BT 50 Engine Performance

MAZDA People United - it continues here

johnn hommes

BT 50 Engine Performance

Postby johnn hommes » January 31st, 2011, 1:03 pm

Recently I started hearing a slight noise in my engine, its hard to describe the sound, but its like a very fast ticking noise, but softly, almost like a vibrating noise sound, but without the physical vibration.... it happens when i tip my X. I wanna know if i should worry?

The van is only about 2 years old, great performance, speed and power like wow, i know i have run the engine to its peak most time, because my run is from south to north at an average of 140-165k.I only now trying the royal purple oil,,,ppl say its better, i hope so,,,,,whats you all taughts?
I am concern about this slight noise.
I tried, Helix Rimulax, Mobil1 Delvac etc already and they all worked well......
I had a Vigo before, and I am glad I sold it, after one year the engine lost power, it could handle cornering and it was kinda bad to see i paid more that 250k for a van and a little ford/madza/frontier leaving me out...

johnn hommes

Re: BT 50 Engine Performance

Postby johnn hommes » January 31st, 2011, 1:05 pm

Please mazda ppl,i am worried about the sound

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 31st, 2011, 3:15 pm

Lifters?

Did you get this noise before changing to RP?

johnn hommes

Postby johnn hommes » February 2nd, 2011, 8:03 am

@lifters, i was hearing the sound before i changed to royal purple, but before that i used a mobil1 oil, that wasnt fully synthetic, and i feel that is when is started

dlion

Postby dlion » February 2nd, 2011, 7:54 pm

Yow,
I have a 2007 bt, 2.5 2wd. I do POS every day. Sometimes at 140. Noise is normal on a diesel engine. Its probly your inj pump, or valve lifters. A little wear. Nothing to worry.
All oil is the basically the same (except the $10 a qt kind). If you change it often, why throw away good money?
I dont use NP, but use Rimula X, or Castrol semi syn when the price is good.
Change your air filter often - every 6 months, and bleed your fuel filter of water.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 2nd, 2011, 8:14 pm

hey man, my cus runnin the vigo, he used RP, then we tried guardol, a semi synthetic, its a conocco phillips oil.
with the guardol u get the new oil feel for longer than royal purple.i think is 40 a quart tops...could just be that he also switched to unipet diesel alone...unipet diesel puts a kick down on np diesel, i know its the same diesel...but their double filtration seems to have a positive effect...

johnn hommes

Postby johnn hommes » February 3rd, 2011, 10:16 am

Thanks bro for the info,,,,,but its about the second week i into this RP,,,and i feeling a difference,,,,you know they only now brought the RP oil filter in trinidad that could give you 12000-15000 milage,,,,on the oil,,,,i think this making a difference in my van,,,usually when i take off on first gear around 2500Rpm,,i use to see a little smoke,,,,but tht has stop,,,,pllus,,,i find the van building speed much quicker too,,,,,at aveagra i was getting 150 k crusing,,,this morning i got 170k,,and was building,,,,i am sure other bt50 ppl will be shocked at this,,,,but i had ask mazda to adjust a sensor for more speed,,,,,you ford/mazda ppl should so the same,,,i am sure it could be done to the vigo ttoo,,,,,,,,,,,,,as for Unipet,,yea i agree,,,,,,,,,but for diesel van,,,,and the kind of diesel we getting,,,,,i suuggest a fuel filter change evry 5OOOK

johnn hommes

Postby johnn hommes » February 3rd, 2011, 10:26 am

Ppl i remove the 17 bolt,,,and saw a spring inside the compartment where the strainer is,,,,what shhould i do,,,,its full with diesel,,,so i didnt dig inside to see if the strainer is there,,,,,,i was kinda frigten i dmage anything,,,please tell me what to doo

karlos

Postby karlos » February 14th, 2011, 11:59 pm

lolz dont friten with the 17 bolt when u take it out i have ah b2500 one b4 the bt50 . take a philp head and stick it down a bit and you would get the strainer when that clean papi reall powerrrrr .

exia_sir

Postby exia_sir » February 15th, 2011, 5:32 pm

"average 150k" .... slow down dawg not worth the risk

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 18th, 2011, 10:44 am

ghostbusters wrote: get the new oil feel for longer

Bump for more details.
Last edited by Alpha_2nr on February 19th, 2011, 7:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby A172 » February 19th, 2011, 2:45 pm

ROFFFL wtf is this :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby AllTrac » February 19th, 2011, 3:41 pm

doh slow down boy john hommes, you swing your d1ck round dem corners like a champ.

