Re: MAzda 323 Automatic transmission thread

Postby makiylahb » August 22nd, 2011, 8:57 am

oh gosh somebody help meh nah

Postby cinco » August 22nd, 2011, 9:08 am

makiylahb wrote:I start my BJ, put it in reverse, put down my hand brakes and nothing happens, I mash the accelerator and the car does not move. I shift it back to park and I hear this grating noise.
All of this happened after I changed the velocity joints

did the mechanic put back in your axles properly? sounds like they were not placed in properly of you used the wrong joints and the axles are spinning in the cv joint

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 22nd, 2011, 5:42 pm

any forward gears working?

the noise in park would indicate the tranny is spinning but there is some disconnect to the wheels.

Unlikely it would go kaput so suddenly after just a CV joint change.

Let that mech recheck his work.

makiylahb

Postby makiylahb » August 24th, 2011, 8:39 am

Strugglerzinc, cinco.. it was the cup that the joint was in that was spinning.. Apparently the cup was worn/not good... so the cup had to be changed. Problem solved. Thanks for the support guys

Average

Postby Average » July 25th, 2013, 9:02 pm

Hi ppl, so what ATF to really use?
NP Supermatic, Redline, Castrol or Dexron III?

2003 Familia, 1.5 ZL

rideordie2448

Postby rideordie2448 » July 26th, 2013, 8:44 am

Good question average.I have a 2.0 FS-ZE and i'm wondering what is the best tranny oil to use?

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » July 26th, 2013, 2:46 pm

You can use Castrol Multi- Vehicle or the Redline ATF for your vehicles.

Average

Postby Average » July 26th, 2013, 5:21 pm

Ok thanks, so in other words the NP is failure then?

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » July 27th, 2013, 8:28 am

NP is only god....if you are going to flushout your tranny and displaced by the good stuff.

Average

Postby Average » July 29th, 2013, 9:41 am

Mechanic told me that I'll need 8 quarts....that's about right, no?

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » July 30th, 2013, 10:09 am

8 quarts if you are going to do a flush, if you are just draining and refilling 1 gallon or 4 quarts will do just fine.

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 30th, 2013, 2:45 pm

Confirmed. I drained and dropped pan etc and it took 4 qts to refill.

If you pull down the entire tranny to rebuild then 7-8 qts.

Flushing as Wildcard said.

Average

Postby Average » July 30th, 2013, 4:46 pm

ok understood...flushing this week.
Did some reading online and they say after 100,000km you should flush the fluid, I cross 200,000km so this is apparently way overdue.

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 30th, 2013, 5:18 pm

Be warned, reverse flushing etc can sometimes do more harm than good.

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » July 30th, 2013, 6:46 pm

Flushing is safe as it just uses the pressure from the tranny, vacuuming however is what is dangerous to your tranny as it will loosen up any particles that is holding the tranny together over time. The Vacuum would suck all that out.

insanelunatic

Postby insanelunatic » August 2nd, 2013, 6:05 pm

nice write up there... just recently fine iam getting that slight delay from P to D or even D to R .....
honestly haven't changed tranny oil in like 8-9yrs, so iam hoping when I do change it will fix that problem.

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » August 2nd, 2013, 8:43 pm

Ok try not to let your Tranny fluid remain in there that long. Change it at leat once a year or every 40 000 KMs. Thing is you hear folks talking about these cars having tranny issues but when you do stuff like that. These cars can be very good to you but you have to be very good to them, so change those fluids and treat them good and trust me you can keep your head high against certain other brands.

Postby cinco » August 7th, 2013, 4:26 pm

a tranny cooler wont hurt either

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » August 7th, 2013, 10:24 pm

cinco wrote:a tranny cooler wont hurt either

^^ THIS^^ look into getting one of these. When I did it I went with a Hayden but you can go with a B&M. Use Plate and Fin coolers as they are stronger and offer better cooling. Don not get too big of a cooler too. If you get a medium sized cooler it is better to abandon your radiator tranny cooler. If you get a smaller one it can go in series with you radiator tranny cooler. The pro and con to this is;if you use the tranny cooler it adds to the cooling but still puts the risk that if something happens you cna have coolant end up in your tranny, this never happened to me though so don't get scared, on the other side if you use a bigger cooler then this threat is eliminated but you still have to be mindful that your cooler can't be too big.

bopp

Postby bopp » August 30th, 2013, 4:17 pm

hey i just bought my bj in July and its a stick shift, i want to change it to automatic, engine a zm. I went in the bamboo #2 they told me it would cost $5000 and i would have to buy a new radiator etc, gave me an instant headache. Am wonder if anybody knows if i would really have to change the radiator or where else i can get a tranny at a resonable price with shifters everything.

