Madza 3 2004 model

MAZDA People United - it continues here

darin

Madza 3 2004 model

Postby darin » September 23rd, 2009, 11:34 am

Hi i would like to know if anyone knows if its possible to use super gas in the madza 3 2004 models. I saw the manual said it can handle any gas that has an octane rating of over 91and well super is 92. Just out of curiosity i called southern sales to ask the question and they said no i can not use super gas.

Has anyone out there use super in their Madza 3 ? I started using it and i havent seen any performance issues. I have noticed however that the gas is heaver and the gas pedal is just a little more stiff but thats all it burns just like the premium gas as well. Please let me know of any issues with using this gas

chunks_21

Postby chunks_21 » September 23rd, 2009, 2:23 pm

u can use the super gas once the engine is nut pinging u good to go,but if it is u will have to use a gas wit a higher octane

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 23rd, 2009, 10:07 pm

a couple of the MZ3 owners I asked all said they use premium. I've also seen a few MZ3s in gas stations filling with premium.

I also read in one of the threads here where a tuner said a rep at Southern Sales advised super can be used. On the flip side, one of the guys I asked who recently bought a 3 brand new from SS said they told him to use premium.

I recently got a RORO 3 (about a week now) and the first tank was filled with super. Refilled once since then (also with super), and haven't noticed anything untoward happen yet, but I can't say if it's working well or not since I haven't experienced the car yet with premium.

My next couple fill ups I'll use premium and see what happens, and compare it to what I'm experiencing now with super.

But as chunks_21 said, once it's not pinging you should be fine. Just keep monitoring it for any signs of problems.

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » September 23rd, 2009, 10:45 pm

AFAIK the local M3 definitely uses super just fine... forget what the reps say, because we all know how knowledgeable they are. Go by the owner's manual, and since it says 91 minimum, then super is ok.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » October 23rd, 2009, 12:05 am

Just thought I'd update this thread for the benefit of the OP and others who may have the same question.

After running out my last tank of super about a month ago and filling with premium from near empty about 4 times since then, I can confirm that the premium doesn't show that much of a difference.

It does seem to have a bit more power (may even be psychological), but for the price it may not be worth it to some. However, the piece of mind may be worth it to others.

I've not heard any different engine noises between the 2, and noticed no difference in fuel consumption. So it appears safe to use either gas type.

allon4

Postby allon4 » October 23rd, 2009, 7:15 pm

I use premium because the manual says use at least 95 octane. So does the label on the inside of the gas tank cover. Never used super so don't know if it does or doesn't make a difference. My car is the 08 model though.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » October 23rd, 2009, 10:20 pm

^^^ Is your car a RORO or bought from Southern Sales? If RORO, is it SDM or JDM?

allon4

Postby allon4 » October 23rd, 2009, 10:26 pm

New car from Southern sales

devin1754

Postby devin1754 » November 1st, 2009, 8:05 pm

the super does work good ive been using it for the last year and no problems thus far

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » November 4th, 2009, 12:03 pm

damie remember there was a thread that was posted up telling us that our 91 has to be converted and when converted its really 85-87 oct hence it is recommended for alot of new vehicles including the mazda 3 1.6 and 2.0 to using premium 95 which when converted its really 92. Remember in the USDM, the mazda 3 2.0 and 2.3 all use regular grade which is like 85-87 and the previous BJ Protege models with the 1.6, 1.8 and 2.0 engines were also using regular.

I tried searching for the thread and can't seem to put my mouse on it.

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » November 4th, 2009, 8:40 pm

^^ never saw that thread.... but it sounds sketchy tho.... the RON rating is an international standard...no conversion necessary. So its one of two things... either that info is totally bogus, or NP is supplying gas with an incorrect (deliberate or not) RON rating

Either way, many manufacturers, Mazda included, install knock sensors into their engines, esp on cars destined for the developing world... it takes care of all the octane fluctuations or poor fuel quality, with little to no observable difference in performance.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » November 5th, 2009, 9:06 pm

^^good point

Baldhead

Postby Baldhead » November 20th, 2009, 3:47 pm

So recently i bought a local used mazda 3 2005 model...and well meh engine checklight on...Previous owners did a scan and dey say de oxygen or knock sensor needs to change...cant remember which...but i'm gonna redo de scan and change watever i need to change but i have also asked de question if i can use super...currently i'm using premium...Still awaiting to find out if i can use super....
Would de previous owner use super and cause the knock sensor to trip or sumting?

Some enlightenment would be appreciated..

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » November 20th, 2009, 6:48 pm

Baldhead wrote:Would de previous owner use super and cause the knock sensor to trip or sumting?

Some enlightenment would be appreciated..

Um no... a knock sensor is essentially a hearing aid for an engine. All things being equal in a properly operating engine, engine knock (aka pinking) would be caused by fuel with an incorrect optimum octane level. The knock sensor detects the pinking (every sound has a frequency so that's what the sensor specifically measures) and sends a signal to the ecu to either retard or advance the ignition timing to compensate and stop the 'knocking'.

Therefore, use of super gas will not 'trip' off a knock sensor, ie. make the sensor malfunction or go bad. Sensors are electronic, so they go bad all on their own like anything else electronic.

But you also answering your own question here... because if your engine is in fact equipped with a knock sensor (and to my knowledge all local 3's have them), then you can use super with no problem. And the RON difference between premium and super, being only 3 points, is too small to cause any loss of performance

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » November 20th, 2009, 6:51 pm

Forgot to mention a bad knock sensor will not cause the check engine light to come on, so its gotta be the oxygen sensor, or something else, like the TPS

Baldhead

Postby Baldhead » November 23rd, 2009, 9:28 pm

Nicely...
But lastly...wat is TPS?

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » November 24th, 2009, 9:17 am

TPS - throttle position sensor :)

Return to “MAZDA”