MAzda 323 Automatic transmission thread

MAZDA People United - it continues here

FullStop

MAzda 323 Automatic transmission thread

Postby FullStop » May 24th, 2010, 8:11 pm

Decided to start a thread so we can keep all the troubleshooting info in one thread here.

Also because i have a problem. I'm getting a slight delay for the gear to go in from park o drive. Wondering if this could be a shift solenoid or if it could be the knock sensor, villain was saying that the car doesnt gear down as well when the knock sensor is bad, maybe this is an extension of that problem?

Any ideas? thanks, opinions and ideas welcome.
Last edited by FullStop on May 24th, 2010, 11:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

libra

Re: MAzda 323 Automatic transmission thread

Postby libra » May 24th, 2010, 9:21 pm

hmm i get that same prob sometimes .....

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 25th, 2010, 12:28 pm

Doubt it's knock sensor as you're going from P to D. The knock sensor should only affect tranny shifting when the ECU is calculating load not at rest.

Here's what the normal time should be when moving from P to D etc.

From the screenshot of the FSM below, ignition timing (which is affected by the knock sensor) is checked for the road tests which suggests that timing would affect the shift points while moving or at load.

Interesting to note as well is the normal operating temperature of the tranny fluid. There is no way in heck a small cooler will keep the temp significantly below 60-70 Celcius to adversely affect tranny performance

These are what your shift points should be on a healthy tranny.

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » May 28th, 2010, 8:26 am

ghostbusters wrote:Decided to start a thread so we can keep all the troubleshooting info in one thread here.

Also because i have a problem. I'm getting a slight delay for the gear to go in from park o drive. Wondering if this could be a shift solenoid or if it could be the knock sensor, villain was saying that the car doesnt gear down as well when the knock sensor is bad, maybe this is an extension of that problem?

Any ideas? thanks, opinions and ideas welcome.

I get this problem too. I only started experiencing it after I changed the transmission oil & filter. What tranny fluids are you guys using? Right now I am using Castrol ATF +4. Next time I will try the Redline ATF.

anolrmdss

Postby anolrmdss » June 22nd, 2010, 6:40 pm

The Castrol ATF+4 is for only Chrysler, Jeep, Dodge, Hyundai, and Mitsubishi cars.
The correct ATF for mazda 323 is the Dexron®III or greater. A great oil to use is the NP SUPERMATIC.
I use to have that problem (delay for gear to go into drive) because the mechanic put the wrong oil (cas atf+4) in my transmission.
I contacted castrol and they advised me to replace that oil asap for it is the wrong oil.
When doing the change make sure to drain the transmission completely and flush some of the np supermatic to wash the other one out, then do the fill up.

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » June 22nd, 2010, 7:34 pm

I am sorry but I don't believe in anything NP. The odd thig is that I have been using the Castrol ATF+4 in my ZM for about 3 years and no issues and was trouble shooting my ZL and used that with no trouble. Better switch back to Redline soon then.

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 22nd, 2010, 9:01 pm

I know you got it from Castrol but you need to do some reading on the characteristics of the Dexron III vs ATF+3/4

The +3/4 has higher friction characteristics than the Dexron which should theoretically result in smoother shifting. Doing the reverse ie. Dex III in a tranny requiring ATF+3/4 can cause slippage issues.

Here's a small copy and paste.

The chemical reports of these two fluids, are:

DEXIII:
Viscosity: 201 (indexed): @40C - 34.70 : @100C - 7.70
ATF+3:
Viscosity: 200 (indexed): @40C - 33.70 : @100C - 7.60
To Compare;
Redline Race ATF:
Viscosity: 177 (indexed): @40C - 53.70 : @100C 10.00

In your transmission, the difference (if you could even tell) is when it shifts & how hard it shifts. Just stick with a good name brand and your car won't know the difference.
*NOTE: Dexron VI is NOT compatible with any other fluid on the market, do NOT attempt to use Dexron VI in a transmission that does not call for it, or vise-versa.