Postby A172 » February 19th, 2011, 5:06 pm

fuh reel.....gee dem fyah

Postby tr1ad » February 19th, 2011, 5:13 pm

man spell d name wrong yes

zcarz

Postby zcarz » February 19th, 2011, 5:52 pm

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=358617
OP check this thread

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 19th, 2011, 7:38 pm

Alpha_2nr wrote:
ghostbusters wrote: get the new oil feel for longer

Bump for more details.

And again.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 19th, 2011, 9:40 pm

what u need to know dude? u know just after u change ur oil maybe couple days the car feels smooth better than it did with dirty oil? and then as it gets dirty or suffers from mild viscosity breakdown you lose the 'new oil' feel?

Well i can only hypothesize that the Kendall oil is suffering less initial viscosity loss than the RP, cant really say anything conclusively , no quantitative data... andlike i said before , could also be as a result of the switch to unipet diesel, cleaner diesel means better vehicle response...

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 20th, 2011, 8:15 am

what u need to know dude? u know just after u change ur oil maybe couple days the car feels smooth better than it did with dirty oil? and then as it gets dirty or suffers from mild viscosity breakdown you lose the 'new oil' feel?

Not really nah.....no :oops:

Then again most of my oil changes are done by time rather than mileage (e.g. every 5 months, but only 500 km traversed for those 5 months).

ah_trini_devil

Postby ah_trini_devil » February 21st, 2011, 12:54 am

I've been running my BT real hard for the pat 3 yrs.
The knock in mine is getting louder but the performance is still there.
but im really interested in that sensor you adjusted.
tell me more about it?

GEAR_HEAD

Postby GEAR_HEAD » March 1st, 2011, 10:15 am

ah_trini_devil wrote:I've been running my BT real hard for the pat 3 yrs.
tell me more about it?

do tell...

Postby A172 » March 1st, 2011, 12:22 pm

ah_trini_devil wrote:I've been running my BT real hard for the pat 3 yrs.
tell me more about it?

dem ting har rel fires fadda

johnn hommes

Postby johnn hommes » March 14th, 2011, 12:18 pm

yea,,it performs for its money,,,,,you should see how,,WASA Petrotrin, etc,,,beating out them vans,,,and trust meh,,,them van tougher than anyone,,of its class,,,,

johnn hommes

Postby johnn hommes » April 1st, 2011, 1:54 pm

Cleaning the Fuel Strainer is the secret,,,,the diesel we getting is very poor......so once/twice a month I take it out and clean it...with a carb spray,,,,,,all noise/vibration etc,,goes,,,,plus I try to change the fuel filter every 4/5000km........

j_a_s_o_n

Postby j_a_s_o_n » April 3rd, 2011, 12:21 am

where is the fuel strainer located? i have a bt for 3 yrs now n have been all over trni on a daily basis...its black and orange...sure you can miss it.lol... btw..i think im gonna upgrade my turbo..wat u guy think

johnn hommes

Postby johnn hommes » April 4th, 2011, 11:41 am

follow the fuel line after the filter, towards the engine,,you will see a 17" bolt at the point where the line ends,,,,,,remove the 17" bolt and you will see a spring,,,,beneath that is the fuel strainer,,,,take a very smalll bird beak pliers and pull out,,,,,,,,,i couldnt get a small bird beak,,,so i used a small phillip head screwdriver,,,,,,,becareful in inserting the liers or screw driver,,,,,,cause you might burst/damage the strainer.........spray it out with a carb spray,,,,,,van,,,will be back to full power,,less vibration etc,,,and cleaner emissions,,,,,,,,

sablo77

Postby sablo77 » August 20th, 2011, 1:01 am

ooohhh boi ....hey guys just bought my bt50 and its amazinggggg but i wanna know about this fuel filter stuff ummm can anyone do a small video showing how to get it done....thanks

supernedd

Postby supernedd » December 6th, 2014, 11:30 am

I use mobil1 full synthetic on my van .. works best .I have a k&n cone filter .what adjustment to get more speed? Most I get is a lil over 160km/hr

supernedd

Postby supernedd » September 22nd, 2018, 7:03 am

u guys still have your vans?

Postby gt4tified » March 12th, 2019, 2:14 pm

Thread bump....bought a 2010 BT-50 two weeks ago. Its my first diesel vehicle...runs well, but a little blue smoke when shifting at 4k rpm or over. I'm guessing its the turbo. Where is the best place that I can pick up a TD04 replacement? (will get the flange from the guy in Penal). Also, is there any benefit in doing an aftermarket FMIC and piping? Finally, what are your thoughts on a second fuel filter after the primary? The van came with a cheap plastic in-line one...been reading that it may actually hinder performance. What do you guys think?

Return to “MAZDA”