Need Help - Street or Bridge Port....
Posted: March 15th, 2010, 2:15 pm
by TeamH2O
Need to decide which to do to start the build.
Extended Street Port
Or
Mild Bridge Port
??????????????????????
Need to know how good will a bridge be for a car that might be used once or twice every 2 weeks, but started up to idle for a 2 mins every morning.
And also keeping in mind, may be needed to be used everyday for a 1 or 2 week period when the other vehicle is down to be maintained.
How long will i last on a bridge and street port? I dont mind rebuilding after a year of use.
Currenty have PTS Apex Seals, and the rest is new original mazda seals/springs etc, complete kit.
Im really thinking the bridge but seeing that power/torque comes on mostly after 3500rpm....
Anyone got a bridged 13B Turbo willing to share info or maybe i can come see how its used driving, might be bad for me, might not be bad.
Dont want to be revving up to get off teh clutch and ripping out in a small RX2 lolz
Posted: March 15th, 2010, 2:35 pm
by TeamH2O
i meant, after a full year, of use in terms that its used like once a week, and the everyday for a 1 or 2 week period is like very rarely, more likely might happen once or twice max a year.
lets say like 96 days a year total driving days, being less than an hour.
Might hit the race thing like once in a while, might be like once every 2-3 months. lets say 4-5 times a year it might get a hard race. But NOT constantly like a man in a desert thirst for water
Posted: March 15th, 2010, 10:02 pm
by ImamurA
http://www.turborx7.com/portingpictures.htm
this is a nice lil page...
hope it helps...cant really tell u bout how long d bridge will last tho...once u take care of d motor and always be careful of detonation and overheating den u will be alrite..

Posted: March 16th, 2010, 9:31 am
by TeamH2O
i going with the bridge, not a j bridge tho, lol. Just a mild bridge port.
I spent rel money on intercooler, radiator, overflow, oil cooler, fans, water injection kit, c02 cooler for intercooler, management, proper fuel and proper parts.
Good thing i did, now the port choice was'nt hard to make lol
Posted: March 16th, 2010, 10:18 pm
by 787B
There is no denying the sweet sound of the bridge. I had the same decision to make, but I opted for a extend port.
Depending on the size of the bridge you may not experience a significant increase in power over an extend port.
Are you going with a full bridge or half bridge?
Good luck with the project.
Posted: March 16th, 2010, 10:47 pm
by TeamH2O
Posted: March 17th, 2010, 12:50 pm
by 787B
Yeah even though I went extended everytime I hear those half bridge turbos I sometimes have a little regret with not doing it.
Did you buy the PTS seals from OZ or some one in the US?
Posted: March 17th, 2010, 1:34 pm
by TeamH2O
it was brought down from Australia
lol i like this

Posted: March 17th, 2010, 1:35 pm
by TeamH2O
Posted: March 17th, 2010, 11:31 pm
by 787B
Keep the 26 in the Skyline LOL. One of the sweetest sounding 6 cylinders at WOT
Posted: March 18th, 2010, 4:56 pm
by TeamH2O
Posted: March 18th, 2010, 6:24 pm
by gready123456
Some ppl have problems with turbo and bridge porting because of the overlap , u should looking in to that before making a choice , alot of PPL claim to get more power from turbo applications using extended or a Peripheral port ( port has to be smallish and high on the rotor housing to minimize/eliminate over lap) , with that being said i have to be honest i would go for the Bridge lol
i jus love the sound and i have seen ppl make decent Power using this port in the turbo applications also with the right setup u should be ok. , good luck with the build man i am sure it will turn out grate
Posted: March 18th, 2010, 9:31 pm
by TeamH2O
Hardly see any bridge ported rotaries on the road....This gonna sound mad on the road lol
Posted: March 19th, 2010, 12:03 am
by 787B
Who is doing the porting work, if you don't mind me asking?
Posted: March 19th, 2010, 9:41 am
by TeamH2O
i think my mech is carrying it by Sean Ready
Posted: March 19th, 2010, 3:54 pm
by 787B
Sean does excellent port work, and has a lot of experience with the porting sizes for turbo rotors, yuh orn

Posted: March 19th, 2010, 6:04 pm
by gready123456
A-1 Superior Tech wrote:Hardly see any bridge ported rotaries on the road....This gonna sound mad on the road lol
i have seen a few around one that stands out to me was a black 3rd gen i saw in pt lisas damn that sound BRAP BRAP there are also a few first gens around with briges also
Posted: March 19th, 2010, 10:01 pm
by TeamH2O
heheheh
sean also tuning my haltech as well