Some Info On Probs With RX8
Posted: March 17th, 2009, 8:32 pm
by Rapido
yea so i went by a partner today ...de man cussing yes lol
he got this rx 8 about 7 months now, a month before i got my jm230 and man....his car has been giving alottttt of problems
today he was so vex he didn't even want to tell me what was going on with it again lol
any of ya'll on the forum have an idea of what kinna problems this year model might be having? cuz hes been saying a couple others down here cetching skin with theirs, i dunno ...anyone want to shed some light here??
by the way his is a late 2004 so i dunno if that'll be a 2004 or classified as a 2005?
any info to hit him with would be appreciated!!
thanks
Posted: March 17th, 2009, 8:41 pm
by damieG82
you need to tell us what problems, or at least symptoms he experiencing.... going into any known problems with this model is pointless because his problems could be totally different and unrelated
Posted: March 17th, 2009, 8:48 pm
by Rapido
oil burning like mad
starting/stalling problems
engine light keeps on coming on and have to go reset
the man used to love the car, girls loved to ride in it
and now...he afraid to go out with a chick before the car shut off on him
heard any ting like that from anyone else??
Posted: March 18th, 2009, 7:33 am
by ImamurA
starting/stalling problems
he changed d plugs?...
oil burning like mad
how much oil burnin?...cuz rotaries would burn some oil since it does inject oil in d combustion chamber...but it wouldnt be a whole lot...
Posted: March 18th, 2009, 3:45 pm
by damieG82
I'm no rotary expert, but its sounds like the seals etc gone in the engine, since its burning so much oil and operating erratically. Might also be a sensor prob.
I'd suggest he get the engine electronics scanned for faults and go from there.
Posted: March 20th, 2009, 8:46 pm
by red bwoy
imho that car needs some love rotaries like ah baby lion if it eh get feed it go eat yuh money but if yuh feed it roarrrrrrrr!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: March 21st, 2009, 12:25 pm
by RX7FAN01
The hard starting and oil burning are actually known problems with the early RX8s. They did a recall here to fix some of the problems. The cause for the stall/hard start is because there is a "Flooding" problem, especially when cold. Mazda does some recalibration and something else to fix.
Posted: March 22nd, 2009, 8:04 am
by GEAR_HEAD
I can attest to the 'flooding' problem. It is quite commin with rotary engines of all generations.
However although rotary engines burn oil, as some is injected into the engine, if the owner finds that excessive oil is being lost/used, he may want to consider a heavier weight oil such as moving from a 10w-30 to a 20w-50.
If he is interested in the AMSOIL lubricants I have these available as well as RX8 & RX7 maintenance combos available. -
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=230746 
Posted: March 23rd, 2009, 8:47 am
by RX7FAN01
There is actually a TSB out for the flooding problem here in the USA. The heavy oil consumption was their initial way of dealing with the "Housing wash" caused by the excessive gas from the flooding. If you go to
www.rx8club.com, you'll get all the info there.
Posted: March 23rd, 2009, 1:30 pm
by acesinghit
that car should be sold to someone who knows about rotary engined mazdas and could tolerate the obvious maintainance. so tell him sell it!!!! lets not waste time on anyone who might end up bad talking it in the end.
Posted: March 24th, 2009, 9:17 am
by TurboDrive
x2floor wrote:that car should be sold to someone who knows about rotary engined mazdas and could tolerate the obvious maintainance. so tell him sell it!!!! lets not waste time on anyone who might end up bad talking it in the end.
My sentiments exactly

Posted: March 25th, 2009, 6:19 am
by triniboy13b
That is so true, but the most important thing to note here is that you should always do your research before you buy any car; there is simply no excuse not to do it.
1. Ask people who own those types of cars.
2. Join an internet car forum on that particular car,
ask questions.
3. Look up that model car and year of manufacture on a car review site.
These are some sites that can help us (my fellow tuners & car buyers) with our future purchases.
http://autos.msn.com/home/reviewerspage.aspx
http://www.carsurvey.org/
Believe me it always helps to have some idea of what you are getting into.

Posted: March 25th, 2009, 1:58 pm
by FullStop
i thought somn like this would have happened after i noticed all those noobies drivin rx8's, dammit
Posted: April 28th, 2009, 5:40 pm
by Jack the Ripper
TurboDrive wrote:x2floor wrote:that car should be sold to someone who knows about rotary engined mazdas and could tolerate the obvious maintainance. so tell him sell it!!!! lets not waste time on anyone who might end up bad talking it in the end.
My sentiments exactly

Before i even got mines,downloaded the entire service manual from rx8club.com and started familiarizing myself with what's under the skin,so i'd be ready when she arrived. My wife was actually impressed that I spend more time working on the car and tweaking stuff,instead of going out and drinking! LOL

Posted: April 29th, 2009, 8:53 am
by Glitch
GEAR_HEAD wrote:I can attest to the 'flooding' problem. It is quite commin with rotary engines of all generations.
However although rotary engines burn oil, as some is injected into the engine, if the owner finds that excessive oil is being lost/used, he may want to consider a heavier weight oil such as moving from a 10w-30 to a 20w-50.
If he is interested in the AMSOIL lubricants I have these available as well as RX8 & RX7 maintenance combos available. -
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=230746 
I have had my 3rd almost a year and have never had flooding issues....
I have a couple friends with the rx8 in the uk and they told me u cannot start the car then turn off until it warms up properly otherwise it will flood. This are the early rx8's
So let the car warm up properly everytime (get a turbo timer or something)
check oil level regular and top up accordingly
use correct body oil as recommended by mazda...and u won't have any issues.
I am on my 2nd 3rd gen and have not had any problems like these at all.
Posted: May 6th, 2009, 5:24 am
by triniboy13b
Tell your boy to check this site out.
http://www.rx8club.com/index.php

Posted: May 6th, 2009, 9:07 am
by rxforever
sell d damn thing, i go buy it or someone else........rotary for ever.....d man will end up bad talkin like all the other haters

Posted: May 9th, 2009, 3:05 am
by cerebral_assassin
Im now seeing this thread, but yea if he isnt familiar with the 8, then he might run into probs.
These guys gave the best info. he should've done research on the car b4 he bought it.
I had a few minor issues with mine, but i just researched the stuff online n told the mech what to do n solved it easily, my only problem is a noise when i mash brakes, but thats rly trivial.....
Also, these cars were due for flashes by mazda, so i guess his didnt get the latest flash or so, but its cool, tell him sell it and let a person with knowledge on the car own it with some prestige.
Posted: December 28th, 2009, 6:39 pm
by geodude
yo mazda dudes i am thinking about getting an RX 8, i have been reading the info on your forum about the RX8 and it has been very helpful,
from what i read it seems that the 2004 models and older are bad news, however most of the post concerning the RX8 are a bit old, i was wondering iwhat solutions have been found or devised for the problems associated with the 2004 model by now or if i should stay away from them completly and only look for somthing higher up, the reason i am asking is there is one up for sale here and its 2004 the price is good but i am wary having read the coments here, so if i get it and have probs will there simple solutions or am i facked.
thanks