Page 1 of 2
Mazda BJ 323 F Starting problems
Posted: March 8th, 2008, 8:20 pm
by PPR Electronics
sup everyone am new to the forum so if i miss any thing important plz forgive me, i have a 323f bj model and it wont start for sheit, i would like to know what could cause the problem besides the cam sensor, crank sensor and coil pack, i had a mechanic check it be he getting trouble with it still working on it
Posted: March 8th, 2008, 9:23 pm
by red bwoy
did you have a scan done on the ecu dat should be de starting point to solve most if not all yuh problems have de mechanic or sombody else scan it an tell you what de codes are if any
Posted: March 9th, 2008, 9:25 am
by PPR Electronics
no i did not carry it for a scan, the mechanic came and check it and i ask him if a scan would find the problem and he said not a problem of this nature, i did not really study it much after that because i know two people who paid 250 for a scan and it turn up nothing
Posted: March 9th, 2008, 9:19 pm
by red bwoy
ppl does really pay all da money for ah scan still an nearly every body have ah sanner jeeeesus chrisst de most i evah pay is about $150.00 by fareeds in chaguanas an my mechanic fyzal in el socorro does charge de same an he have parts available right dey one time but to each his own
Re: Mazda BJ 323 F Starting problems
Posted: March 12th, 2008, 4:22 pm
by dredman1
wadupgangster wrote: it wont start for sheit,
give some more details...
does this mean it doesn't crank at all, or it cranks and the engine catches and then shuts off, or it cranks and the engine doesn't catch at all??
Any strange noises? Did the problem occur suddenly, or did it get progressively worse over time to the point you're at now??
As much info you can give would be helpful in getting advice from others.
Posted: March 12th, 2008, 6:42 pm
by villain
fuel pump working good? try a scan it more than likely would point you in the right direction
Thanks for everyone's advice
Posted: March 12th, 2008, 7:33 pm
by PPR Electronics
this is the entire story of the car's demise, the initial problem was the car would cut off ever so often at random intervals when driving but mainly at slow speeds like it traffic or after ah blow it down d bethem and take it easy coming up Diego. With advice from 2 different mechanics and some stuff i read in one of the forums, everyone pointed the proble to be with either the crank shaft sensor of the cam sensor. i first change the crank sensor but the problem still existed, i bought a new one from mathuras in st jams for 644, the car shut down again 3 days after i changed the sensor so i came to the conclusion i changed the wrong sensor and it had to be the cam sensor, so i went and bought the cam sensor for 185 and changed it simultaneously changing back the crank shaft sensor to the original one, the car only tumbles a healthy tumble but will never start, i tried changing the both sensors with my padner working 323 sensors and it still wont start , when i put back his sensors in his car it did not start back only after pulling out the crank sensor and putting it back and wondering y it not starting it started back about 40 min later after we give up. Tonight ah now goin and carry it by mechanic cause he came by me and could not fix it on the spot.
Posted: March 12th, 2008, 11:31 pm
by red bwoy
had a similar was two tings de thermostat stuck an de temp sensor malfunction but this sounds like yours gone way past that now that could be head gasket or timin
Posted: March 13th, 2008, 12:14 am
by FullStop
sheit, sounds like real problems yes, should i be bracing for something like this?
Posted: March 13th, 2008, 5:25 am
by ^xcalibur^
ever thought about checking the fuse for the engine pal? fuse box right down by ur foot. this being blown will cause the engine to only tumble nothing else.
Posted: March 13th, 2008, 7:33 am
by PPR Electronics
i already checked all the fuses, it by d mechanic now so when he fix it hopefully i will let yall know whats up, may be it can help someone in the future
Posted: March 27th, 2008, 11:37 pm
by hong kong phooey
what is the story . ah find plenty of you bj men playing with your cam shaft sensor for no reason . ever checked the coil pack that is the first thing to check look a man on this forum just buy an air flow sensor try and borrow it (or buy it) from him and see if it help after you check the coil pack ?
Posted: April 6th, 2008, 4:48 pm
by PPR Electronics
will ppl just want to say i got my car fixed and it turned out to be a dead brain box mainly and one of the connection points on the cam sensor was damaged but the electrician sort if out am just goin by what he told me but it sounds plausible because its related to what i did after all i killed the car
thanks for yall help
Posted: April 9th, 2008, 2:31 pm
by villain
so wait nah...yuo do a diagnostic scan and it didnt pick up that the brain dead?
