Broken Crossmember
Posted: March 7th, 2010, 6:07 pm
by silas
About 3 years after my BJ323 gearbox conversion, the crossmember under the engine is broken. It broke almost dead center below the lowest point of the gearbox. The break is clean in a straight line across the width of the crossmember.
Question: Weld it back while bolted to the car? Or jackup the engine, drop the crossmember and carry it to weld?
I'm wondering if its welded off the car, would it line back up properly.. as its height affects the front mount holding up the engine....
Thanks in advance,
Silas
Posted: March 7th, 2010, 7:06 pm
by Strugglerzinc
Why not get a new one? Dave in Penal has a few shells.
Posted: March 7th, 2010, 7:10 pm
by FullStop
yeah, i agree u should just get a new one, how u manage to break a crossmember anyway?
Posted: March 7th, 2010, 8:27 pm
by ζђίΰД™
Had some experience with this..
Get a used one and reinforce it. Dont weld the broken one, it might not line back up properly.
Here are some pics of how I reinforced mine, BF chassis.
Picked up a lenght of 1/2 inch solid square at the hardware for $75.00 and bent it to shape, was not very easy to do..
Mig weld it..
Finished product
The end result was 100% stronger than stock and never had a problem since.
Posted: March 7th, 2010, 9:47 pm
by red bwoy
Posted: March 7th, 2010, 11:29 pm
by libra
simple but effective

Posted: March 8th, 2010, 11:44 am
by silas
Reapirs Complete!
Place
Mikeys muffler and chassis in Marabella
Method
Cross member was jacked up very slightly to original position and tacked.
Then it was dropped and reinforced with a plate, edges were ground and cleaned before mig welding.
Primed painted and re-installed. It fit perfectly, no pulling and tugging, the front mount lined up, good clearance under the gearbox, all vibration gone.
Thanks for the suggestions guys!