MX6 and CRONOS TUNERS!!!....i need help

MAZDA People United - it continues here

ddog

MX6 and CRONOS TUNERS!!!....i need help

Postby ddog » March 10th, 2011, 11:20 pm

Aite people i getting rel problems with meh mx6. The thing park up for about a year and a half! I fed up. I does see real mx6 on the road and i sure plenty of them is tuners who know what dey doing so help meh nah please....

Here is the low down, it will be kinda long eh....

My car was running a KFZE with a 5fwd box, appropriate ecu and all. The engine was smoking and back pressuring (aye i buy it so eh!) so i had to change it. I got a Millenia KLZE and installed it. Yes a Millenia klze, not DE but ZE. (To the people who want to tell meh the Millenia doh have no ZE, I did my research and the mill ZE has the same head codes as the jspec ZE however with a couple extra letters at the end of the code. The ones with the exact head codes as the jspec are the DE and i was able to see this difference on two millenia engines that were side by side but i digress...)

Installation details...

The KFZE brain and harness was used on the KLZE (The brain has to be chipped for the KL injectors and VRIS to work right).
Therefore the KF distributor (4pin) and VAF was used on the KLZE engine in order to work with the harness.
The other thing i changed was the flange with the coolant temperature sensors. This was necessary because the KF had 2 fan switches together with the signal sensor (tach) while the KL had only one fan switch together with the signal sensor.
Sooo after all that the engine start in one bounce but i really didn't rev to see if there where any probs at the time cause it was a miracle to me that it even start and idle...

Now the locations of the sensors were all different on the Kl as opposed to the KF so now the harness was literally stretching out all over the engine and wires looking like they want to burst out from the connectors. Therefore some extending was in order.
Now for anyone who has worked on the mx harness knows that the temperature sensors are on a separate harness from the main harness. This separate harness consists of the two coolant temp sensors, temp signal/ sending unit and VRIS 1 and 2. Now you see where this going....I extended this and none of these sensors working (I not sure if they were working before). No i not retarded!. I join and matched the correct wires and I tested continuity from one side to where it join on the other. I even had an electrician check just to make sure i eh going stupid.

Now the actual problem or problems....

Soo when the car starts now it misses and backfires until it warm up (coolant temp sensor). No reading on the temp gauge (temp sending unit) and when i rev the Vris solenoids not opening (VRIS 1 and 2). So now of course to make things worse the radiator fan not coming on at all so it overheating. An electrician showed me that if i ground the signal wire to the chassis the temp gauge shud shoot up. That not working. I tried it on a KF cronos and it work so he eh talking shite. He told me it mite be a ground problem. So i grabbed my haynes guides and check all the grounding points and everything seems to be in order. I even split the harness and traced the individual wires of the problem harness back to the grounding points and the ecu. In a desperate attempt i tried the brain from another car just to confirm if it mite be the brain and of course it wasn't. To make things a lil worse a couple of the wires on the Haynes guide are different colours form the actual wires on my car. I even checked all relays and fuses and had my normal electrician double check all of them.

In my attempt for PAID help....

I not calling any names i went by an electrician in Couva side, tell him the problem, he charge meh a 300, I wreck the car back home then same problem. I call a very well known electrician from Montrose and like i get sheit up on the phone before i even get to tell the person what the problem was or actually what i even call for and i eh even say nothing wrong eh. It hard to deal with them kinda people.... :x

Beg for help....

I lost. I really need some advice here. I sure this cud be some real simple stupid thing I overlooking but I just not seeing it. I sure people do this conversion before cause these millenia engines actually selling in the bamboo and i saw it in other places as well. So please if any body had run into this prob leh me know the fix nah. Any kinda advice grateful or if you cud even point meh to an electrician who does wire car and cud actually talk to people in sociable manner lemmeh know nah... :cry:

libra

Re: MX6 and CRONOS TUNERS!!!....i need help

Postby libra » March 12th, 2011, 9:18 pm

good luck man .... sorry i have no info or can recommend anyone

4 Eyes

Postby 4 Eyes » March 13th, 2011, 10:23 pm

There is an electrican in bamboo. His name is Ryan. He sort out my car wen i changed my engine. Guy real straight foward and cool. 759-2370

I made a thread on this some time ago

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=268180

ddog

Postby ddog » March 14th, 2011, 9:34 pm

thanks man, will def call him

I saw from your thread that I wasn't the only one that thought these "Montrose men" were j***** lol. I see Mx6 by the man already u no...sigh..anyway...that said I still wouldn't doubt their ability.

Thanks again man

zacxs

Postby zacxs » March 31st, 2011, 12:25 pm

well well, first of all you started out all wrong..u change a kf engine to use a millinia kl engine..the reason u went wrong is because the millia kl u got is not jspec its aspec with no sensors by the filler cap. no crank sensor by the pulley an the kf harness will work but the brain is what killing ur mods.. the kf engine was designed with a purpose of running 170 hp at certain rpm levels and the kl was made to run 200 hp at the same levels of rpm..mazda did not make klze in millinia in japan from 1993 till 97 only mazda mx6, 1993..1995 got the actual klze to adition the next car that got the klze is the eunos 800.. all other trims that used the kl was europe ..america new zeland an they got the detune version which is klde an just kl03 ...so the one u got yes its a millinia 160 hp but not klze its just kl u have thats no special engine its a 2.5 the ecu will never map properly with the engine because of compresion issues ..what u should have done was use the kl ecu with the engine an rewire the engine to spec with the ecu to give u proper timing with the vris points.,.plus ects..engine coolant temp sensor..i can tell u that cause i spend my entire teen year studying these cars modding and repair them...i have 2 mx6 one local an one foreign..the local is kfze with 175hp..an foreign klze 200hp stock with manual from japan ..so i did every thing when it comes to these cars..from books diagrams and codes an now im passed my teen years with full knowledge of these incredible machines.. i have helped many mx6 owners with lots of mods with engine they got from the bamboo..now bear in mind these asswipes does not bring original klze only sometimes u will get one in a half but that rare...the signs of original klze are:

