WTK: buying my 1st car, Mazda 323 BF

MAZDA People United - it continues here

WTK: buying my 1st car, Mazda 323 BF

Postby dougla_boy » October 10th, 2011, 11:04 am

hey guys, buying my 1st car, which would most likely be a Mazda 323 BF, PAX series. was just wondering what kinda mods can be done, where i can get parts, and so forth. any information on which part is interchangeable with with which car and so on. anyways, 1st thing on my agenda is a good ride height. wah springs or coil overs can i use??

Re: WTK: buying my 1st car, Mazda 323 BF

Postby dougla_boy » October 10th, 2011, 2:15 pm

mazda fellas......wham??

Postby dougla_boy » October 11th, 2011, 8:24 am

oh gorm mazda guys, no help?

mazdaworks

Postby mazdaworks » October 16th, 2011, 1:00 pm

well u can use a bt6 engine in the bf it bolts right in without any mods u can get these by maztune 783-5064 he also get performance parts for them

Computerman

Postby Computerman » October 17th, 2011, 8:37 am

dougla_boy wrote:oh gorm mazda guys, no help?

There's more than enough info on BF in this forum for you to decide what mods you might want to do. Once you know 'the what', then we can advise 'the how'.
BTW, how much you planning to spend on mods? And what you trying to achieve (performance/RICE)?

Postby dougla_boy » October 17th, 2011, 8:49 am

it has the original 1.5 engine, basically i want to put in a 5fwd gearbox, extractors, change the carb to a cone air filter, some nice 15 or 16 inch rims, no crims eh, light weight rims, and little things here and there to make it original yet tastefully modified. shud be buying the car this week, but the work done to it would be more body work, it needs a little work on the roof and a a flash over. so within a week or two i should have a little project ched going.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » October 17th, 2011, 12:17 pm

dougla_boy wrote:it has the original 1.5 engine, basically i want to put in a 5fwd gearbox, extractors,
Gearbox = better control, improved performance and more economy. Extractors alone will not see much gain (if any). Full exhaust, including manifold (extractors), is the proper thing to do.

dougla_boy wrote:change the carb to a cone air filter,
You talking about a CAI. It makes a difference, but you should consider a webber/draughts upgrade.

dougla_boy wrote:some nice 15 or 16 inch rims, no crims eh, light weight rims, and little things here and there to make it original yet tastefully modified.
Lightweight 15's will be better on a stock E5.

I like the way you thinking!

Come to 'the bench' on a Saturday evening, with the car, so we can advise further.

Postby dougla_boy » October 17th, 2011, 12:34 pm

what's "the bench" ??? as soon as i get it i don't mind coming, providing i have the car..........which should be soon...LOL....but yeah....

Postby dougla_boy » October 18th, 2011, 8:38 am

so what's the price of a 5 forward gearbox and installation and when i say installation i mean it looking crisp, like factory installed looking eh...LOL....getting a gearbox is one of the 1st things to do on my list....

Computerman

Postby Computerman » October 18th, 2011, 8:54 am

dougla_boy wrote:what's "the bench" ??? as soon as i get it i don't mind coming, providing i have the car..........which should be soon...LOL....but yeah....
'The Bench' is located in Cocoyea by Maztune.

dougla_boy wrote:so what's the price of a 5 forward gearbox and installation and when i say installation i mean it looking crisp, like factory installed looking eh...LOL....getting a gearbox is one of the 1st things to do on my list....
'bout $3,000.

Postby dougla_boy » October 18th, 2011, 9:06 am

nice, sounds great! hadda save for that early next year, getting tired of driving auto, wanna learn to drive gears better and what not.....thanks man! look out for my lil project thread! soon....

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » October 18th, 2011, 11:35 am

Dougla -boy if you going to spend all that money to do projects i would advisee you to go for a newer car . Parts for those cars are getting more expensive and not as widely available as before.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » October 18th, 2011, 4:25 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:Dougla -boy if you going to spend all that money to do projects i would advisee you to go for a newer car . Parts for those cars are getting more expensive and not as widely available as before.
That is very true! If you can get a BJ that would be much better! :mrgreen:

Postby dougla_boy » October 19th, 2011, 7:34 am

not doing a lot of engine work, most likely i would just put the gearbox, extractors and str8 pipe, and change the carb to a cone air filter(??) i want it to be original, yet tastefully modified, no hard pong crims kinda ting....na.....i got the car at a steal of a deal, so i am taking it and running with it LOL

Computerman

Postby Computerman » October 20th, 2011, 7:45 am

dougla_boy wrote:and change the carb to a cone air filter(??)
Weber 32/34 with a bi-directional cold air feed (not CAI). You can forget the cone filter and put a high flow, small carb filter, over the top of the carb (easy to change/clean).

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » November 26th, 2011, 11:36 pm

Computerman wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:and change the carb to a cone air filter(??)
Weber 32/34 with a bi-directional cold air feed (not CAI). You can forget the cone filter and put a high flow, small carb filter, over the top of the carb (easy to change/clean).

Where can one source the above part for a Mazda TC (1.3L) engine from the Mazda RWD 323? Not very knowledgeable re: Webers. Also, what is a bi-directional cold air feed.

fringo

Postby fringo » December 6th, 2011, 8:25 pm

i started off thinking jus like u, 1st i wanted to upgrade the engine and get a box, now i have a b5DOHC with extractors, 2inch piping, 5fwd gear box with act 4puck copper clutch and heavy duty pressure plate, changed my brake booster to a b14 booster, drop springs 1.5" in front, 1" in back, currently running a set of 13" mags( not doing much justice, in need of some 15's) soon to upgrade front brakes suspension

speed2

Postby speed2 » December 16th, 2011, 9:19 am

Parts for this car easy to get and cheap for now you just have to know where to look. A gearbox should be for around $500.00 - $800.00 but the problaem is to get the pedles. i think maztune have a set of pedles. Then you have to get the slave cylinder and master cylinder if you have the hydrolic box. The shifter you can use a lazer one you would just have to long gate the holes to bolt it. You can shorten the top of the shifter and lengthen the bottom to make the gears closer (short shift). You can use a 32/36 webber or the holly. Extractors would not make you feel any diff unless you change the entire pipng but you cant go to big because you loss the power. At the end of the day you will prob be spending a lot of money to go nowhere so bess buy the b6 turbo. These engines are original from the bf 323 so your car would still be original. if you interested i have some parts for this type of car, like broad bumper, the whole front and a z5 engine and gearbox shifter and pedles. you can give me a call.Ryan @ 706-5777

mazdaworks

Postby mazdaworks » December 23rd, 2011, 2:42 pm

i have a new 3/4 racing cam for the 1.5 engine you can call me on 475-2845

codymoore1017

Postby codymoore1017 » February 11th, 2015, 11:39 am

mazda bj gearbox for sale $2500

my number is 2862143