mazda converted to super

MAZDA People United - it continues here

nareshseep

mazda converted to super

Postby nareshseep » September 26th, 2008, 8:37 pm

Just wanted to know all who converted to super, and what may be the side effects?

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » September 26th, 2008, 10:40 pm

check the other threads that extensively discussed this topic.

But in a nutshell, nothing happened with my car. Actually I benefited from better fuel economy over premium. Check your manual and/or vehicle ID sticker in the driver's door jam. Once you see 'Low Oct." or an actual figure like RON 89 or 90 or anything lower than 95, then you could safely use super in it.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 29th, 2008, 6:20 pm

Well on the inside of the gas door of my Singapore model BJ 323 says "Minimum 95 RON" :shock: :shock: :shock:
Is high compression or turbo or wha LOL
j/k - it's a ZM-DE 1.6L and the owner's manual says it has a compression ratio of 9.0:1.
Can't see how that requires 95 RON minimum though... Not sure if to go super.
Anyone else's BJ has this minimum octane rating???

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » September 29th, 2008, 8:33 pm

Yeah. I have a SDM model too. I am super right now.

ζђίΰД™

Postby ζђίΰД™ » September 29th, 2008, 8:47 pm

I not gonna use any super on my ZL-VE, and naresh you shouldn't either.. :!:

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 29th, 2008, 9:21 pm

^^ I will probably stick with the premium also, (cost of premium = cost of super + fuel injector cleaner + fuel injector servicing) I know its being discussed heavily in ole talk and tech but If I can recall someone was telling me that these mazda engine uses high compression (9.4:1 ) and it may not be wise to go that route.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 29th, 2008, 9:39 pm

yeah, you may get knocking with higher compression engines, super would combust prematurely, anyway, i was checking out sum stuff in the bamboo today, who buy the zl-ve gearbox and leave the manual engine and harness and brain, i see two sweet zl-ve conversions , one incomplete, manual with manual brain and harness, gearbox separate and one auto, mint, but the fella say 10k, ths a good price? nobody wanna sell me a head alone, only head and block

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » September 29th, 2008, 9:59 pm

go by seenaths dey have two head an block one start tuh scrap an de other one still have every thing except de sensors

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 29th, 2008, 10:45 pm

will check them, but them more expensive than everybody else, my zm sensors will work on it right?

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » September 29th, 2008, 10:53 pm

yup i bought all my sensors by southern sales an all dey does sell is zm parts

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 30th, 2008, 12:03 pm

TurboDrive wrote:Yeah. I have a SDM model too. I am super right now.

ZM-DE 1.6L ???
How long have you been using super? Any problems thus far?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 30th, 2008, 12:15 pm

car's compression is relaively low, can use super if you want

bds

Postby bds » September 30th, 2008, 5:58 pm

so the person i deal with normally in SSSL told me today that i can run the mazda3 on super but the 6 needs premium. incidentally my tank was running on empty (had not had to fill up personally since the budget and thought of paying an extra $40 was not that appealing) so i am trying the super for a tank to see how things go. i know its still too early to tell but things feel fine so far. by the weekend with some more substanial miles on the tank i'll see if things have chnaged

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » September 30th, 2008, 6:23 pm

dredman1 wrote:
TurboDrive wrote:Yeah. I have a SDM model too. I am super right now.

ZM-DE 1.6L ???
How long have you been using super? Any problems thus far?

I have been using the super since Saturday. So far so good. I haven't had a chance to really open her up on the h/way because of the darn traffic. the engine still responds well. I've gotten 154 kms on a quarter tank and I've been using the AC for two days. I'm still evaluating the situation. I'll keep you guys posted.

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » September 30th, 2008, 9:04 pm

i just ran up to my full clock running pure super no cleaner no boster car feels the same and responds the same so from now is super in dey pweffun once ah month usual service injectors an throttle body an dais me

silas

Postby silas » September 30th, 2008, 11:42 pm

I've been running Super in my BJ 323 (ZM) with no problems. The car pulling just as hard. But obviously, if I wild up the car, the consumption will be poor. However, when I do drive with economy in mind, my Odo Trip will go to 580k on average.
This is on 55 liters of Super ( $145 Max) with a gearbox which i know is an efficiency advantage.

A note on catalytic converters - I've heard some drivers concerned about Super clogging catalytic converters. This was an issue, back when gasoline used lead as an anti-knock. The present anti-knock, MTBE (methyl tertiary butyl ether) is safe for catalytic converters.

Plus, my ZM engine and ECU will adjust it's operation (timing etc.) to maximize efficiency with the fuel provided. My manual stated 90 Ron and up for these engines. So I'm sticking to Super. It's a $70 savings per tank compared to Premium.

