Mazda 323 BJ Help Needed

MAZDA People United - it continues here

StileHD

Mazda 323 BJ Help Needed

Postby StileHD » February 26th, 2012, 4:20 am

I have a ZL Engine BJ and as of late i've begun to get a hesitant pull off from rest and the car idles roughly. Sometimes even when in 3rd you can feel the car jolting forward. When coming to a stop, it would sometimes cut off. The mechanic disconnected the coolant temperature sensor and despite a rough idle, the car runs smoothly, no hesitation to pull off, no cutting off and no jolting. We then changed the sensor and connected the line...the problem returned. Right now im running the car with it disconnected and as such the fans run constantly and there is no reading on my temperature gauge. Can anyone give a suggestion to the problem and solution plz

UPDATE:
Changed camshaft & crankshaft sensors along with the 2 coilpacks. Only difference is more fire going down the highway (when the coolant temperature sensor is unplugged otherwise, same thing).
Also i've noticed that when the engine is running and I unplug the coolant temperature sensor...the engine does not shut off, just idles smoother without the miss you would hear if it were plugged in. From what I know, the engine supposed to shut off... Bought a bad temperature sensor? Electrical? Help plz
Last edited by StileHD on February 26th, 2012, 3:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

323tuner

Re: Mazda 323 BJ Help Needed

Postby 323tuner » February 26th, 2012, 8:58 am

Had this same issue with the 1.5l vvt ZL-VE engine, it was my camshaft & crankshaft sensors, had to change both of them, problem stopped immediately, also both my coil packs were leaking & I eventually changed them, you should go do a diagnostic test just to be certain.

StileHD

Postby StileHD » February 26th, 2012, 10:05 am

I'm considering changing those 2 sensors and both coilpacks given the mileage on the car (239,000) along with all the hosing. Give me a price for the sensors and coilpacks and where you got them let me see how much tears my pocket needs to shed.

StileHD

Postby StileHD » February 26th, 2012, 3:36 pm

UPDATE:
Changed camshaft & crankshaft sensors along with the 2 coilpacks. Only difference is more fire going down the highway (when the coolant temperature sensor is unplugged otherwise, same thing).
Also i've noticed that when the engine is running and I unplug the coolant temperature sensor...the engine does not shut off, just idles smoother without the miss you would hear if it were plugged in. From what I know, the engine supposed to shut off... Bought a bad temperature sensor? Electrical? Help plz

mazda trix

Postby mazda trix » February 26th, 2012, 8:36 pm

jus guessing when the coolant temperature sensor is unplugged yuh tricking de brain to dump more fuel at idle speed thinking de engine cold so check injectors or pump I could be wrong

Postby cinco » February 27th, 2012, 2:45 pm

clean your maf and egr if you have one

StileHD

Postby StileHD » February 27th, 2012, 7:53 pm

cinco wrote:clean your maf and egr if you have one

Give me some instructions where to find these plz bro. I ran it tonight from east to west....worked perfect except for starting which i suspect i didnt space the crankshaft sensor properly

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 27th, 2012, 8:49 pm

Was it a new temp sensor? Sounds like a fueling or MAF related issue. Cinco, the EGR shouldn't affect high speed.

Without the temp sensor, it will fool the ECU to think its cold and probably go closed loop. This will pour more gas into it as said above which seems to temporarily help the issue.

As you can see, the Cam and Crank sensors are not the be all and end all of BJ issues. I swear one day if a man says he's constantly getting flat tyres, someone's gonna chime in and say cam and crank sensors.

323tuner

Postby 323tuner » February 27th, 2012, 10:29 pm

As suggested before, you should do a diagnostic test to be certain that all sensors are functioning properly and that their voltage output & resistance are correct as some diagnostic electricians check each sensor in addition to the ecu codes. Sometimes there are no error codes detected from the ecu when diagnostics are done although there is a faulty sensor or electrical component, the electrician named Steve in Reform is as good as they get, otherwise its a trial & error process again.

Postby cinco » February 28th, 2012, 4:03 pm

the cold hesitation is caused by the egr valve also
so i was trying to get him to verify those are ok then move to the other problems

StileHD

Postby StileHD » February 28th, 2012, 8:59 pm

Cleaned EGR Valve and MAF Sensor. Great improvement in performance and fuel consumption, but the problem still exist (NOT AS BAD AS BEFORE THO, PROBABLY JUST ONE REV UP AND DOWN FROM PULL OFF). Not shutting off again, jus the rough idle with a jump in between ocassionally. A mechanic told me that it could be one of 2 problems: Plugs not screwed in evenly....and injector seal gone bad...

Also, anyone know the spacing required between the crank sensor and the crank pulley? Having some problems setting this spacing to get a good clean start without the overdone tumbling.

StileHD

Postby StileHD » February 28th, 2012, 9:05 pm

cinco wrote:the cold hesitation is caused by the egr valve also
so i was trying to get him to verify those are ok then move to the other problems

What's next?

StileHD

Postby StileHD » February 28th, 2012, 9:07 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Was it a new temp sensor? Sounds like a fueling or MAF related issue. Cinco, the EGR shouldn't affect high speed.