Average

Postby Average » August 31st, 2013, 10:44 am

:!: As ah see this thread.....did the change and just for info purposes, the filter on the left does NOT work on 2003 BJ's.
If anyone doing a change and their car uses the one on the left, feel free to PM me...$140.00 (still in packaging)
transfilter.jpg

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » August 31st, 2013, 12:41 pm

Average wrote::!: As ah see this thread.....did the change and just for info purposes, the filter on the left does NOT work on 2003 BJ's.
If anyone doing a change and their car uses the one on the left, feel free to PM me...$140.00 (still in packaging)

Filter on the right is what my 2002 used as well...Folks the Filter on the right is what 01-03 BJ uses. I am not aware of what the 98-00 uses though so maybe some one can chime in to verify.

Postby cinco » September 1st, 2013, 7:10 pm

isnt it all the same tranny from 99-03?
the one on the left is probably for a bh or bg 323

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » September 1st, 2013, 8:47 pm

bopp wrote:hey i just bought my bj in July and its a stick shift, i want to change it to automatic, engine a zm. I went in the bamboo #2 they told me it would cost $5000 and i would have to buy a new radiator etc, gave me an instant headache. Am wonder if anybody knows if i would really have to change the radiator or where else i can get a tranny at a resonable price with shifters everything.

Sorry this one was missed but Automatic cars have the tranny cooler running through the radiator, this is why they told you that. The only possible way I can see you getting away with out having to change the radiator is to do an independent tranny cooler as I mentioned in a post below. Many people who install tranny coolers sometimes totally condemn the one that is on the radiator, otherwise you would have to get a radiator as well if you do not go this way.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 1st, 2013, 8:53 pm

Personally I think someone would be glad to do a swap for your gearbox complete with radiator. Meet some people

bopp

Postby bopp » September 2nd, 2013, 9:31 pm

Thanks but i decided to stay with my gears for now, i realized that id miss it lol

dillonrps13

Postby dillonrps13 » November 30th, 2013, 3:49 am

I have a 2003 sport 20, noticed the transmission light on the dash. did a scan and what showed up was a code p0715 ; input speed sensor malfunction ,and also input turbine speed sensor circuit malfunction. got some advice to change the sensor.any other advice from ppl on this thread? thanks

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » November 30th, 2013, 7:18 am

The Speed sensor is a common issue and luckily an easy sensor to change. Just be sure to use the right tranny fluid as mentioned before and try to use a practice of changing every 40000KM or at least once a year (on your last change) for good measure and you tranny should be ok. I used to over do it and use a Treatment every tranny fluid change called Motorups but it is not really necessary, I just used to do it for good measure and because I was paranoid. Up to when I sold car at the beginning of August the car all was well and it was doing 235000KM and it is still going. Treat your car well and it will treat you well.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » November 30th, 2013, 3:17 pm

btw guys, I've used redline d4atf, royal purple max atf, both being the highest regarded atf's and very pricey. Recently I tried Valvoline max life full synthetic atf, which is cheaper than those two and was surprised by the smoothness of shifts achieved. Its actually smoother than those more expensive fluids and much cheaper, give it a try, you wont regret it.

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » November 30th, 2013, 4:14 pm

ghostbusters wrote:btw guys, I've used redline d4atf, royal purple max atf, both being the highest regarded atf's and very pricey. Recently I tried Valvoline max life full synthetic atf, which is cheaper than those two and was surprised by the smoothness of shifts achieved. Its actually smoother than those more expensive fluids and much cheaper, give it a try, you wont regret it.

I have heard the same about this. There is a place called Fullstop Diagnostics, I think they are in Central area, they have the Valvoline for a great price. I believe they also offer other services and very knowledgeable about stuff related to vehicles.

Return to “MAZDA”