'clover leaf' alloys... essentially making it a Cortina XR6 (minus the V6 engine)

Here's my ole car

LDS FORD

Postby LDS FORD » November 22nd, 2008, 10:51 am

damieG82, Conrad,....thanks for the positive feed back.....

damieG82, I must say you did an excellent job in keeping her original....sorry to hear you sold it and i hope the new owner takes excellent care of her....

I'm sorry I did not joined this website sooner....I see their are ppl who feels the same about these wonderful cars...... I'm not into the mechanical to much...that is handled by my cousin Dave....he is a guru when it comes to European cars...... I on the other hand, am in charge of Restoration, replication & presention of my projects.....

I must admit...i have not spent much time on her as i would have liked......things are hectic right now....but this weekend she is going to get some TLC.....

I'm would like to sell her soon, but you would know only certain ppl can fill that criteria... :lol: ....I just need the right person to sell her to..If you know anyone who fills that criteria and may be interested let me know pls.

Do you have pics of your moms ride?

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » November 24th, 2008, 9:03 am

Yea man, I'll check around for you for a buyer... who knows I might take it if the finances available at that time.

I'll take some pics of mom's own today. Btw, where do you get parts?

Mixbreed

Postby Mixbreed » November 26th, 2008, 12:18 pm

Nice ride, did you buy this from an olg guy in the west?
Was it silver?
I used to fix one in the West for an old White guy it was a Belgium Ghia, in the best condition ever. If it is this is probably the best cortina out.
Take it Easy............

LDS FORD

Postby LDS FORD » November 27th, 2008, 12:31 pm

No it's a 100% south car....2 previous & myself...

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » November 27th, 2008, 8:07 pm

very nice car...i have one as well not as good as urs but good. Im looking to sell it though to buy a PERFECT mk4 next year. I have a question though what is the appeal of the cortina car? How did u come to know and love it as much as you do, when there r "better" cars of the same era out there?

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » November 27th, 2008, 8:09 pm

Oh andLDS FORD, whats the asking price of the ford

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » November 29th, 2008, 1:05 pm

trini mk5 wrote:very nice car...i have one as well not as good as urs but good. Im looking to sell it though to buy a PERFECT mk4 next year. I have a question though what is the appeal of the cortina car? How did u come to know and love it as much as you do, when there r "better" cars of the same era out there?

What are these 'better' cars you're talking about??

Cortinas since the MK3 model were the best selling midsize cars in Europe right up until they were replaced with the Sierra. This could be attributed to the fact that they were spacious, had clever features which few other cars at the time had, and the ride quality and handling was excellent since the suspension system (esp on the front) is sophisticated even by today's standards: double wishbones with gas shocks and srings.

The engines were torquey which meant quick acceleration and relaxed cruising and overtaking, and safety was also tops thanks to heavy gauge steel used throughout, front and rear crumple zones, and a collapsible steering column. I guarantee you that no Japanese car of that era was safer.

So pardon me if I beg to differ that there were better (competing) cars in that time. To get better you'd have to move into Mercedes territory.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » November 29th, 2008, 2:19 pm

there were nissan bluebird 280c mits. lancer, galant,toyota cressida, corolla, charmant, etc.
What i want to knw is if the cortina was so good why is it dying out especially the engine and is not being kept alive like the lancer and galant. Could it be because its an english car?? The pinto engine with the right mods is just as good as any SR20.
I like the cortina but i want to knw why other ppl like it as well

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » November 29th, 2008, 5:30 pm

First of all, none of those cars you mentioned are better than a Cortina... not one has the level of engineering Ford put into its cars back then. I'd sum it up the Cortina's decline to lack of dealer support, and the fact that it is an english car which means comparitively higher maintenance costs.

The Ford brand in Trinidad never had it easy, first being offered under the H.E. Robinson dealership, then Mc Enearney Robinson, and finally Mc Enearney Motors, each having different owners and a maze of mergers and acquisitions that made consistent dealer support impossible. And coupled to that is the fact that the Cortina was never sold in Asian/ American markets to warrant Asian part manufactures to produce parts for them as they do with a Corolla or a Lancer.

Not to mention the Cortina was never a cheap car to buy. My mom ordered a Ghia back in 1982 and was quoted $47K, but unavailability meant she settled for the optioned out 1.6 which she still has, and that cost $38K. She was also considering a Galant 2000, Cressida or a 626, all of which were between 35 to 40K. So the 1.6 Corty cost just as much as 1.8 and 2 litres competitors.

As for why I like them... for me its the mix of old 'coke bottle' and square Scandinavian styling... one look at it and it screams euro. It only handles great, goes great, very stable at high speeds, and surprising easy to work on yourself, and modify. And being of that era means it benefits from the pedigree of Ford's motorsport dominance in a multitude of categories.

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » November 29th, 2008, 5:54 pm

Ok folks, I took some pics of mom's Corty

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » November 30th, 2008, 9:20 am

Funny i also have a PAH mk5...point well taken btw!

Postby wagon r » November 30th, 2008, 7:29 pm

...very nice....

...wait till banzai, dragist and MG get in here.....

fastredminx

Postby fastredminx » November 30th, 2008, 10:24 pm

and to tink ah call the iron man for all meh contina parts ah had lying around, if only this post was up bout ah month ago :( some of you guys woulda have ah smile to bite your ears off!
lds hats off for one clean ass machine, damie boy da could be a bad ass sleeper project yuh mom have in the yard.... 2.3pinto, 3.0v6, twin cam lotus......
really dig the interior was that a sun roof i spy?

