Maztune mom BJ familia build

MAZDA People United - it continues here

wing

Postby wing » February 4th, 2010, 8:46 am

Maztune , with the new intake manifold on , what , if any ,mods were done to fuel delivery ,engine management and exhaust .

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » February 4th, 2010, 4:44 pm

hmm did not touch the engine management, just a pump and regulator should work. in terms of exhaust, just a slightly better flow exhaust, but nothing too free. was actually looking into an E-Greddy E-manage Blue for the future.

wing

Postby wing » February 4th, 2010, 5:23 pm

OK so for this project, will need: ZM intake manifold , upgraded pump and regulator.
Any suggestions on where to locate such a pump and filter , Maztune .

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » February 5th, 2010, 10:16 pm

well you will be using an upgraded intake pump, a walbro 255lph, the 2ndgen RX-7 model works in the 98-99 BJ models, but in the 00-03 models the pump setup is a little tricky... Well as you all will notice, the BJ does not come with a filter at all!!!. just a filter inside the tank, so you can choose to put an external filter or just keep that one inside the tank.

Chrisred83

Hey where did u get these and how much did it cost u??

Postby Chrisred83 » February 8th, 2010, 9:51 pm

MAZTUNE wrote:so tranny completed, mommy mobile running nice....starting to hear bushing noise in the front and rear, so imported a set of Pedders Poly bushings that included cradles, rear trailing arms. it's a small kit but a start.

Hey where did u import these and how much did it cost u??

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » February 8th, 2010, 10:17 pm

hmm the kit for the front and rear is $2200.00 yeah we sell them. 70% down and it's here in 2 weeks.

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » February 10th, 2010, 6:40 pm

So any more of the story oh wah! :mrgreen:

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » February 11th, 2010, 9:35 pm

hmm well I kinda reach up to date with it. As I do more will put it down! :D

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » February 12th, 2010, 6:06 am

Ok scene. lol :lol:

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » February 17th, 2010, 3:56 pm

Nice read man, had no idea those models revved to 7000rpm and put out 130hp.. Very nice for a 1.5..!

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » February 21st, 2010, 4:59 pm

^^^^ that is a RE i seeing behind the BJ there nice

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » February 21st, 2010, 5:13 pm

yo i trying to get new bushings for that same arm above and cant seem to find new ones any where ? if u kno of any place please let me kno thanks again man , i have one of these cars its giving alot of trouble lately i guess after 200000K+ sheit happens transmission went bad i went to Keith charles to rebuild ( expensive ) but i got 6 months warranty those bushings are pretty busted not getting them any where , car is a beat lazy now was wondering how hard it is to put a rotary in it ? is it possible ( i smell a project )

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » February 21st, 2010, 5:19 pm

MAZTUNE wrote:nah much more lol, as a result of the rad blowing out the RARE activematic tranny got damaged as a result of water from the rad entering the tranny lines when the rad went. Now we are GEARBOX men eh, first time we dealing with transmission, and we hate them too!!!

Of course, tranny men in Trinidad laugh at us and said get a new activematic, leaving us hanging.

So we were for a search for a tranny. We got a ZL-VE 98'-99'
(none cat eye) 8bit engine and tranny with no active-matic. Now this is where it gets really interesting. ALL the ZL/ZM trannys are the same including the active-matic, they are all a 4-speed auto BUT the activematic model uses the toggle shifter and ECU to trigger the 6 solenoids in the tranny to shift gears instead of the tranny shifting on its own.

So being a non active-matic, we went inside the tranny, changed the shifter piece to the active-matic one, thats PRND and manual from the PRND12. hmm i should have taken pics of this. one day i will buss down the old tranny and take some pics to show you all. So we made the non active-matic tranny into one, put it up and the ECU controlled the solenoid shifting the 4 gears ALTHOUGH they were meant not to be manually shifted. Tranny wokking!! lol :D Oh we use Redline D4 tranny fluid works for all Mazda transmissions.

thats grate info man the thread is the bomb diggidee

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » February 21st, 2010, 8:32 pm

gready123456 check vyshall on the forum who has Aditi SPortline. They are in Gasparillo and have poly bushings.

