changed head on 323f (lantis) but radiator still bubbling up

MAZDA People United - it continues here

wycleft

changed head on 323f (lantis) but radiator still bubbling up

Postby wycleft » June 21st, 2009, 11:57 am

I changed my head gasket a few weeks ago after noticing coolant bubbling up form my radiator when the engine is runnning and the radiator cap off. However even after i changed the head gasket it is till happening. Anybody have any ideas why?

Re: changed head on 323f (lantis) but radiator still bubblin

Postby wagonrunner » June 21st, 2009, 12:26 pm

wycleft wrote:I changed my head gasket a few weeks ago after noticing coolant bubbling up form my radiator when the engine is runnning and the radiator cap off. However even after i changed the head gasket it is till happening. Anybody have any ideas why?

you do know coolant exists under pressure? (heated coolant expands)
hence if you take off the cap, while the engine is running it must bubble over.
try leaving the cap on, and see if coolant escapes via your overflow bottle, when it is properly filled (at the 1/2 mark usually).

wycleft

Postby wycleft » June 21st, 2009, 12:31 pm

Thanks for the reply man .I know that the radiator works under pressure but is a 4 -5 inch sprout of coolant and bubbles normal?

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » June 21st, 2009, 4:08 pm

well is either yuh head cracked yuh thermostat stuck closed or de head gasket blown again or and de radiator probably clogged at the bottom too my $0.02

Postby wagonrunner » June 21st, 2009, 4:47 pm

wycleft wrote:Thanks for the reply man .I know that the radiator works under pressure but is a 4 -5 inch sprout of coolant and bubbles normal?

every couple seconds it's spitting that up?
has the cooling system been flushed, and refilled properly?

wycleft

Postby wycleft » June 22nd, 2009, 9:24 pm

It spitting up when ah give it gas. Also ah changed the radiator just a few months ago but i don't think that the ppl flush out all de hoses.

katurbobeast

Postby katurbobeast » June 22nd, 2009, 10:21 pm

wycleft wrote:It spitting up when ah give it gas.

sounds like a defective head gasket.

wa brand is the head gasket?
they have real sheit replacement parts in this country....

Postby wagonrunner » June 22nd, 2009, 10:22 pm

flush it yourself, fill it properly.
yes normally when giving gas, the water circulation is sped up. but you still should close the cap, and monitor the overflow.

villain

Postby villain » June 23rd, 2009, 11:08 am

good info... but i want to post something that happened to me that i curious about....the day was hot and i run up the highway...hard...by grand bazaar i notice the temp. gauge above half but not in the high zone....when i opened up the bonnet the coolant bottle was filled to the brim with coolant as opposed to the full mark where i left it at... cold anyone explained what happened there?....(that was the first and only time i every got that problem and it never came back)

Postby wagonrunner » June 23rd, 2009, 11:15 am

the coolant bottle was filled to the brim with coolant as opposed to the full mark here i left it at

you checked the overflow bottle while the thermostat was closed.
the purpose of the bottle is to catch the expanded coolant volume until it cools, when it would return to it's normal 1/2 mark.

villain

Postby villain » June 23rd, 2009, 11:31 pm

ok cool...thanks

Return to “MAZDA”