BJ Heating Up
Posted: January 5th, 2013, 4:20 pm
by StileHD
Noticed my temperature going up when sitting in traffic with the a/c OFF
and also
When going up steep inclines
The temperature returns to normal when I turn the A/C on or return to a flat surface
What could be causing this?
Re: BJ Heating Up
Posted: January 5th, 2013, 4:36 pm
by SweeP
check yuh cooling fan an see if it coming on !!
Posted: January 6th, 2013, 9:05 am
by StileHD
SweeP wrote:check yuh cooling fan an see if it coming on !!
yea it is.
Posted: January 6th, 2013, 9:39 am
by Strugglerzinc
Thermostat may be sticking closed to some extent. Remove it and run car to see if problem still exists then change if necessary.
Posted: January 6th, 2013, 4:47 pm
by wagonrunner
when last did you flush out your radiator?
Posted: January 6th, 2013, 5:32 pm
by SweeP
op yuh car losing any water way yuh have to top up regular??
Posted: January 6th, 2013, 9:27 pm
by cinco
wash down that car with lime and blue soap

but check your cooling system also check your maf/clean it
there is an airflow sensor on there when the maf is failing causes the temp guage to rise
Posted: January 6th, 2013, 9:32 pm
by Strugglerzinc
cinco wrote:wash down that car with lime and blue soap

there is an airflow sensor on there when the maf is failing causes the temp guage to rise
First time hearing this so bear with me, is it an electrical relation to the gauge itself or an a/f ratio problem that causes the MAF to affect engine temperature?
Posted: January 6th, 2013, 9:34 pm
by FullStop
Strugglerzinc wrote:cinco wrote:wash down that car with lime and blue soap

First time hearing this so bear with me, is it an electrical relation to the gauge itself or an a/f ratio problem that causes the MAF to affect engine temperature?
cinco was drunk..ignore him...
Posted: January 7th, 2013, 2:50 am
by StileHD
Well I flush out the system completely and it hasn't heat up since and I made a maracas run. But since it giving a serious jerking/jolting when in park and driving at slow speeds.
Whaz dat?
Posted: January 7th, 2013, 2:52 am
by StileHD
cinco wrote:wash down that car with lime and blue soap

LOL! a lil car jumbie to keep life exciting boy. small ting.
Posted: January 7th, 2013, 8:51 am
by cinco
ghostbusters wrote:Strugglerzinc wrote:cinco wrote:wash down that car with lime and blue soap

cinco was drunk..ignore him...
shet yer pie hole
the maf has an Air Temp Sensor on it
when my maf was acting up my temp would rise for no reason in traffic but once moving it would be fine. change maf no more problem!
Posted: January 7th, 2013, 11:59 am
by wagonrunner
StileHD wrote:Well I flush out the system completely and it hasn't heat up since and I made a maracas run. But since it giving a serious jerking/jolting when in park and driving at slow speeds.
Whaz dat?
check your engine mounts, and color / scent of your transmission fluid.
Posted: January 7th, 2013, 12:46 pm
by cinco
StileHD wrote:Well I flush out the system completely and it hasn't heat up since and I made a maracas run. But since it giving a serious jerking/jolting when in park and driving at slow speeds.
Whaz dat?
when yuh flush u disconnect d tranny fluid lines at the bottom of the radiator?
Posted: January 7th, 2013, 3:59 pm
by StileHD
cinco wrote:StileHD wrote:Well I flush out the system completely and it hasn't heat up since and I made a maracas run. But since it giving a serious jerking/jolting when in park and driving at slow speeds.
Whaz dat?
when yuh flush u disconnect d tranny fluid lines at the bottom of the radiator?
The first two times I actually took the radiator out. But when I used the "rad flush" I didn't disconnect those lines.
BOY!!!! This car is to give away yes!!!! So it seems like both problems are solved...for now.
I flush the radiator about 5 times and everything seems nice and clean now. A/C blowing nice.
And I change plug wires to some good NGK ones and plugs...and car back to voom voom status.
Dese lil things that unrelated does get me vex boy.
Posted: January 7th, 2013, 4:32 pm
by mazda trix
doh give away how much yuh want for it!!!!! jus remember yuh know wat yur have dont know wat yur will get
Posted: January 7th, 2013, 4:58 pm
by nareshseep
mazda trix wrote:doh give away how much yuh want for it!!!!! jus remember yuh know wat yur have dont know wat yur will get
agreed x2
buh if yuh decide to sell how much yuh want,, yuh could even give it away to me
Posted: January 7th, 2013, 9:56 pm
by FullStop
change ur rad hoses dude, rad flush is dangerous bizness.
Posted: January 7th, 2013, 10:40 pm
by cinco
ah hav 10 dollas cash money

