Fuel Myth?

MAZDA People United - it continues here

damieG82

Fuel Myth?

Postby damieG82 » September 4th, 2008, 9:56 am

Anyone else ever noticed that local 323s (maybe other Mazdas too) were designed for low octane fuel? I discovered this a couple weekends ago when I thoroughly read the vehicle information sticker located on the driver's door-jam for the first time. So I decided to try 'super' instead of 'premium' gas and I'm pleasantly surprised. There's absolutely no lose in power, and I'm getting almost 10% better mileage.... not to mention super is cheaper.

So I'm left wondering how many drivers out there are fueling (no pun intended) this premium craze, by using it in cars designed for low octane fuel :? Sure, premium has it's place, but from my little experiment, it seems the additional octane level offers no advantages to engines purposely built for low octane gas.

Postby wagonrunner » September 4th, 2008, 10:35 am

got one of these as well

yet it pings like a mofo on super, as well as "diesels" after switching off.

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 4th, 2008, 11:50 am

wagonrunner wrote:as well as "diesels" after switching off.

it does what? sorry i just not familiar wit that term :oops:

Computerman

Postby Computerman » September 4th, 2008, 12:59 pm

Our 'high' octane fuel is lower than the manufacturer recommended 'low' octane fuel.

Premium + Redline fuel treatment = :mrgreen:

Mr. H

Postby Mr. H » September 4th, 2008, 1:17 pm

What is the octane level supplied in T&T?

Postby wagonrunner » September 4th, 2008, 1:24 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:as well as "diesels" after switching off.

it does what? sorry i just not familiar wit that term :oops:

you've switched off the engine, yet the engine trys to to turn over (for a second or two), by igniting fuel via heat, not spark.

Postby Greypatch » September 4th, 2008, 2:48 pm

most of the "new" cars are designed to run on super un leaded...

I know the mazda 6 is as can be seen from the manual

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » September 4th, 2008, 4:15 pm

Mr. H wrote:What is the octane level supplied in T&T?

We get RON92 (super) and RON95 (premium)

Wagonrunner, that sounding like something else wrong with your engine, cause even if the lower octane gas was causing problems, I don't think it would be that severe.

I made the switch without draining my tank or anything. Just waited til it was almost empty, then filled up with super. No pinking, over-running or any other problems were experienced.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 4th, 2008, 4:18 pm

well those figures are what np says right, but i've heard that they have grossly overstated those figures, and it shows with my mazda 3, i use only premium and the exhuast black, when i use injector cleaner it does run clean, but full up the tank again and black exhaust deposit again

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » September 4th, 2008, 4:26 pm

Maybe... or it could be that our gas is just 'dirty', cause the black stuff is carbon which would form when contaminants in the gas burn in the engine. I use a bottle of injector cleaner too everytime I fill up to combat that problem.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 4th, 2008, 4:35 pm

i also heard from some friends that a certain gas station in pt.lisas does have gas contaminated with dirt and water, so look out for that

Postby wagonrunner » September 4th, 2008, 7:26 pm

damieG82 wrote:Wagonrunner, that sounding like something else wrong with your engine, cause even if the lower octane gas was causing problems, I don't think it would be that severe..

i hear yuh, but three engines from three different manufacturers...................
happy for those who can use super, i'll have to retard the ignition timings below stock levels, to do so. maybe the vavles don't stay open as long as they sould due to carbonizing, and the age of the engines..............?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » September 4th, 2008, 7:36 pm

My 323 gave way better mileage and peformance on the leaded gas we use to have than these unleaded gas .
wagon runner when you remove your spark plugs how does the tip look

Postby wagonrunner » September 5th, 2008, 8:02 am

<a href="http://www.4secondsflat.com/plug_chart.html">Spark plug chart</a>

on premium 16, or 19
on super 23.
didn't run the engine very long on super, about 100k, call it 2 days.

villain

Postby villain » September 7th, 2008, 7:45 pm

and how about the gunk in your gas tank...is there a build up with super, frequency of injectors being cleaned when using super?.....what is the info about these issues whe nusing super as opposed to using premium

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » September 7th, 2008, 8:33 pm

villain wrote:and how about the gunk in your gas tank...is there a build up with super, frequency of injectors being cleaned when using super?.....what is the info about these issues whe nusing super as opposed to using premium

In my case it's too early to tell what negative effects, if any, would occur as a result of using super... but I doubt any will occur.

For some reason ppl seem to think that super would gunk up your tank and injectors, but I never understood why :roll:. After all, super and premium are manufactured by the same company, NP. The only difference between the two would literally be the octane level.

techspeak

Re: Fuel Myth?

Postby techspeak » September 7th, 2008, 9:36 pm

damieG82 wrote:.... not to mention super is cheaper.

thats a paradox right there!! (well, to me anyway)

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » September 22nd, 2008, 1:56 pm

Computerman wrote:Our 'high' octane fuel is lower than the manufacturer recommended 'low' octane fuel.

Premium + Redline fuel treatment = :mrgreen:

Correct and ditto on the redline.

bds

Postby bds » September 26th, 2008, 10:49 pm

anyone here with mazda3's???? anyone dear to try super??? SS told me premium is a must for them.... wondering if anyone had any expericene with them running super

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » September 26th, 2008, 11:10 pm

What does your owner's manual say?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 27th, 2008, 9:17 am

na, u have to use premium on the 3 boy, mine use to smog up on premium, super is a no no for the 3, i thinkin bout switching wit the 323 though, use premium and every now and again you still need to use injector cleaners...ron95 and above, i think the mazda 3 is testament to the fact that our 95ron rating premium is not actually 95...

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » September 28th, 2008, 2:04 am

Today I full my tank with super from quarter tank. Spent $105.00. I running an experiment to see what kind of mileage and performance I going to get from it. Next week I going to do the same thing again except I will be adding Redline fuel system cleaner to it and I going to see if it makes any difference at all.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 28th, 2008, 12:56 pm

dude, let us know how that goes and report any power loss eh

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » September 28th, 2008, 10:41 pm

Yeah we'll see.

wickedtrini

Postby wickedtrini » January 5th, 2009, 6:44 pm

Yo fellas i have a familia and i use only super, if i do use premium i dont feel ne differance just dat the gas gauge goes down faster. My injectors havent been cleaned in over a year and its still running with no probs.

allon4

Postby allon4 » January 7th, 2009, 11:42 am

I used to use premium on my familia and every so often take a chance with super, my mom has the car now and had started using super but noticed that after a while it seems to have lost power so she's switching back to premium. I would never take a chance with super and my mazda 3. Heck i even use prestone octane booster with premium gas every so often, car runs better imho

Return to “MAZDA”