By the way how much did it cost you to get you transmission done by that guy as I am thinking I may want to pay him a visit to redo my tranny in a timing.

Thanks

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 21st, 2010, 9:59 pm

Maztune, what brand fpr did you use?

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » February 22nd, 2010, 7:39 pm

Wildcard26 wrote:gready123456 check vyshall on the forum who has Aditi SPortline. They are in Gasparillo and have poly bushings.

By the way how much did it cost you to get you transmission done by that guy as I am thinking I may want to pay him a visit to redo my tranny in a timing.

Thanks

he is a bit expensive 6.5k but my transmission was pretty busted some clip broke and it was shaking up the car pretty badly when changing on first and 3 gear before that i use to get a sudden forward movement from the car when i stopped ( first time i toughs some one hit the car from behind ) drop the car to fix and got it back with 6 months warranty within two days the car was changing hard on all gears and the speedo was bouncing took it back and he checked it out and turned out a sensor was bad ( at least thats what i was told ) and some gear ratio problem , after that car works grate so far 2 months strong , but after reading what maz did that might be the cheaper way to go

NOW i check vyshall and he dont have the bushings i end up buying forigen used ones but looking at getting new bushings

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » February 22nd, 2010, 11:06 pm

ghostbusters wrote:Maztune, what brand fpr did you use?

boy the parents using the car so much these days, we ent even getting time to see it. Its the only auto car in the yard LOL :D :oops:

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » February 23rd, 2010, 6:04 am

Thanks for the info. My transmission not so bad. Just have a temporary fix on a seal that expands when the car warms up. Will still check him though.

wing

Postby wing » March 3rd, 2010, 10:14 pm

Well I went ahead and swapped the intake manifold . I also changed out the intank fuel filter and installed a fujitsubo barrel . The car performs a lot better now however I notice the Svt seems to be activating later in the rev range and revving to the redline much more readily . So far no issues with any sensors (knocks on wood!) and gas consumption is ok . Also changed out my bushings to poly from ADITI SPORTLINE , good results there too.So all in all , so far so good .

Postby black start » March 4th, 2010, 10:10 am

nice build.......hada go and play with the gf rs yes......MAZTUNE,i saw one of these in uwi with a 5 hole bolt pattern and 4 wheel disc brakes.....care to enlighten me on what that was, cause i know these are 4 hole bolt pattern.....

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 4th, 2010, 1:02 pm

Black Start wrote:nice build.......hada go and play with the gf rs yes......MAZTUNE,i saw one of these in uwi with a 5 hole bolt pattern and 4 wheel disc brakes.....care to enlighten me on what that was, cause i know these are 4 hole bolt pattern.....

The Familia/Astina Sport 20 which came with the FS-ZE engine came with 4-wheel disc brakes and 16" 5-lug rims in conjunction with standard dual srs airbags and ABS/EBD. The 4-speed manumatic Activematic tranny is not well suited to that engine as such its better to get the 5-speed manual.

There are 3 for sale in Trini Cars For Sale website, one being automatic I think:

angrytuner

Postby angrytuner » March 4th, 2010, 7:58 pm

acesinghit wrote: The 4-speed manumatic Activematic tranny is not well suited to that engine as such its better to get the 5-speed manual.

so mazda bein the pack of sheit as they are put a transmission on a car that not suited to it?????
you must know more than the mazda engineers hoss.

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » March 4th, 2010, 9:48 pm

oo i like that white one in the middle!

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » March 4th, 2010, 9:53 pm

^^ me too and is only 45k :)

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » March 4th, 2010, 10:01 pm

the silver one on top is from diego its very well maintained except for the chromes lol

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 5th, 2010, 8:34 pm

the white one looking good, its from munroe road...nice

libra

Postby libra » March 7th, 2010, 11:41 pm

d middle one bess .... dem blackout headlights lookin good

Postby black start » March 10th, 2010, 5:16 pm

still like the one from eng car park....

mingrio

Postby mingrio » March 11th, 2010, 11:55 am

What engine management can b used on the Zl ve?

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » March 11th, 2010, 12:51 pm

check villain for that info

Return to “MAZDA”