Lost power in 1.5 zl mazda.

Posted: January 7th, 2010, 4:24 pm
by islandp5
I have a 1998 99 mazda,zl motor, fine car but i tend to lose powe on hills and some times comin off a stop light, burns gas alot, and is very low powered, always have too hit the no. one gear, and has a flat sport on take off. need some help has on a cold air intake, and running stock plugs.

Posted: January 7th, 2010, 5:59 pm
by mazdamig
maybe coil pack

Posted: January 9th, 2010, 8:04 pm
by nuffkuff
gimme a call 3751330 had d same problem

Posted: January 9th, 2010, 9:54 pm
by Rainman
nuffkuff, it maybe beneficial to share your solution here so that everyone can benefit.

Posted: January 13th, 2010, 12:45 pm
by Mazdout
well said rainman. The entire idea of forums like these is to share ideas/educate and solve shooting problems of one's car. So fellow tuners won't get run around and spend big $$$ on what could of been easily diagnosed by a solved issue.

Posted: January 30th, 2010, 11:40 pm
by Groovemaster
islandp5, you get through?

Posted: February 2nd, 2010, 1:14 am
by nuffkuff
hear wat eh fellas,i had that dead car syndrome problem no one here seemed to know what wrong, did some reading on the net it seems that these bj, zl or zm after awhile starts losing power, one solution is to manipulate the ecu to give more air and gas i did it and i flying, 50% increase in hp,no kiddin, so when u all see a green hatchback pbh doing it on the CRhighway is me, u all have to mod to get that car to run otherwise is problems. :)

Posted: February 2nd, 2010, 7:41 am
by Strugglerzinc
and how exactly you modded the ECU?

Posted: February 2nd, 2010, 8:09 am
by Rainman
He stuck a mazdaspeed decal on it, 15+ HP YO!!. If a car is not operating in its normal manner it means that something is wrong, "modding" or making changes to the vehicle that were not part of it's original design will not fix it, it may actually make it worse. Fix the problem, don't add to it.

Posted: February 2nd, 2010, 8:59 pm
by nuffkuff
go to autospeed web site and read how to electronically modify ur car! :)

Posted: February 27th, 2010, 2:02 am
by **{KinG-62}**
check/change d gear oil......or if tranny...check/change the oil.... worked well for my b5.... :bump:

Posted: March 29th, 2010, 4:20 pm
by PROTEGEKID
Check yuh knock sensor. Don't know if the ZL has one but i had a similar problem on a ZM and it turned out to be a faulty knock sensor. If it has one check to see if the insulation is melted, if so you should change for the upgraded sensor with the black wire...my two cents.

Posted: March 29th, 2010, 9:53 pm
by villain
or just unplug it for the while and see how it runs...

Posted: March 29th, 2010, 10:01 pm
by FullStop
i seein a slight oil drip from my knock sensor, anybody know wat could be causing this?

Posted: March 30th, 2010, 12:51 am
by Groovemaster
^^^IT GOING THROUGH!!! That's how my lost in power started...with a molten, 'leaking' knock sensor. I had problems getting up hills & to overtake...not getting 'kick down'. Changed knock sensor & prob solved!
I'm doing 67k & had a bad knock sensor, somehow I feel mazda just change the colour of the wire & send it out as 'revised'.

(Thanks 2 Villain for pointing me in the direction of the knock sensor)

Pics http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... 7&start=30

Posted: March 30th, 2010, 11:10 am
by FullStop
thanks man, that icky thing i thought was oil is really knock sensor blood, dammit i hafta change lower control arm bushings, rear sway bar bushings, endlinks, 1 cv joint rubber, now a knock sensor, and just wen i was goin an get the 5 lug conversion, flock man, steups, this is real headache yes...

thanks Groovemaster for the clarification, i really find the kickdown was sometimesish

Posted: March 30th, 2010, 4:04 pm
by villain
well in the mean time just unplug it...the car will feel better....

Posted: March 30th, 2010, 5:29 pm
by Wildcard26
Don't study it man we all in this together. Just do my routine PM on my car and it seems 2 engine mounts and my bushings gone. Have to change timing belt and tensioner and idler as they are suspect to me and tapping head seal seems leaky. All I can say for this list is and going......I think is time for the poly bushings. :twisted:

Posted: March 30th, 2010, 8:03 pm
by Groovemaster
villain wrote:well in the mean time just unplug it...the car will feel better....

If he has manual & unplug it that's ok but if auto the ecu would leave you climbing hills in 3rd gear!!!

Posted: March 30th, 2010, 11:02 pm
by villain
oh yeah i forgot...lol :mrgreen:

Re: Lost power in 1.5 zl mazda.

Posted: May 21st, 2010, 2:44 am
by islandp5
I have not done anything yet because there is so much everybody is saying but where do i start i really don t want to sell my car, been have it for 6years plus and its been good so far, where do i start i was thinkin of changing the motor to the 1800 gtx what do u all think,

Posted: May 21st, 2010, 6:19 am
by Rainman
islandp5 wrote:I have not done anything yet because there is so much everybody is saying but where do i start i really don t want to sell my car, been have it for 6years plus and its been good so far, where do i start i was thinkin of changing the motor to the 1800 gtx what do u all think,

you mean to tell me that you have had this problem for five months and you haven't done anything because no one here can figure it out for you?

START BY SCANNING THE FACKING CAR!!!

Posted: June 29th, 2010, 5:37 pm
by islandp5
well guys i just got a knock sensor and i got back alll my power thanks a million am so happy my car is not for sale anymore. this little 1.5 with svt is pulling like a mother thanks guys.

Posted: June 29th, 2010, 10:56 pm
by Groovemaster
Nice to hear u get through!