Help: 323 protege sifter keeps sticking in Park.....

Posted: June 7th, 2012, 11:40 pm
by DEVIANT
Good Day Tuners,

I would like some help in diagnosing this problem. I have a mazda 323 protege and recently, the sifter sometimes sticks in the Park position and after some tugging it releases........I had experienced the problem occasionally about 6 months ago, but it stopped, now its happening again but more frequently .

Any advice given would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Re: Help: 323 protege sifter keeps sticking in Park.....

Posted: June 8th, 2012, 10:47 am
by cinco
the brake interlock for the shift selector is sticking

Posted: June 9th, 2012, 12:54 pm
by DEVIANT
Thanks Cinco...........so would changing the sifter selector unit help solve the problem???

Posted: June 11th, 2012, 6:46 am
by cinco
check the brake interlock basically when you press the brake it is supposed to release the shift solenoid
on another note check you mounts sometimes the tranny mount can go bad and make that shifting hard

Posted: June 11th, 2012, 7:15 am
by red bwoy
i had that same problem awhile back i won't recommend doing what i did though i pressed in the bypass switch and left it like that no worries since ......... If you have kids who will interfere with it and regularly leave them in the vehicle with the engine running don't do it get the brake interlock switch checked/changed

Posted: June 11th, 2012, 12:31 pm
by cinco
red bwoy wrote:i had that same problem awhile back i won't recommend doing what i did though i pressed in the bypass switch and left it like that no worries since ......... If you have kids who will interfere with it and regularly leave them in the vehicle with the engine running don't do it get the brake interlock switch checked/changed

boy we grow up with cars that didnt have that
wam live a little :lol: :lol:

Posted: June 11th, 2012, 8:31 pm
by DEVIANT
thanks guys.