Cheers.

techspeak

Postby techspeak » October 1st, 2008, 12:51 pm

can you believe premium does still contain TetraEthylLead????

and they wonder why the crime rates are so high. I would use super just on that basis alone

silas

Postby silas » October 1st, 2008, 1:13 pm

It does? So what you're saying techspeak is that Premium Unleaded is not really unleaded?

techspeak

Postby techspeak » October 1st, 2008, 1:29 pm

I suppose if its specified as unleaded it should be, however how can you trust that when I'm reading UN reports about how Trinidads Petrol industry is only 'phasing out' lead, and not completely removing it.

http://webapps01.un.org/dsd/caseStudy/p ... 9?code=420

This could be an outdated report, but the producers dont seem to realise or care just how severe of an issue lead poisoning is, in that theyve only gradually reduced the lead content over the course of YEARS. I can only HOPE they've cut the lead out completely by now, 2008, but can you trust these muffler bearings? If lead is a cheap antiknock, you better believe they'd continue to slip some in there... From all the years of lead shooting out of tailpipes, there will continue to be high concentrations of this heavy metal on the side of the road and pavement for at least 20 years from now. Not to mention it leaching into the water table. In North America when they banned that sheit from gas, it took about 15yrs to see a corresponding decline in senseless crimes, although lead contamination is still an issue in some areas. TEL in gas is a one of the biggest tragedies of recent times.

silas

Postby silas » October 1st, 2008, 1:37 pm

That's a worrysome report :(
But then it's not like we can believe our leaders on their word anyway....

techspeak

Postby techspeak » October 1st, 2008, 1:40 pm

yuh kno!!

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » October 2nd, 2008, 11:55 am

TurboDrive wrote:I'm still evaluating the situation. I'll keep you guys posted.

Thanks TurboDrive - looking forward to any updates.

silas wrote:My manual stated 90 Ron and up for these engines.

If I had anything stating that on my car, I'd have no issues switching to super. Just the fact that the bright green sticker on the inside of my gas door says big and bold "Unleaded Premium Min. 95RON" has me questioning it :( .
Did they stick a Mazdaspeed Protege's gas door on my car by mistake? "95RON MINIMUM":?: :?

TurboDrive does your SDM BJ have this sticker on the inside gas door. What about your BJ silas, or anyone else's BJ who's using super?

I'm not due to fill up until probably tomorrow, so I may try a 1/2 tank then and see how that goes, but I'm not all that comfortable with it.
Thanks 8-)

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » October 3rd, 2008, 6:27 am

Yeah I got one ah those stickers. The car not complaining yet. I guess its a personal choice every one has to make. To use or not to use... Carry on....

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » October 3rd, 2008, 1:18 pm

cool - I'm a bit more comfortable trying the super now, knowing that I'm not the only doing so who has that sticker.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » October 6th, 2008, 2:37 pm

dredman1 wrote:
TurboDrive wrote:I'm still evaluating the situation. I'll keep you guys posted.

Thanks TurboDrive - looking forward to any updates.

silas wrote:My manual stated 90 Ron and up for these engines.

If I had anything stating that on my car, I'd have no issues switching to super. Just the fact that the bright green sticker on the inside of my gas door says big and bold "Unleaded Premium Min. 95RON" has me questioning it :( .
Did they stick a Mazdaspeed Protege's gas door on my car by mistake? "[b]95RON MINIMUM[/b]":?: :?

TurboDrive does your SDM BJ have this sticker on the inside gas door. What about your BJ silas, or anyone else's BJ who's using super?

I'm not due to fill up until probably tomorrow, so I may try a 1/2 tank then and see how that goes, but I'm not all that comfortable with it.
Thanks 8-)

Confirmed I checked my girlfriend's mazdaspeed protege and the gas door has that same sticker (minimum 95 ron), anyways she converted to super because she has to run the highway north to south everyday. She says that she has not experienced any problems (yet), I still with my premium yes.

villain

Postby villain » October 6th, 2008, 4:10 pm

your girlfriend has a mazda speed protege? :?:

bds

Postby bds » October 6th, 2008, 10:20 pm

notice a loss in power with the mazda3.. switching back to premium... owners manual does state 95 or higher... and well they don't seem to be lieing

ζђίΰД™

Postby ζђίΰД™ » October 7th, 2008, 7:08 am

I sticking with premium ... alot of ppl will eventually go back to prmium, last time price went up the same phenomenon occured where everyone was running super, then later on went back to premium when they car start to work like sheit.

techspeak

Postby techspeak » October 7th, 2008, 12:56 pm

lol you guys know in Canada and USA everyone mostly uses "Regular"
87 AKI I think your 95 Super is still a bit better than our Regular 87 (RON+MON/2)

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » October 7th, 2008, 4:55 pm

techspeak your name says it all, lol i dont understand a sheit in dat last post...but i sticking with my Premium Unleaded, i cant handle no loss in performance right now nah....and i had my injectors cleaned recently.....im not risking performance nor my injectors o try this little experiment

Return to “MAZDA”