new ford focus

From Escorts to Rangers - First On Race Day

BC

new ford focus

Postby BC » June 9th, 2007, 11:28 am

I'm thinking about buying one. What are the pros and cons of this car?

gfbl

Postby gfbl » June 12th, 2007, 7:36 am

good suspension. Good brakes. no probs for the past year. do it.

BC

Postby BC » June 12th, 2007, 10:39 am

i heard that the suspension was really good. This is one of my more feasible options. Thanks for the review.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » June 12th, 2007, 2:17 pm

lol. Not much of a review. But the brakes are surprisingly good. Suspension absorbs bumps with ease. No probs except for an alt change which the company did in one day. No expense to me. Tiptronic is decent. I have driven the mazda 3, corolla and i think this is better. Alt would be the new civic

adri 2nr

Postby adri 2nr » June 15th, 2007, 3:03 pm

i think this and the mazda 3 are built on the same platform

k.c.151

Re: new ford focus

Postby k.c.151 » June 15th, 2007, 8:58 pm

BC wrote:I'm thinking about buying one

dooo eeettt....

ase_tt

Postby ase_tt » June 24th, 2007, 7:05 am

dude i have the wagon, and it is sheit, 1) there is a known sensor problem with the engine check light
2) I dont find the suspension all that great, go in a hole and it sounds like yuh the car ready to fall apart

3)the automatic windows sound like a plane when they goin down,
4) the sound system aint ready, they try hard but the distortion when bass and heights go up to 7 is real sheit

I say no to FORD, they manufacture sheit

gfbl

Postby gfbl » June 25th, 2007, 10:49 am

damn sorry to hear that man. hope you get those probs sorted out

sketelpimp

Postby sketelpimp » June 27th, 2007, 9:32 am

i own a wagon too bro and i feel u get a bad buy. my wagon runnin bess...i had plenty cars and for performance and suspension it tops. i even throw on some 17's on it and it holdin good. its a sweet ride but u hadda maintain it religiously. Gfbl i say buy it pardner...d ride good.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » June 27th, 2007, 4:46 pm

i think is bc who want the testimonials. i ahve a sedan. where you got the rims from, correct offset and hole pattern??? any pics of the rims on the car?

geanso

Postby geanso » August 1st, 2007, 4:36 pm

i have a hatchback,abt 3 mths now bess ride cant go rong
like d man say doo eet!

Postby X2 » August 6th, 2007, 6:11 pm

Ghia hatchback for over a year.

The suspension is fine, stiffer than I expected, it absorbs bumps well. In typical Focus fashion, the car handles very well... will outhandle most cars in it's price-range.

The brakes are much better than I ever expected. Brake pedal feel is neutral with little to no fade from high speed stops. The cargo area on the h/b is massive when the rear split fold seats are down (with seats and backs folded, the cargo area becomes a large, flat surface...sweet)

My only beef is with the engine (automatic tranny)... the biotch has very slow acceleration and gas mileage is merely so-so... maybe the 5 spd makes up for the difference ?

It does not look as sporty as the Mazda3 (which shares the same chassis, engine, transmission)but I still get plenty looks and I prefer the focus's appearance and larger size. The Mazda3 cannot touch the Focus as far as interior room... the Ford's rear seating capacity is probably tops in it's class... easily seats 2-3 adults and can accomodate people as tall as 6'3" with leg room to boot !

The glove compartment is without a doubt... MASSIVE... plus it's chilled ! So pack in them Tiki bars for the road trip... :lol: The stereo is decent, 6 speakers with pillar mounted tweeters. It also has a nifty gauge mounted digital info screen that gives you outside temp, mileage, tripmeter and remaining fuel estimates. Full power on all 4 windows and very good point of view from the driver's seat.

My overall impression of the car is very positive. I do not regret buying it.

I hope, after the second year of ownership... it doesn't Ford out on me... I expect this car to be fairly good in terms of endurance as our models are the European made cars, as opposed to the dreaded USDM Ford products.

HTH

neckto

Postby neckto » August 23rd, 2007, 8:16 pm

hey i am also looking to buy the new ghia sedan model any more reviews? i need to make a decision asap so any help would be nice it's bet this and the new lancer i never owned a ford before you can call me 362-2716 and i'll call you back if you have advice

Rush

Postby Rush » September 25th, 2007, 7:30 pm

i say buy it,

bought a ford focus h/b second hand, (used for oine year prior)
never had a problem,
feels good, handles well, brakes are excellent
the alternator needed changin once though...
that was the only problem i ever had with it,
and well parts are expensive...
keep that in mind
drive carefully

also own a ford focus 5 speed sedan
bought new, and never had any problems whatsoever,
had it abt 4 years now

Antic

Postby Antic » November 8th, 2007, 5:38 pm

what about the maintenance cost?

Rush

Postby Rush » November 9th, 2007, 11:56 am

well, if u buy it new,
i think u'll get the 'in-one' package

ull get the car
5 years warranty, on body,
3 years warranty on everything else (not just engine and tranny like neal and massy)
fully comprehensive insurance for 5 years
and free service for three years

which sounds like a pretty good deal to me
(i know mitsubishi has this offer, and its the same ansa mcal motors)

umm..maintencase wise, i dont think it shud be too much more expensive
however, if u looking for parts...ull ketch real ass
and parts are obvioulsy super expensve at the firm

but if u buy it new,
u shudnt have that worry...for at least three years

as i said i have two and have no worries

gfbl

Postby gfbl » January 29th, 2008, 7:25 am

i see the newly registered ones PCF and up coming with projector lights. fcuking bastards :D

Khafra

Postby Khafra » March 11th, 2008, 6:35 pm

I too am considering a 5-door ghia, i've seen the new 2008 model and it looks wicked but i know the higher price will be out of my reach so i'm contented with the outgoing model/design

Any other comments re performance especially? i test drove it and found it to be not at zippy as i though it would be given the 1.6 engine. Also how does the manual mode gear shifter help the performance??