From Castrol's website

Here's Dex III

Viscosity@ 40°C, 38.1
Viscosity@ 100°C, 7.9
Viscosity Index 186
Color, Typical 7.0
Appearance Red
Brookfield Viscosity @ -40 C, max, 17,000
Pour Point, °F (°C) -45 (-43)
Flash Point, COC, min °F (°C) (177)
Specific Gravity, 60°F 0.863
Pounds per Gallon 7.19

ATF+4

Viscosity@ 40°C, 33.0
Viscosity@ 100°C, 7.5
Viscosity Index 206
Color, Typical 7.0
Appearance Red
Brookfield Viscosity @ -40 C, max, 10,000
Pour Point, °F (°C) NA
Flash Point, COC, min °F (°C) 374 (190)
Specific Gravity, 60°F 0.850
Pounds per Gallon 7.08

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 22nd, 2010, 10:36 pm

wow, good info fellas...

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » June 23rd, 2010, 7:42 am

Wow, very good info there indeed.

FMA340

Re: Mazda 323 Automatic transmission thread

Postby FMA340 » March 5th, 2011, 7:34 am

I'm getting a transmission to buy for about $2300, but what I'm not sure about is that my car has the zm-de engine but the one I'm getting is for the zl-de. Is the same exact transmission used for both engines? if not, can they be interchanged?

anolrmdss

Postby anolrmdss » March 14th, 2011, 7:19 am

Can to much transmission fluid cause slippage?

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 14th, 2011, 7:33 am

Maybe not actual slippage but it can damage components to cause symptoms that may possibly be interpreted as slippage eg. seals, oil pump etc.

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » March 14th, 2011, 4:28 pm

Have a zm-de tranny and zl-ve activematic tranny up for sale 2500 and 3500 with shifters

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » March 14th, 2011, 6:21 pm

Any tuners ever used Duralube Transmission Treatment http://www.duralube.com/Galleries/Small ... 0sheet.pdf

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 14th, 2011, 6:33 pm

na, a mechanic told me to stay away from dura lube at all costs, so I do.

anolrmdss

Postby anolrmdss » March 15th, 2011, 3:27 pm

Looking for ZM Automatic Transmission
(info on engine: 1.6L 2002)

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » March 15th, 2011, 9:18 pm

anolrmdss wrote:Looking for ZM Automatic Transmission
(info on engine: 1.6L 2002)

yea i have 2500 for it

s.serty

Postby s.serty » April 8th, 2011, 6:12 pm

between the zm and zl which one has the better response or acceleration?

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 8th, 2011, 6:43 pm

s.serty

Postby s.serty » April 9th, 2011, 8:45 am

thanks man...and how can i identify between a zl and zm auto transmission?
because there physical shape are the same but i heard the plug sensors are different.

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 9th, 2011, 8:28 pm

The guys who may have done a tranny swap before would need to answer that.

I thought they were the same FN4A-EL

anolrmdss

Postby anolrmdss » April 10th, 2011, 11:22 am

Let me try to help...

With respect to the attached picture:
There is a white port in front the transmission at # 1 that looks similar like the port at # 2.
Both models have this port.
Now referring to the port at #1:
The ZL model has 3 pins inside the port and the ZM model has no pins. The ZM model just has the empty port at the front.

Hope this helps.

libra

Postby libra » April 10th, 2011, 12:04 pm

ent the ZL tranny's are tiptronic ? or not all ?

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » April 10th, 2011, 3:03 pm

Where Maztune.....?

s.serty

Postby s.serty » April 11th, 2011, 6:10 pm

that is fuggin brilliance anolrmdss ...THANKS A LOT

im looking to buy a ZM transmission

anolrmdss

Postby anolrmdss » April 11th, 2011, 7:12 pm

s.serty wrote:that is fuggin brilliance anolrmdss ...THANKS A LOT

im looking to buy a ZM transmission

Try New Age Auto - Bamboo Settlement #1, Valsayn - 662-9762
( avg cost = $2700 or you may be lucky to get it for less if u got the negotiation skills )

s.serty

Postby s.serty » April 16th, 2011, 3:06 pm

yea fellas installed a zl transmission instead of the original zm... so far so good

makiylahb

Postby makiylahb » August 20th, 2011, 10:00 pm

I start my BJ, put it in reverse, put down my hand brakes and nothing happens, I mash the accelerator and the car does not move. I shift it back to park and I hear this grating noise.
All of this happened after I changed the velocity joints

wickedshiv

Postby wickedshiv » August 21st, 2011, 3:11 pm

hey fellas i hav a question !!!!!!!!!
can i change the transmission on the car or need to remove the entire engine

Postby cinco » August 21st, 2011, 8:39 pm

huh?
that is more or less a mechanic preference but it can be done without removing the engine

Return to “MAZDA”