Why do BJ transmission give so many problems.

MAZDA People United - it continues here

Wudan

Why do BJ transmission give so many problems.

Postby Wudan » November 19th, 2011, 10:05 pm

Why do BJ transmission give so many problems and what can be done to help preserve them????????????

Re: Why do BJ transmission give so many problems.

Postby wagonrunner » November 20th, 2011, 1:00 am

*lawd have mercy. I'm gonna testify in a mazda thread*

What problems do the BJ transmissions give?
out of the three around, regular maintenance (fluid change), properly working radiator and fans, and so far no problems?

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » November 20th, 2011, 1:50 am

You can install a tranny cooler

libra

Postby libra » November 20th, 2011, 9:30 am

correct tranny fluid is a must ....

Suspect79

Postby Suspect79 » November 20th, 2011, 10:22 am

i also had problems with my bj tranny

Wudan

Postby Wudan » November 20th, 2011, 12:54 pm

nareshseep wrote:You can install a tranny cooler

Well that next on the list, someone recommended i can get one in cocoyea.

Wudan

Postby Wudan » November 20th, 2011, 12:55 pm

libra wrote:correct tranny fluid is a must ....

Using Redline now.

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » November 20th, 2011, 7:00 pm

well all i could say is wht wagonrunner said in the five years i've had my car i've had a grand total of 0 tranny related problems that i didnt create and it was just one i tried to race a sr20 in a bluebird using my tiptronic and shifted from 4th to 3rd and blew a solenoid

Postby wagonrunner » November 20th, 2011, 8:18 pm

red bwoy,
that tiptronic allowed you to do that, or you held the lever at "-" trying to downshift?

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » November 20th, 2011, 8:38 pm

it shifted to third at about 150km/hr it ran well untill i shifted to fourth reached the speed cut at about 180 somebody and when i slowed down AT light started blinking when i scanned next day it showed pressure control solenoid bad i drove it like tht for months den the third gear wen i just changed tranny and no probs since tht

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » November 21st, 2011, 8:29 am

These transmissions need a D4 ATF and the transmission filter needs to be changed at around 15k. This seems to be working great for us. Also yes try to get an external transmission cooler but not a very large one as the tranny pump is not so great. Yes the main reason is better cooling but it also removes that dangerous cooler in the ticking time bomb called a radiator. If it ever overheats it will burn the tranny oil and take engine and transmission with it as well... Learned this the hard way :-(

FullStop

Postby FullStop » November 23rd, 2011, 10:42 pm

i think i need a scan for mine, when i got it from the painter, the AT light blinking, no problems though, working fine, may be getting the same thing redbwoy got?

Return to “MAZDA”