Postby X2 » March 11th, 2008, 11:58 pm

manual mode shifting is only really helpful for a quick downshift to pass on teh highway or to stay in gear up a hill... but the car (particularly the automatic) is not big on power... and prolly a bit heavy for a 1.6L engine...

You won't win any races, but it's a fine daily driver overall for the money IMO.

timultious

Postby timultious » March 12th, 2008, 7:55 am

I have a PCE 5-door for sale if anyone's interested. Very low mileage ~ 8000km. Bought it October last year and it's very impressive!

Reason for sale: want to upgrade to a Ranger.

I'm asking $120,000.000 o.n.o

Khafra

Postby Khafra » March 12th, 2008, 8:58 am

X2 wrote:manual mode shifting is only really helpful for a quick downshift to pass on teh highway or to stay in gear up a hill... but the car (particularly the automatic) is not big on power... and prolly a bit heavy for a 1.6L engine...

You won't win any races, but it's a fine daily driver overall for the money IMO.

so i take it that i should expect to get leave back in the dust when the traffic lights turn green??

kinda sucks....i'm very used to the peppiness of the 2006 local corolla's and the Yaris

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » March 15th, 2008, 2:54 pm

i dont think you'll be "left in the dust".... but u definately wont be ahead of everyone...
for sure u feel the weight of the car when u plant ur foot on the pedal, but it's not _that_ bad... once u break in the engine good and stuff :mrgreen:

and BTW... even thought the corolla and yaris may be a bit ahead of you, u cud be damn sure they wont stop like you would at the next light :idea:

i ran a padnah in a corollla one day and i was like wait nah, i know i cud stop but um... *red light* :shock:
all i see is sparks flying from he rims :?

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » March 15th, 2008, 2:59 pm

alternatively theres ah CVT tranny.... when u put it into "tiptronic" u get 7 "virtual gears" (preset ratios) to play with; i'm obviously thinkin that wud accelerate aLOT better than the "real" 4 speed ones we have....

but last i heard mcenearny werent bringing it cuz CVT "new and faulty".... and i doh blame them .... cuz the i doubt the cvt will take as much licks as the 4speed auto...

who knows, maybe they started bringing it in cvt as well...

Khafra

Postby Khafra » March 17th, 2008, 8:19 am

adam_ant_tt wrote:i dont think you'll be "left in the dust".... but u definately wont be ahead of everyone...
for sure u feel the weight of the car when u plant ur foot on the pedal, but it's not _that_ bad... once u break in the engine good and stuff :mrgreen:

and BTW... even thought the corolla and yaris may be a bit ahead of you, u cud be damn sure they wont stop like you would at the next light :idea:

i ran a padnah in a corollla one day and i was like wait nah, i know i cud stop but um... *red light* :shock:
all i see is sparks flying from he rims :?

lol thanks man, truthfully though, the new corrola isnt much better than the Focus, cause its a bigger car withthe same 1.5 from the previous model. The Yaris on the other hand has the spunk, and i'm still waiting forever for lifestyle motors to bring a swift Sport for me to test drive - the sales manager at Lifestyle already call me twice to apologise.....

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » March 17th, 2008, 8:53 pm

man; truthfully.... is personal preference.... if u drive a eurofocus around for a day, and jump into a corolla [ or any japanese car in the price range of the focus] u cah tell me the focus doh feel like a more solid car....
when u in dat car u does feel a quality difference :!:

but daz jus me :mrgreen:
i wud take back my lancer any day for it's sporty feel; but the focus gives a more solid sturdy "in control of the road" feel; an u doh get nonsence like brake fade cuz everything else in the car built to handle the speeds it could do; whereas de lancer... once u past ~140... u on yuh own :lol:

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » March 17th, 2008, 8:56 pm

buh u talk about swift sport n thing... u nah gona get no pep like that from it; unless u buy the Focus ST :twisted:

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 25th, 2008, 1:52 pm

how is the service from the firm? I find the Ghia Hatchback to be very impressive for the price and the ride quality is European ....solid and smooth. Very well equipped car....but how's the service?

And can you get the parts from anywhere else other than the dealer?

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » April 25th, 2008, 1:55 pm

i doh know anywhere but i'm sure it must have one or 2 places. warranty for 3 yrs so u covered for that time if anythign goes wrong and free service too... they do a pretty good job i think. u'll have to jus pay for like brake pads and 'ware and tear' parts like that.
a set of front brake discs cost about a gran :roll:
but their service center is good, at least compared with the others in the country.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 25th, 2008, 2:10 pm

adam_ant_tt....great....thanks for the info

Khafra

Postby Khafra » April 25th, 2008, 2:27 pm

adam_ant_tt wrote:i doh know anywhere but i'm sure it must have one or 2 places. warranty for 3 yrs so u covered for that time if anythign goes wrong and free service too... they do a pretty good job i think. u'll have to jus pay for like brake pads and 'ware and tear' parts like that.
a set of front brake discs cost about a gran :roll:
but their service center is good, at least compared with the others in the country.

Yup i've had my Blue Ghia 5-door for almost a month now,

been working real nice, when u think u doing 100 u really doing 120, u dont feel it fus the ride so solid.

service has been good too, anything i need checked out they very enthusistic about getting it done. i have no regrets at all....

Return to “FORD”