B6T or BPT

MAZDA People United - it continues here

xapruda

B6T or BPT

Postby xapruda » May 5th, 2010, 9:03 pm

Asking mazda guys opinion, which of there engines more reliable/ give more overall hp, b6t or bpt

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » May 5th, 2010, 11:41 pm

gosh ahhh I going to like explaining this one :D :D :

1.6 B6T - Came in the 86-89 BFMR(4WD) or BFMP(FWD) 323/Familia. the 86-87 B660 first model came with 145HP with low impedence injectors, a smaller IHI VJ6 (7psi stock) turbo, a larger intake manifold, and a weaker fifth gear in the box. The 88-89 B677 facelift model came with 270cc high impedence injectors, a smaller intake manifold, larger IHI-VJ13(9psi stock) turbo, more efficient exhaust manifold giving out 165HP. Only the GT-Ae rally model came with a bigger IHI-VJ17 and the Infinity model came LSD.

Now both engines internally are the same, but what's nice about the B6T is the stiffened block, oil cooled 7.6 pistons, water cooled oil cooler and most importantly BEEFY connecting rods. This engine will pull a BF 323/ Ford laser nicely, but put it in a heavier BJ or BH and it will suffer. Oh another point to consider, its hard to upgrade, you cannot run any sort of fuel management on the stock airflow because it reads 5V to 0V not the other way around. If you want to seriously modify this engine I suggest an aftermarket ECU if you can find it or go full management like a Microtech LT8.

1.8 BPT, came in the BP26 90-94 BG GTX runs 185HP, comes with a bigger IHI-VJ20 turbo (9psi) and only comes 4WD. if you want it to work FWD you have to mate it to various 323 gearboxes any B series will work, as well as BJ ZL-ZM. It also comes with oil cooled pistons, a water cooled oil cooler, but with an additional aluminium sump. The difference is the GTX model BPT has weak NA connecting rods which will break after 300HP. the injectors are 310cc high. It will pull a BH or BJ easily and also is an easier fit. The BPT responds to upgrades like Apexi SAFC, Greddy E-manage. I have the wiring somewhere here...hmm...

Now the ultimate is to get your hands on the 210HP BPD GT-R spec engine, but its gold. This engine comes with a massive IHI-VJ23 turbo sadly running 7psi stock you have to "wake it up" LOL it comes with a better 8.2 cast pistons, more efficient intake and exhaust manifolds, 330cc low injectors, sodium filled valves, some neat mild cams and serpentine belts all round. oh and the rods are BEEFY like B6T. hmm you can take B6T rods and put them in GTX BPT that's the solve right there.

OK one major problem with the two engines, keyway failure, this means, the key in the crank pulley breaks with added torque so the crankshaft is spinning but your pulley is not. the solve for this is to take the crank from either a B6-DE or BP-ZE from a 95 323F BH and put it in, these cranks have no key to break. (mazda solve the prob)

Soooo.....here is the summary, the B6T is more reliable but harder to modify, the BPT is weaker but it can be modified easily but you have to go inside.

Hope I have helped a little. Oh if you want a B6T i can get one now , PM me nah. :D

ζђίΰД™

Postby ζђίΰД™ » May 6th, 2010, 6:55 am

Both the b6t & bpt are very reliable.

Which model 323 are you planning to put either engine into?

chip's auto

Re: B6T or BPT

Postby chip's auto » May 28th, 2010, 9:10 pm

gearbox is d problem!!

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » May 28th, 2010, 11:10 pm

chip's auto wrote:gearbox is d problem!!

well we kind of got around that problem by using Redline 75W90/75W90NS gearoil. Mazda gearboxes have brass bearings, also brass parts in the shifter mechanism which actually breaks down with a sulfer based gearoil. Redline is not as sulfer based as it's fully synthetic. The brass bearings break down and shatter, usually causing the gears to go out of alignment, usually 3rd gear is the first to go. Also in the 4WD gearboxes, we use a street and strip clutch with a heavy pressureplate, so the shock does not hit the transfercase directly, but the clutch just slips slightly taking off some of the load. I supposed to have an official document with Mazda and Redline working together to fight gearbox problems in rally. I will look for it and put it up.

oh one other thing, we change gearoil every 6000km. So far the gearboxes holding out pretty well.

chip's auto

Postby chip's auto » June 8th, 2010, 7:12 pm

cool maztune!! i using mobile1 is dat any good?

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » June 9th, 2010, 11:04 am

i'm not sure, check the content and the body of the oil

sean364

Postby sean364 » June 10th, 2010, 12:07 am

maztune ,
i want to know, the internals from a b6t , can they work in a b6d block.

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » June 10th, 2010, 7:45 am

sean364 wrote:maztune ,
i want to know, the internals from a B6t , can they work in a B6d block.

as far as I know it should, and surprisingly the B6D actually has a stronger crank (remember the keyway problem in the older model B6. )

sean364

Postby sean364 » June 10th, 2010, 4:17 pm

kool,
1. what is the max HP can you get on a stock B6t
2. which block is stronger the B6t or the B6D

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » June 12th, 2010, 4:30 pm

the B6T block is supposed to be stronger with better oil passages. I have heard of ppl running 400HP on a internally stock B6T with just external mods in Aus.

sean364

Postby sean364 » June 12th, 2010, 11:28 pm

u have any b6t or bpt engines for sale?

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » June 13th, 2010, 12:55 pm

one of my customers from Tobago is selling his B6T that he bought from me a few years ago. PM me for the guy's number.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » June 15th, 2010, 6:51 pm

MAZTUNE wrote:the B6T block is supposed to be stronger with better oil passages. I have heard of ppl running 400HP on a internally stock B6T with just external mods in Aus.

hmm very interesting a 1.6 block with 400 horses

trinibuggy

Postby trinibuggy » July 2nd, 2010, 11:16 pm

I have a bredrin he need a bpt to put into his 96 lantis(323f)can anyone give me a price!!Pm me and let me know cuz he have a sr too too and regretting it!!

trinibuggy

Postby trinibuggy » July 2nd, 2010, 11:17 pm

or a Klze would be nice if available

xtech

Postby xtech » July 3rd, 2010, 8:37 am

nareshseep wrote:
MAZTUNE wrote:the B6T block is supposed to be stronger with better oil passages. I have heard of ppl running 400HP on a internally stock B6T with just external mods in Aus.

hmm very interesting a 1.6 block with 400 horses

You find that hard to believe?
Toyota turbo 4E 1.3 an 5E 1.5 does make about the same with forged internals

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 4th, 2010, 2:20 am

I didnt say it was hard to believe, it just that damn impressive!
I always like a good 1.6, with a turbo, its not to big not to small jus right.

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » August 9th, 2011, 8:29 pm

searching on google and came across this post yes lol

justwhatuseeing

Postby justwhatuseeing » September 5th, 2011, 11:53 pm

what would u guys recommend for a 626 glx fwd drive model

sldwyz