1-ecu number --kl31
je50 air flow sensor
10.1 compression
long neck intake
flat wide intake runners
3 sensors by filler neck
2 oxygen sensors
kl31 stamp on both camshaft
heads --kl31 101 and kl31 1a1

ddog

Postby ddog » April 1st, 2011, 8:29 pm

Hmmm I definitely will not doubt your knowledge and experience on these cars. I am a newbie to these cars in some way and will probably end up sounding like an idiot to you.

But the engine does have a crank sensor next to the pulley, in fact it had all the sensors the original KFZE had except for one fan switch by the filler cap. It also came with two oxygen sensors, I just used back the original exhaust to make it work with the KF brain. I also didn't say it was a JSPEC. Maybe I am completely mistaken and it really is another crappy DE from the bamboo. To be honest, where i got off thinking it was a ZE spec engine was from a website with specs on all the variations of jspec and millenia type engines. Will post up the url if i find it (it was a black background site with red fonts I think). The head codes for the "millenia ZE" engine were different from the original jspec as well. I will post that up too. Of course there is no way to tell if those specs on the site are correct.

As for my current problem I really don't think it's the brain and yes I know the brain will have issues. Piece of the harness is literally not working.

Am I correct in saying that once it's a curve neck intake it's a millenia engine?
What would the stamp on a millenia DE camshaft or basically a millenia camshaft be?

zacxs

Postby zacxs » April 2nd, 2011, 12:29 am

aight..the first problem to sought out is the cts...u have to tap a hole by the filler neck an add the sensor there ..this sensor is to tell the ecu to run a enrichment program at start up to idle properly until the o2 sensors kicks in..also this monitors the engine temp to measure air /fuel mappings to insure u have a proper burn ..the more heat the sensor resistance drop..the less heat cooler engine the resistance increases..this causes the ecu to adjust the map fuel points together with the tps reading..

the next theng to do is recheck the vris harnes an check vacuum also check for the 5v at startup where number 1 opens..

the engine u got is a aspec version klde if u say the crank sensor is there an oxygen sensor is there ...there is no problem to work it without he oxygen sensors because u using d kf harnes..noww the reasons things ill not work again i stress this again..is because the volume the kl have the kf brain is not seeing it because of inaccurate air and pressure readings from the engine..my brother tried this same thing an failed ..the only solution is the get the american ecu kl-03...

this mod will work for ppl who are already klze or kl de setup an swaping engines because the cc is already 2.5 ..urs are 2.0 trying to read a 2.5 pressure within the engine..ecu error all the way try the man in arangez he does bring alot of american mx6 u will get a ecu to work with it an rewire the harnes with the o2 sensors

ur current setup will continue to run rich an eventually damage the engine cause the ecu done set a fault code and is running of ecu safe mode to kepp it running..call me when u get a chance 340,9234 dave

zacxs

Postby zacxs » April 2nd, 2011, 12:34 am

curve necks came in australia an europe an usa...the new curve neck that did came out was a millinia in 99..this was obd2 system..this had no sensors by the cap .n crank sensor and a distributor with the coil builtin into it...and this millinia was american the only version with a supercharger

yes the de an milli has the same stamp code ..

ddog

Postby ddog » April 2nd, 2011, 9:32 am

hmm well this is discouraging lol... I guess the best route would be to see if I cud get the American ecu and rewire the oxygen sensor to work. But I still think I would run into a problem though. I am using the KF disty and vaf. Wouldn't that American brain be using the maf tupe sensor and I guess the 6 wire disty.....shoulda never trust them frigging bamboo men. The guy told me it was from jap steups but it was the most complete engine I cuda get at the time(not considering K8). I cuda go by the aranguez guy but his price was around 3 1/2 times what i paid for this engine.

I actually checking someone to sort out my harness problem though. Will give an update on that if i get through or not.

By the way just in case do you have a good KFZE head and block for sale?

zacxs

Postby zacxs » April 2nd, 2011, 2:48 pm

thats of the kf disty is the same as the klze ...however u can get the disty from the man i told u about the difference is the coil built in ..thats an easy mod so dont worry an be discourage..as long as u getting the correct ecu am vaf an disty to match u good to goo...

true ..yes i have a klze block an head ..the only thing u have to do with it is change the connecting rod on one of the pistons an i have many spare ones to ..calling $3500 for the head and block

zacxs

Postby zacxs » April 2nd, 2011, 2:49 pm

as i said if u need help let me know

zacxs

Postby zacxs » April 2nd, 2011, 2:50 pm

aslo ..its free..totally free only to mazda men an freaks like u an me!

zacxs

Postby zacxs » April 2nd, 2011, 2:53 pm

i have a mechanic does all the work for me on this engine because i shoiwed him how to repair them if u want i could carry u there an he could help u with ur problems i will come in when u need to wiring an setting up of all sensors an the right parts needed for the job..my services are free but he will charge u to pull out and do the work and replace it back in..

ddog

Postby ddog » April 2nd, 2011, 7:40 pm

Thanks for the offer man, if I don't get through with it this week I will give you a buzz

Return to “MAZDA”