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » December 1st, 2008, 8:05 am

^^ Serious? What parts you had??

Yea, the car has a sunroof, and the seats were changed to foreign used ones. I like the colour and Cortina's did have a red interior colour scheme so when I reinstall original seats (hopefully fish-net Recaro's from a GLS) I'll do over the upholstery in red. As for the engine, I haven't decided which direction to go as yet. The car currently has the original 1.6 pinto engine and an overhauled tranny so it's all good in that department... don't know if to mod it or swap out totally. My ideal would be a 2.8 V6 injected engine and 5 speed gearbox from a Capri or Granada, but that would be real dollars to import down here.

Precious Roy

Postby Precious Roy » December 2nd, 2008, 1:48 am

Very good job! I especially like what you did with the tappet cover, how did you do that? :?:

I have a MK4 estate myself that i'm working on.

The engine pic is an old one it looks much better now, this was taken when I had the radiator out to change the timing belt some time ago. Its a 1.6 with a 32/36 replacing the original single throat. I was able to modify the 1.6 air cleaner housing for the Weber and managed to find a K&N E-1080 filter to fit it.

fastredminx

Postby fastredminx » December 4th, 2008, 7:56 pm

well damie boy take ah breath an have ah seat it goes as follows: 1.6 bored out to appox 1.8l was using 30thou 2.0l pistons, burman high pressure oil pump, manley "big as they get" valves, 9lbs or 13lbs (can't remember) flywheel, crane cam with adjustable cam gear, electronic dizzy with msd 6al, lynx short side daught manifold, 4 speed new model box, the head was bored to &%$# out as "water" was struck on one of the intake ports!!!! we some sort of crap like epoxy to "patch" it and by the grace of the mighty one it frigging worked!!! think it was navicoat(don't know if ah spelled it right) .........this was the complete package! also had a c3 tranny. i still have the electronic dizzy, camshaft which i'm not to sure on the specs, 40mm daughts, 38/38, 32/36 & 28/36 webers. boy da sheit used to rev 8k+ and was ah beyotch to drive under 2.5k.
on another note i got a 2.0l v6 & box, buy ah whole bloody granada(damaged) for it only to find out it's a 2.0l if you want it any "donation" would do cause it will cost some $$$$ to bring back! the car was on the port for some time!!!
and lol ah man have a decent mark 4 cortina wagon yesss that's what i'm talking bout good ole english power to the people :!: :wink:

OldSkoolRule

Postby OldSkoolRule » December 7th, 2008, 12:09 am

Anybody out there know bout the MkIII???? I have a yellow MkIII GT with 2000 pinto in it, that i can't bear to part with but its in a bit of a state. would like some resto-parts like lights, fenders, anything at all, etc its still in good shape, but it is afer all an old car. also have a MkI and MkII Escort. want a L/s fender, lights and grille for the MkII escort.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » December 7th, 2008, 10:07 am

OldSkoolRule, check pm

fastredminx

Postby fastredminx » December 7th, 2008, 10:36 pm

check partsman on the forum or tulsie from princess magret in claxon bay

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » February 18th, 2010, 2:28 pm

Ver nice cortina man, not to mention d bluewagon as well, Its been a while since I've seen these cars in such gr8 condition, my sceondary school teacher has a really sweet PAW, mint condition, white, its from whiteland, He's had it for years, till this day he still has it! Big up d old school enthusiasts! :D

Ironclad

Postby Ironclad » February 19th, 2010, 4:21 pm

LSD ford sweet ride jus started my project itching for it to come out the paint shop will post pics wen possible...

axg24

Postby axg24 » February 20th, 2010, 3:44 pm

very nice recovery. great gloss dude. :turn-l:

LDS FORD

Postby LDS FORD » February 21st, 2010, 3:06 pm

Ironclad wrote:LSD ford sweet ride jus started my project itching for it to come out the paint shop will post pics wen possible...

nice to see ppl doing oleskool projects.... post pics when you can...

Ironclad

Postby Ironclad » February 25th, 2010, 3:10 pm

i heard that it have a guy on the road heading to princess town with alot of cortina parts any truth behind dis? :shock:

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » February 25th, 2010, 11:48 pm

^^ yea, he is "partsman" on here... the name of the place is Ghany's... but its past princes town... more rio claro vicinity

Re:

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » September 14th, 2011, 2:53 pm

Precious Roy wrote:Very good job! I especially like what you did with the tappet cover, how did you do that? :?:

I have a MK4 estate myself that i'm working on.

The engine pic is an old one it looks much better now, this was taken when I had the radiator out to change the timing belt some time ago. Its a 1.6 with a 32/36 replacing the original single throat. I was able to modify the 1.6 air cleaner housing for the Weber and managed to find a K&N E-1080 filter to fit it.

Couldnt pull out the camera in time , but i passed one in chaguanas, the wagon that is, red with black stripes right around it. has to be a foreign used shell.
ImPECCABLE condition. Have to see it again.
Original down to the OMBOLLISHERS n the original Ghia rims etc.
Car looked really good.

trini mk5

Re: My little project

Postby trini mk5 » October 16th, 2011, 9:40 pm

saw this

Return to “FORD”