glad u gettin tru tho
think bout it this way if u sell an buy a nex used car u dunno what problems u go encounter at least u know the problems with this one
Posted: January 8th, 2013, 7:48 am
by StileHD
Ahahaha!!! Allyuh cute yes. I wasn't actually gonna give it away. I am 21 and worked hard and bought this car myself at 19 and taking care of it a lot. And I have the same line of thought, once I selling, I gonna buy a NEW CAR and make it the company problem when there is a problem. Otherwise I go fight up to learn this one. Thanks for all the help on the forum also.
Posted: January 8th, 2013, 8:48 am
by cinco
persistence is the key man
at least you getting through nothing more rewarding than working and fixing up yuh own ride
btw yuh shud post a pic of yuh car i eh go pass yuh on d road if ah see yuh shutdown

*edit err doh call we cute nah hoss

Posted: January 9th, 2013, 1:08 pm
by FullStop
StileHD wrote:Ahahaha!!! Allyuh cute yes. I wasn't actually gonna give it away. I am 21 and worked hard and bought this car myself at 19 and taking care of it a lot. And I have the same line of thought, once I selling, I gonna buy a NEW CAR and make it the company problem when there is a problem. Otherwise I go fight up to learn this one. Thanks for all the help on the forum also.
dont take that chain up, after sales service is nearly non existent. ur still better off foreign used...
Posted: January 9th, 2013, 6:35 pm
by cinco
ghostbusters wrote:StileHD wrote:Ahahaha!!! Allyuh cute yes. I wasn't actually gonna give it away. I am 21 and worked hard and bought this car myself at 19 and taking care of it a lot. And I have the same line of thought, once I selling, I gonna buy a NEW CAR and make it the company problem when there is a problem. Otherwise I go fight up to learn this one. Thanks for all the help on the forum also.
dont take that chain up, after sales service is nearly non existent. ur still better off foreign used...
i disagree ALOT
new ftw
Posted: January 10th, 2013, 7:39 pm
by StileHD
cinco wrote:ghostbusters wrote:StileHD wrote:Ahahaha!!! Allyuh cute yes. I wasn't actually gonna give it away. I am 21 and worked hard and bought this car myself at 19 and taking care of it a lot. And I have the same line of thought, once I selling, I gonna buy a NEW CAR and make it the company problem when there is a problem. Otherwise I go fight up to learn this one. Thanks for all the help on the forum also.
i disagree ALOT
new ftw
Posted: January 10th, 2013, 7:44 pm
by StileHD
cinco wrote:persistence is the key man
at least you getting through nothing more rewarding than working and fixing up yuh own ride
btw yuh shud post a pic of yuh car i eh go pass yuh on d road if ah see yuh shutdown

*edit err doh call we cute nah hoss

yea I duz feel accomplished when I fix sumn. Wud post more in the "Show us your BJ" eventually
hopefully I don't shut down

Posted: January 11th, 2013, 9:47 am
by cinco
looks good
yeh i hope yuh doh shutdown either nah but the way your luck with this car is