info on RX8

MAZDA People United - it continues here

15devils

info on RX8

Postby 15devils » May 24th, 2008, 1:11 pm

getting a 6 speed manual RX8 at a best price....want to know a lil more on it.....like gas/oil consumption...and maintenance.Now I had a 93 3rd gen before,but it only lasted me 3 months(apex seals damage).What I wanna know is the the renesis engine would last longer than the turbo 13b in the 3rd gen.

xtech

Postby xtech » May 24th, 2008, 1:29 pm

how long the RX8 on the road man? 10 years?

15devils

Postby 15devils » May 26th, 2008, 11:03 am

yeah,but you hardly see them in tnt roads,wanna know from a rx8 if possible

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 26th, 2008, 11:18 am

xtech wrote:how long the RX8 on the road man? 10 years?

I thought the RX-8 came out around 2004. How does that make it 10 years?

xtech

Postby xtech » May 26th, 2008, 11:49 am

exactly he asking man with brand new cars if it burning oil an bussing seals

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 26th, 2008, 1:39 pm

Here's a link to the Road & Track long-term test (50,000 miles) of a US specification 2004 Mazda RX-8.

R&T Long-Term Test of Mazda RX-8

This excerpt might be of interest to you.

Road & Track wrote:The normally aspirated Wankel twin- rotor engine is an engineering marvel, but it consumes a quart of oil nearly every 3000 miles. It’s normal for this type of engine, so we learned to live with it, and out of necessity began carrying an extra quart in the trunk. For a car that requires oil to be added regularly, Mazda should have made it easier to check the level, as it necessitates the removal of a dirty engine cover to get at the dipstick. user friendly it is not. When zinging the rotary to its astronomical 9000-rpm redline, nearly all is forgiven. Even so, it does not make up for the lackluster torque when pulling away from a stoplight or shuffling through traffic.

Jack the Ripper

Postby Jack the Ripper » October 25th, 2008, 7:22 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Here's a link to the Road & Track long-term test (50,000 miles) of a US specification 2004 Mazda RX-8.

R&T Long-Term Test of Mazda RX-8

This excerpt might be of interest to you.

Road & Track wrote:The normally aspirated Wankel twin- rotor engine is an engineering marvel, but it consumes a quart of oil nearly every 3000 miles. It’s normal for this type of engine, so we learned to live with it, and out of necessity began carrying an extra quart in the trunk. For a car that requires oil to be added regularly, Mazda should have made it easier to check the level, as it necessitates the removal of a dirty engine cover to get at the dipstick. user friendly it is not. When zinging the rotary to its astronomical 9000-rpm redline, nearly all is forgiven. Even so, it does not make up for the lackluster torque when pulling away from a stoplight or shuffling through traffic.

Probably was driving a AT...got my 6fwd 2004 rx-8 a couple weeks ago and the torque is anything BUT lackluster.... :twisted: ,not quite like my bro's evo 7 but impressive nevertheless

daymean

Postby daymean » October 25th, 2008, 8:37 am

from driving an auto rx8 i can verify the lack of torque...u really need to keep the revs high to exract the most from the engine so it means working the tiptronic however it is a joy to drive once the revs are maintained! corners quite well for ah rwd.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 25th, 2008, 9:33 am

am, dont rwds always corner well, well better than fwds and some awds at least...

Postby Razkal » October 26th, 2008, 11:04 pm

^RWD is the only "correct" drive, everything else is trying to be fancy :lol: :P

sham1984

Postby sham1984 » October 28th, 2008, 12:43 am

The longevity of the engine can also depend on how you drive your car..if you shortshift alot and keep the engine revving relatively low, you can expect a little more life out of it.

The renesis engine had some minor changes to the apex seals that improves lubrication and thus the life of the engine compared to the previous turbocharged 13B-REW...

Ofcourse all rotarys are gonna die sooner than the average 4cylinder inline engine but thats something the rotary owners have come to accept.

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » October 28th, 2008, 8:44 am

buy a mazdaspeed 6 cause a RX8 to slow

press naes

Postby press naes » October 28th, 2008, 11:17 am

^^^ :lol:, Mig daz funny.

You basically got your ans from these replies. Contact MAZTUNE, you'll get more insight into the rotary engines & applications.

