Protege Tuners

MAZDA People United - it continues here

Protege 2NR

Protege Tuners

Postby Protege 2NR » August 28th, 2008, 11:46 pm

Hey i want to see all the guys that think the protege has a lot of potential and is worth tuning....all of u that feel this way post a response here!!!!!!!

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » August 29th, 2008, 6:20 am

Duh ! I don't think this forum would have existed if we didn't think so.

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » August 31st, 2008, 9:46 pm

but it is ah mazda forum not ah protege forum dude!!!

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » September 1st, 2008, 12:04 am

Dude so what you think I does drive? FYI I have owned a first gen and a 3rd gen protege. :?

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » September 1st, 2008, 11:24 am

yea well this forum is not only about protege's but also about rx series mazda 3 mazda 6 and all other mazdas so that is why i started this topic about who thinks that the protege is a great car and is worth tuning and also worth your money....u have a nice car and its a protege so i want to hear from other ppl that have protege's and like it so very much!!!!!!!!!! :(

techspeak

Postby techspeak » September 1st, 2008, 5:38 pm

Which engine in the Prot??

The car is worth boosting, thats for sure

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » September 1st, 2008, 5:56 pm

DUDE IT LOOKS LIKE YOUR CAR IS VERY FAST INDEED ....2.5 V6? HMM WAY U GO BLOW PAST ME ON D HIGHWAY 4 SURE...LOL

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » September 1st, 2008, 7:44 pm

Hmm... seems my opinion ain't needed here. What can I say. This thread dead. :twisted:

techspeak

Postby techspeak » September 1st, 2008, 7:54 pm

heres a 0-100MPH with no 3rd gear
http://videos.streetfire.net/video/Mazd ... 167509.htm

you can swap a KL-ZE into your prote ;)

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » September 1st, 2008, 7:57 pm

how much is dat gonna cost and dude wat do u mean by dis thread dead???

techspeak

Postby techspeak » September 1st, 2008, 8:32 pm

well it depends.. if you have the stuff already it can cost you next to nothing... but i live in canada, trying to move down there soon...

you just need a V6 doner car like a 323F or MX3 and a 2.5L from say a Millenia or Capella or somethin... and its just mix and match parts. How common are those cars there??

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 1st, 2008, 10:26 pm

the cars arent very common, but the engines can be found in the bamboo(male mall)

techspeak

Postby techspeak » September 3rd, 2008, 2:45 pm

sweet thats what I'm talkin about! I got plans, wanna come there and commence on some 'secret projects'

chevy3k

Postby chevy3k » September 3rd, 2008, 7:29 pm

dude i ketch my a%$ to get an engine for my 2003 protege {zm}

zl engines are more common.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 3rd, 2008, 7:58 pm

i saw a couple of the v6's around the bamboo...

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » September 3rd, 2008, 8:47 pm

i have a v6!!! in my 2003 323....i saw that written on the engine! :o

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 3rd, 2008, 8:50 pm

oh lawd, mine write dat too, thats one of those part numbers, i think that written by the transmission, u have a 1.6 zm-de hoss, it not the fastest engine around, but wit some work who knows.

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » September 3rd, 2008, 8:54 pm

i find that d zm-de does perform but i sure it cud run a little faster....wah u have in yours ghostbusters???

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 3rd, 2008, 9:38 pm

MazdaSpeed Protege 170HP stock from a 2.0 DOHC 16V boosted motor. Callaway and Racing Beat helped Mazda in that limited production run. It is the reason why we have the MazdaSpeed 3 GT aka Mazda 3 MPS today. Thanks Protege :D

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » September 3rd, 2008, 9:41 pm

x2floor u drivin a legacy now!!!!

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 3rd, 2008, 10:13 pm

^^^its the closest thing to a Mazdaspeed 6 which there is none locally. :cry:

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 3rd, 2008, 10:23 pm

all i have in mine is
the zl-ve manifold(header),
silver spark plugs,
mazdaspeed original springs,
royal purple oil,
redline synthetic auto trans fluid, (notice i listed fluids, they are just as important as hardware.
i ordered a simota intake, will get that next week(no hesitation),
what else boy???...hmmm
well i condemn the egr line when i put the zl-ve header
i also have a HKS Super Drager exhaust(believe it or not, i did add a lil somn, noticeable)
i have the sway bars, but i trying to source bushings for it so i can install it
also have the strut tower bar, looking for brackets for it(not installed)
if the sport 20 back shocks longer than the ones i have, I'll have a pair of those weekend... :mrgreen:
i currently looking for a complete zl-ve head to buy, to start some work on(polish ports etc.)
and i line up a thunder 4-1 header for when i install the head(claimed 7whp with stock exhaust), going to upgrade exhaust before head though...

hope the above gives you some ideas of what mods can be done, if you wanna go more hardcore, manual and thing, check villain, he is the zm man

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 3rd, 2008, 10:25 pm

yeah, legacy sweet eh, but u coulda bring in your own speed6 and represent we...

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » September 4th, 2008, 7:45 am

yea boy u lettin d mazda ppl down x2floor!!! :(

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 4th, 2008, 11:55 am

ghostbusters wrote:i ordered a simota intake, will get that next week(no hesitation),

is the MAF adaptor same size or close to the stock one?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 4th, 2008, 12:39 pm

yes, and i did thorough research, the simota intake does not cause the hesitation,,,cant wait

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 4th, 2008, 12:41 pm

fella i dont kno where you does find these tings. all intakes i ever see had a 3" diameter. lewwie know how it work and how much to save up.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 4th, 2008, 1:48 pm

no scene, will let allyuh know

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 5th, 2008, 11:20 am

yea boy u lettin d mazda ppl down x2floor!!!

***goes to talk to the roro dealer about bringing down a mazda 6 mps, dealer says prepare to fork out over $200k since its not a 2.0 turbo but a 2.3 and has more features. :shock: :x oh well, i guess ill wait again.

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » September 8th, 2008, 9:07 pm

ghostbusters wrote:yes, and i did thorough research, the simota intake does not cause the hesitation,,,cant wait

So what about the secret weapon intake?

Return to “MAZDA”