W.T.K. Diagnostics port for BJ

MAZDA People United - it continues here

FaLLeN AnGeL

W.T.K. Diagnostics port for BJ

Postby FaLLeN AnGeL » February 8th, 2010, 9:58 pm

Can any one tell me where the diagnostics port is located in the BJ mazda and is it OBD II or what?
Last edited by FaLLeN AnGeL on February 18th, 2010, 9:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » February 9th, 2010, 6:12 am

There are 2 ports. One under the steering wheel area and another under the hood on the left side close to the closer to the firewall but mounted more on the fender side. I really can't say what kind of port it is as it is past my knowledge.

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 9th, 2010, 7:46 am

the one inside the car is OBD2. the one in the engine bay is proprietary Mazda.

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » February 9th, 2010, 6:00 pm

Thanks Strugglerz; We have been schooled. :D

FaLLeN AnGeL

Postby FaLLeN AnGeL » February 9th, 2010, 11:01 pm

i know the on rin the engie bay but can't seem to find the one n the car

i fed up look

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » February 10th, 2010, 6:04 am

It there, but you real have to bend and get under there to see it. I didn't know it hd one up until 3 weeks ago.

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 10th, 2010, 7:51 am

Stoopid spot if you ask me... :|

I had to grow an extra joint on my arm just to find it...serious talk...

FaLLeN AnGeL

Postby FaLLeN AnGeL » February 10th, 2010, 1:38 pm

could any body send a pic this stipid spot PLEASE i really looking for this thing and it really fed up look.

thanks in advance to anyone

thnaks to the info u guys

d@rren

Postby d@rren » February 10th, 2010, 11:56 pm

yeh a pic wud b nice i lookin 4 it also...

FaLLeN AnGeL

Postby FaLLeN AnGeL » February 11th, 2010, 12:27 am

please a pic would really help

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » February 11th, 2010, 5:18 pm

If I happen upon some spare time and I feel to contort myself I will see what I can do. I pushing a little age so it real hard to bend down there but maybe some one can hook you up before me as we..

FaLLeN AnGeL

Postby FaLLeN AnGeL » February 12th, 2010, 10:45 am

thanks man

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » February 15th, 2010, 6:23 pm

Went 2 look for the one inside the car & stumbled upon a red normally open push button switch behind the fuse box (inside the vehicle). What's it for? You guys have it 2? Image

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » February 17th, 2010, 1:53 pm

That is to disarm your alarm.

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » February 17th, 2010, 6:41 pm

That is your Valet switch. Probably put by whoever installed you current alarm system; though it may have been there from the from the alarm it had when it was outside. Most alarm installers use a switch on the car itself.

As for the port I went trying to macco and nearly damage meh back. I felt around and all I could touch was a connector that that had a connection. It may be that that is disconnected and used. Not sure so hopefully someone could validate. Right now my alarm module seems to be acting a fool so that is why I had to go in today. I will check again when I get by my mech weekend if anything.

Scene!

FaLLeN AnGeL

Postby FaLLeN AnGeL » February 18th, 2010, 9:40 pm

really want to knwo where this OBD2 port is

FaLLeN AnGeL

Re: W.T.K. Diagnostics port for BJ

Postby FaLLeN AnGeL » July 31st, 2010, 3:03 am

help to find the OBD II port please

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 31st, 2010, 4:05 am

the bj with the 1.6 zmde have a obd2 connector on the driver side, however my zlve 1.5 do not seem to have any obd connector either in the engine bay or inside the car.

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » July 31st, 2010, 7:31 am

Nah it there. I had one of my padnas connect and try to use a diagnostic software but it wasn't recognizing my car. If the OP still want the location let me know so I can snap it this time.

FaLLeN AnGeL

Postby FaLLeN AnGeL » July 31st, 2010, 12:50 pm

any one have a pic of where this port is that would help alot

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » July 31st, 2010, 3:11 pm

Ok first thins is to pull down and of the flap just under your steering wheel to get a better view.
The port is located to the right side closer to the fuse panel and would look like this. You have to look a bit under and you will see the bracket it is mounted on and it would also be close to your bonnet release lever.

This is the best pic I could have taken given the position of my car and the port.

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » July 31st, 2010, 3:23 pm

Here is a better one. You should be able to tell better the location with this one. No need to really pull off the flap but hey it let's more light in.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 1st, 2010, 12:33 pm

*sigh* poor fella hadda get on he back wid the "x" bury in he face and lean up pon the brake pedal to take that pic.....or of course put the cam under the dash :)

Man expose all the wires to cut to disable he alarm yes.... :|

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » August 1st, 2010, 1:53 pm

Boy, what yuh go do is all t help. Say what if it have to go it have to go. Besides, I didn't have to put a pic up for anybody who good enough to disable my alarm; they could do that with out m y help with their eyes closed; one hand tied behind their back screaming "Wubba Wubba". :D :P

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 3rd, 2010, 10:11 am

thanks wildcard, I always wondered where that port was. Now what obd tools/ reader does work with the mazda?

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » August 3rd, 2010, 6:34 pm

The connection my padna has was bought from the net but I think the price was kinda steep. It was OBD2 to USB. You have to look around for the software on torrents and I think many of them prefer Windows XP OS as the platform of choice. If I find out anything I'll let you guys know cause I have buddies who live online. :P

FaLLeN AnGeL

Postby FaLLeN AnGeL » August 3rd, 2010, 9:22 pm

ok that is the best pic i could have gotten thanks man but if it is that it is not there what is my position... what can i do to know if i have an obd port and if i don't where can i get one?? this would really help if u could tell me where it connects on the brain box to know if i have one...

looked all over under there and nothing i even see where it suppose to be thanks to the pic but nothing

HELP..

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » August 4th, 2010, 5:52 am

Dread all that left for you to do now is to take it in to some place that does it professionally so they can advise further. I can't say what else to do from there or if it is even feasible to wire that it; that is out of my range of knowledge. So your real bet is to role into a business that does it and know more about this stuff.

FaLLeN AnGeL

Postby FaLLeN AnGeL » August 4th, 2010, 2:45 pm

thanks wildcard26 for the advice do u know of any place that i can go to do this check up thanks again for the advice and the pics

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » August 4th, 2010, 4:14 pm

I think I will let the other Mazda Gurus answer this one cause the usual places are not necessarily the best as they say they offer diagnostic services. eg. Federal on Scott Street near T&TEC/Skinner Park offer it but I won't send you there. RyoTech Performance on the Forum boards also offers Diagnostic services.

Return to “MAZDA”