The RX-8 should have had a 3rotor then it wouldn't have lacked for anything.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 28th, 2008, 1:21 pm

^RWD is the only "correct" drive, everything else is trying to be fancy

I absolutely agree, rwds are much easier to control than anything that has power going to the front wheels, no awd can touch a good rwd, but thas just my opinion, love rwd...once power is transmitted to the front wheels u gonna get understeer.

sham1984

Postby sham1984 » October 28th, 2008, 2:12 pm

The fwd and awd thing is for the countries with snow and other slippery driving conditions. They get better handling out of those compared to the rwd. But we don't have snow now do we :D

ImamurA

Postby ImamurA » October 28th, 2008, 5:11 pm

is a common misconception dat awd does handle better dan rwd...d only time a awd faster dan a rwd is in wet on d corner exit...

companies who build cars to be d ultimate cornering machines does all b rwd...

the rx7...the miata(which is a BOSS handlin car)...s2000...nsx...all rwd...

from d little i learn from being around rotary ppl is dat a properly tuned and maintained rotary will last just as long as a piston...however rotaries r very unforgiving...

i sure if u change oil regularly an do proper maintenance it will b ok...

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » October 28th, 2008, 5:29 pm

but the RX8 real slow anyone with a SR20 in a B14 will be faster than a RX8 :mrgreen:

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 28th, 2008, 6:43 pm

mig, u making it sound like de roti cah modify like ah sr, just think bout putting things on an even keel, put a tobo in a renesis and missa essar 20 go get owned

ImamurA

Postby ImamurA » October 28th, 2008, 8:30 pm

but the RX8 real slow anyone with a SR20 in a B14 will be faster than a RX8

hehhehh... :lol: :lol: :lol: ...mig cud talk sheit eh boy..

ImamurA

Postby ImamurA » October 28th, 2008, 8:45 pm

by the way...how did d las engine in d 3rd gen damage?...did u buy it like dat?...it was modded in any kinda way?...

oh yeah..an i had drive a type s rx8 a while ago...it was rel nice...d engine was rel smooth...gears an brakes was nice 2...good luck wit d purchase...

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » October 29th, 2008, 2:18 pm

it easy to mod a RX8 put a 13B or 20B turbo in it. :fist:

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 29th, 2008, 3:01 pm

like u wa a man tell u to put ah b16 in d 323 or wha?

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » October 29th, 2008, 9:05 pm

ahole a 13B and 20B is a mazda roti engine

cerebral_assassin

Postby cerebral_assassin » October 30th, 2008, 2:24 am

The early 8's i.e the 2003/04 models were sorta 'buggy' from talking to other owners.

If u have to get 1, get the 6 ported engine, 2005 up.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 30th, 2008, 6:48 am

i know that boy, 13b tobo and 20b 3 rotor, but u making it sound like renesis useless, it not, cus the power output was actually pretty good considering that no turbos were used, what bout 232hp on the manual from a 1.3 NA engine...it ent useless and it boostable.

Doctor X

Postby Doctor X » October 30th, 2008, 12:52 pm

^^ brings me to the next topic .....any boosted renesis in trini ?
currently contemplating at the moment on getting a rx8 but soo far i have not gotten any good reviews on them . Plan is to get a rx8 along with a greddy turbo kit but i heard the power addition aint all that impressive either .

ImamurA

Postby ImamurA » October 31st, 2008, 7:31 am

dere was one in south but his car was automatic but d greddy kit was meant for a manual...his car never work good at all...

Postby cinco » October 31st, 2008, 7:30 pm

get the new mx5
ONE MEEELLEEEON times better than the rx8
handling power delivery gearchanges
EVERYTHING
the greddy kit only adds like 30hp though if i remember correctly on stock tune
the rx8 is really a meh car it lacks the heritage of the rx series it is fun running at 10/10ths but as a daily driver it really does not impress me

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » November 4th, 2008, 10:11 am

15devils and the other posters on this thread please refer to these 2 threads for more info on the RX-8. After you do such, please let me know your comments. Thanks. I know some of you guys already contributed on the other threads.

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... highlight=

ziig

Postby ziig » November 12th, 2008, 11:17 am

fIRST of all...
the 6 speed is no way better than a good rx7 5 speed...it only gives you a second 5 th gear ..not much difference..many guys up here tried the 6 speed as a swap and went back 5 speed...
the RX8 makes 275 with NO turbo while the s6 makes 265 with dual turbo...

however ..the rx8 is more enviromentally friendly and just slightly more fuel efficent......meeeting Cali. standards

Some guys have tried to turbo the rx8 but it is very difficult on the stock ecu as it has many controling variables that dont allow for effiecnt fine tuning.....therefore most guys go stand alone or NA built ....eg periport or bridge...OR the just do the swap mentioned before...13btt ot 3 rotor........which works great in the rx8 as it is a nice handling car/.......look at the GT class where the speedsource rx8 are wooping the porshe cars.....that alone tells you which is better

Return to “MAZDA”