Postby duckta79 » September 20th, 2009, 10:59 am

ppl i have a 2000 bj and does get about 346 km on a full tank of super
what could be causing this??
what could i do to help the situation?

Postby Rainman » September 20th, 2009, 12:20 pm

basic maintenance checks first:

plugs, wires, air filter, oil change with suitable grade, tire pressure etc..

intrusive checks can include the
maf/iat, o2 sensor, faulty fuel pressure regulator

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 20th, 2009, 1:29 pm

do you have the zl-ve? and is your foot heavy?

air flow sensor may be going
clean throttle body, clean injectors <- makes a big difference

FaLLeN AnGeL

Postby FaLLeN AnGeL » January 3rd, 2010, 11:57 pm

duckta79, got the same problem what u did to help and did it help?

FaLLeN AnGeL

Postby FaLLeN AnGeL » January 4th, 2010, 12:08 am

nareshseep, how u know if the air flow sensor is going? and whats the top speed on ur 323 i can't seem to pass 145km 150km

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » January 4th, 2010, 12:18 am

To check if air flow is going swap air flow sensors with someone whose car is working good to see if it makes a difference. I have been told you can swap with air flow from other cars also. I think corollas, not sure.

If you have auto, you will accelerate to 140km tops and plateau if you keep on it you would get probably 150km.

with manual you will have acceleration to 160km and then plateau if you keep on it you would get 180km +

To me you should not go faster than 160km unless you have suspension mods.
drop springs, tokico shocks.

FaLLeN AnGeL

Postby FaLLeN AnGeL » January 4th, 2010, 8:41 pm

nareshseep, yeah i have the suspension mods, is it possible to get the 160 180+ with the auto ? Y is it so low and the speedo goes up to 220km

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 5th, 2010, 8:27 am

My auto gets to 175 kph when going in the same direction as the wind flat out with about 3 miles of free road :oops:

220kph *may* have been possible when new and under controlled conditions.

FaLLeN AnGeL

Postby FaLLeN AnGeL » January 5th, 2010, 9:40 pm

just find that it strange that i third gear would reach 140km and the 4 would kicj in and then i would only go a next 10 km more

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 6th, 2010, 8:17 am

you may have something else restricting top end as i get 150+ easily on 3rd on my auto at about 5700 RPM.

FaLLeN AnGeL

Postby FaLLeN AnGeL » January 6th, 2010, 11:04 pm

Strugglerzinc, hey man did u do any engine mods to ur car and what size rims u running on?

Groovemaster

Re: 323 fuel consumption

Postby Groovemaster » August 8th, 2010, 1:00 pm

I see some 323's at the pump fulling with super. Any guys with ZM engine using super? I'd sure like to spend less @ the pump!!!

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 8th, 2010, 1:08 pm

^^ Groovemaster the zmde 1.6 can use super, they have a lower compression than the zlve 1.5. If you carrying weight however I will advise you to use premium.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » August 8th, 2010, 5:51 pm

Groovemaster wrote:I see some 323's at the pump fulling with super. Any guys with ZM engine using super? I'd sure like to spend less @ the pump!!!

I also used super in my 1.6 zm-de with absolutely no issues (well except maybe a placebo effect of slightly sluggish response). Even with many trips accelerating up the Lady Young Road full throttle it was fine. It's no problem to use it.

Just to point out for those much earlier posts in the threads, I also got anywhere between 350 - 395km on a full tank of super, and that's with a/c on no less than 95% of the time. It varied between how heavy my foot was for that particular fill-up and how much traffic I stood up in on mornings and evenings.

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » August 8th, 2010, 8:33 pm

So let's say i have a full car of average adults on a trip to maracas, super gasoline will make the car sluggish?

I don't quite understand, i'm assuming I have a ZM-DE but the block has ZL, can someone explain?

That was before i changed the knock sensor!

mazda_star

Postby mazda_star » August 8th, 2010, 11:32 pm

^^ the super will make the car "sluggish" the 1.6 is zmde, the block for the 1.6 and 1.5 is the same however. I experience that when the car is loaded, if its just the driver in the car you wouldnt notice any difference. Gears will take longer to change etc.

If using super I get 450-500 to the tank
If using premium I get 500-550 km to the tank
driving ~120km, sometimes AC, ZMDE & gearbox

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » August 9th, 2010, 7:26 am

I use super . 300-315km to a half tank. 165km top speed. auto tranny. ZM-DE. Stock rims.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 9th, 2010, 7:56 am

TurboDrive wrote:I use super . 300-315km to a half tank. 165km top speed. auto tranny. ZM-DE. Stock rims.

Which half?

I have found the gauge to be quite deceiving as mine is not linear.

As an example, the "top half" (full to half mark) i get 250 km wheras with the "bottom half" (half mark to gas light) i'll usually get another 150 km until the gas light comes on.

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » August 9th, 2010, 8:06 am

I am using Super in my ZL-VE; the car is much lazy than when I was using Premium but is not like I am carrying around any weight. Also it is good to keep in mind that our Super is equivalent to international Premium. I think our Super is rated at 92 octane and Premium is at 95. I have never did the math on my gas consumption though but with layman's math I get like 4 days from a full tank before I get to quarter tank. (Drive from Princes Town to Santa Flora for work mostly with A/C many times.) and I have 17" with no suspension mods.

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » August 9th, 2010, 8:45 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:
TurboDrive wrote:I use super . 300-315km to a half tank. 165km top speed. auto tranny. ZM-DE. Stock rims.

Which half?

I have found the gauge to be quite deceiving as mine is not linear.

As an example, the "top half" (full to half mark) i get 250 km wheras with the "bottom half" (half mark to gas light) i'll usually get another 150 km until the gas light comes on.

I was referring to the top half. I never ran the car until the fuel light came on. I pulled in after 515km. the needle was between 1/4 and E.

You guys use Redline complete fuel system cleaner? That thing does wok !

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » August 9th, 2010, 1:01 pm

Yeah I use it in both cars and it really does work well I have anther padna with a 323 hatch and he introduced me to it.

Return to “MAZDA”