Without the temp sensor, it will fool the ECU to think its cold and probably go closed loop. This will pour more gas into it as said above which seems to temporarily help the issue.

As you can see, the Cam and Crank sensors are not the be all and end all of BJ issues. I swear one day if a man says he's constantly getting flat tyres, someone's gonna chime in and say cam and crank sensors.

Yes it was a new temp sensor. Don't believe in buying those things used. LOl @ crank and cam...u know the spacing for the crank sensor?

Postby cinco » February 29th, 2012, 6:56 am

ok time to clean the throttle body and injectors
two bolts and the injector rail comes out soak them wiht amsoil power foam and buy new injector seals available at repu auto in couva
btw all these things you are cleaning now should be part of regular maintenance once a year or so go through all those cleaning
are you seeing any smoke?
what plugs are you using? b5kre?

StileHD

Postby StileHD » February 29th, 2012, 7:45 am

cinco wrote:ok time to clean the throttle body and injectors
two bolts and the injector rail comes out soak them wiht amsoil power foam and buy new injector seals available at repu auto in couva
btw all these things you are cleaning now should be part of regular maintenance once a year or so go through all those cleaning

BKR5E-11 which are the NGK V-Power with the green writing. Previously there was another one with blue writing and a different code which i believe was the standard plugs. Changed these about 2 weeks ago. Na no smoke, there was smoke about 3 weeks ago (greysih whiteish...not black) but that gone now. So just foam up the throttle body and injectors with foam? Bought this car in september, should've done all this when i bought it tho

Postby cinco » February 29th, 2012, 8:20 am

yup foam im up best to remove the throttle body and clean it and well remove the injectors to foam them up
are you losing coolant/water?
what colour is the coolant in the over flow bottle?
black smoke is unburnt fuel greyish/whitish is coolant

StileHD

Postby StileHD » February 29th, 2012, 8:51 am

cinco wrote:yup foam im up best to remove the throttle body and clean it and well remove the injectors to foam them up

Na im not loosing coolant. That was long ago...i think before head gasket work was done. How hard is the throttle body to remove? :|...and u know the gap for the crankshaft sensor using the feeler gauge?

Postby cinco » February 29th, 2012, 9:07 am

4 bolts it not hard
nah i dont know the gap off hand
read through the FSM see if you can find it

StileHD

Postby StileHD » February 29th, 2012, 9:22 am

cinco wrote:4 bolts it not hard
nah i dont know the gap off hand
read through the FSM see if you can find it

0.5 - 1.5mm (0.02-0.59 in) Just incase someone asks somewhere

Postby cinco » February 29th, 2012, 10:27 am

cool i just didnt feel like reading it through :lol:
btw save that fsm in pdfs it comes in very handy

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 29th, 2012, 7:28 pm

Just make sure you watch how those fuel line clips coming off.

I man spent about half hour just trying to put back one freaking clip last time :|

StileHD

Postby StileHD » February 29th, 2012, 8:15 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:

Just make sure you watch how those fuel line clips coming off.

I man spent about half hour just trying to put back one freaking clip last time :|

Didnt cetch my arse to put it in, jus take out one...took about 5 mins. And i break one of the 12 bolts im sure...steups. It tight and snug and i use silicone for the injectors so i en beat up bout dat.

StileHD

Postby StileHD » February 29th, 2012, 8:21 pm

cinco wrote:yup foam im up best to remove the throttle body and clean it and well remove the injectors to foam them up

Did this, still gettin that silly jump after like a 60 seconds idle when i stop at a parking light but not all the time and a very faint resistance when pulling off sometimes. Not cuttin off or fightin to pull off again so i smiling...but i still want that smooth idle without the jump ofcourse. Definitely the car's performance has increased greatly with all the things ive cleaned and changed so far, so I don't mind atall. What next anyone?

Postby cinco » February 29th, 2012, 9:59 pm

auto or manual?
how do your plugs look?
u said u change the coil packs right?

StileHD

Postby StileHD » March 1st, 2012, 12:19 am

cinco wrote:auto or manual?
how do your plugs look?

Auto. Plugs look good, no cracks or anything...will double check in the morning. Yes i changed the coil packs.

Postby wagonrunner » March 1st, 2012, 1:53 am

StileHD wrote:
how do your plugs look?

Auto. Plugs look good, no cracks or anything...will double check in the morning. Yes i changed the coil packs.

dude.... http://www.ngksparkplugs.com/tech_support/spark_plugs/faqs/faqread.asp

or

StileHD

Postby StileHD » March 1st, 2012, 10:31 am

how do your plugs look?

PLugs look normal. Found 2 cracks on one though. Will post some pictures soon...in like 5 mins

StileHD

Postby StileHD » March 1st, 2012, 10:45 am

how do your plugs look?

The cracks I saw this morning after wiping out all...

Postby cinco » March 1st, 2012, 10:48 am

u wash yuh engine recently?

Postby cinco » March 1st, 2012, 10:51 am

the crack is more than likely the cause of your issues
how did you put them into the head? u just drop the plugs in?

Return to “MAZDA”