Posted: April 27th, 2008, 6:20 am
by Sajjad
First of all check d displacement with the crank sensor and d crank pullies cuz i had d same problem an it have been two weeks and so far no problem. Just rem it have to be real close but not too close to touch.
Posted: July 17th, 2008, 1:11 am
by megadoc1
wadupgangster wrote:will ppl just want to say i got my car fixed and it turned out to be a dead brain box mainly and one of the connection points on the cam sensor was damaged but the electrician sort if out am just goin by what he told me but it sounds plausible because its related to what i did after all i killed the car
thanks for yall help
i think you saved me a lot of trouble there man with this info
a guy came in with the same problem and everything i did lead me back
to the ecu not even the fuel pump is running
thanks

Posted: July 17th, 2008, 6:23 pm
by cinco
i dont know how you all have so much problems
is it a zl or zm?
my zm ran me for 125000 miles and all i changed was waterpump timing belt and i changed the coil packs not because they were bad but i figured at that mileage better to be safe than sorry
Posted: July 17th, 2008, 6:53 pm
by red bwoy
imho most ppl in trinidad find it too expensive to properly maintain their cars except tuners an just some at best the stuff that's supposed to be done regularly some folks delay and end up with more problems and for mazdas southern sales is a killer also too most of our cars now are foreign used and some owners feel its a new car and want to carry it like that the three year period iswhen most cars start showin signs of age an problems start to occur without proper care according to manufacturers specs just ask how many ppl have changed the brake fluid an or their transmission fluid in their foreign used cars just my 0.25 cents
Posted: July 17th, 2008, 10:02 pm
by hong kong phooey
red bwoy
got to agree with you there lot of people spend all their money on their car and do even have money to buy tires for it
let alone do maintenance
Posted: July 18th, 2008, 7:09 pm
by red bwoy
ah hear yuh bro i rather my sheit wukkin bess than lookin hot an park up orn de phorqin highway shut dong
Posted: July 19th, 2008, 8:07 am
by mazdamig
My crank sensor was gap to far from the pulley and the car did not start check that.
think i'm having the same prob
Posted: July 28th, 2008, 10:09 pm
by stephenjr2000
First time i stalled, was going maracus
Second time, going down the highway in traffic
but after it stalled those two time, the car just start after a 10min.
today it stalled again while in traffic on the main road. started after like 5min. stalled twice after that while on my way to the mechanic.
He told me it was the cam shaft and crank shaft sensor needed changing
but after reading this post i'm having doubts that that is the prob.
HELP PLZ
Want my mazda back on the road
Posted: July 28th, 2008, 10:15 pm
by cinco
it still beyond me how so many men have that problem
is that on zl engines?
are they wear parts? meaning they should be changed at a certain interval?
whats the mileage on everyone who had this problem car?
this might just prove that all dem roro cars rolled back alot
Posted: July 29th, 2008, 7:06 am
by stephenjr2000
can it be a bad MAF sensor cause the car to stall in traffic or when pulling off from a traffic light. was reading through a workshop manual. this was listed as a probable cause
Posted: July 29th, 2008, 7:18 am
by mazdamig
Cam sensor buy it new its $500.00
Posted: July 29th, 2008, 12:43 pm
by red bwoy
take my chupid advice change both cam an crank sensor buy dem new by southern sales change de temperature sendin unit an de thermostat an add a lil redline water wetter to yuh radiatoran trust mih yuh go wuk like new
de same problems you quotin i had an don't no more my only problem is de phorqin pressure control solenoid on mih tranny an dat go fix soon
gear box in dey pweffun

Posted: July 30th, 2008, 9:53 am
by stephenjr2000
i got the two sensor. the mech installing them. i'll update as soon as i get my ride back
Posted: August 4th, 2008, 7:03 pm
by phreakazoid
Damn .. i now see this thread ... i gettin the same symptoms.... but the car starting back good 4 now!
car -323
year -2000
engine- ZM
Issues -intermittent stalling at random intervals and starts back if left to rest for about 10 minutes.
From the threads in here ..I got the general consensus that I should change the Cam Sensor!
Posted: August 6th, 2008, 11:01 am
by stephenjr2000
I changed both the cam sensor and the camshaft sensor. everything running smooth now.
Posted: August 8th, 2008, 7:27 am
by phreakazoid
I changed just the cam sensor and so far so good.. I will give updates accordingly