Interior Lights Problem

MAZDA People United - it continues here

silas

Interior Lights Problem

Postby silas » April 27th, 2009, 8:58 am

While not detrimental to the car, this is quite annoying.

Strangely,

The domelight, will not illuminate when set to door with doors open.

The door ground light ( under the front interior door handles ) will not illuminate with the door open

The 'Door Open' light on the dash will not illuminate when a good is open

And the back light does not illuminate either, with park lights on or off.

The fuses have been checked, all bulbs removed and tested as working. And all the door switches are working as well.
This happened all at once, at the same time. Two electricians have tried and not been able to solve

Frustrating!! - Silas

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 27th, 2009, 1:19 pm

Does your hood light illuminate with the on switch
i assume the switch is a 3 position switch with on off door

what it sounding like is a broken wire coming out of your fuse holder
i am supprised electricians cannot figure this out

silas

Postby silas » April 27th, 2009, 2:11 pm

Correct, it illuminates with the switch, in the 'On' position, but not the 'Door' position.

I've actually tested the fuse leads myself for continuity and the tests were successful.

Still stumped..

Thanks,
Silas

Postby cinco » April 27th, 2009, 6:29 pm

is it only one door or all the doors you get this issue with? could be the contact switch on the door.
does you car have factory keyless entry? does it work?

silas

Postby silas » April 28th, 2009, 7:37 am

It all the doors actually, and the car is equipped with key less, but it doesn't appear to be integrated with the interior lights. It works just as well as it always has.

Cheers,
Silas

Postby cinco » April 28th, 2009, 8:44 pm

actually
the keyless system has a lil box on the back dash behind the seat if something internally is wrong with it not telling the car the door is open boom there is your problem

silas

Postby silas » April 29th, 2009, 7:26 am

Cinco,

They keyless system is a basic one, just a receiver and door solenoids. It doesn't check door status a lock the car, or not lock it as the case might be.
I'm swapping it out this week for a Viper 1002.
But Thanks.

Postby cinco » April 29th, 2009, 11:05 pm

ammm
the basic one even in my protege sounds the alarm if the door is locked and the door lock is manually opened so it does check the door switch position

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » April 30th, 2009, 3:32 am

the basic one in my bj while the alarm probably disconnected it turns on the house light when the car is unlocked using the remote so what cinco is saying makes sense until u swap in de viper then it shouldn't matter

Return to “MAZDA”